We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford-on-avon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Welcoming staff, rooms are clean, tidy and very up to date, bathroom (with over bath shower) were very clean and everything needed. Pub within 1 minute walk from reception served fantastic evening means and breakfast was so good I'd go again just for that.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockstarlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    165
    43
    14
    5
See reviews for
179
181
21
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Excellent service, would stay there again. Staff friendly and genuine, convenient location, good nights sleep guaranteed with clean fresh rooms. Good parking facitlies for disabled parking and camera checked car park.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 175Retired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed for one night in a brand new room in the new extension to this hotel. It was a lovely big room with nice comfy bed and pillows, lovely new TV and lovely and quiet. The only problem was that the shower in the bathroom did not work. We reported this to the receptionist when we left the following day. She said she would report this to Housekeeping and offered us a refund but to date this has not been forthcoming. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel, lovely for the price.

Also, the adjoining Restaurant The White Lodge was very good value for money and lovely food.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookie546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Another great stay with Premier Inn. Taunton East is either new or recently refurbished, but either way it is a lovelyexample of how a motel should be; clean, comfortable, quiet and well located close to the M5. There is a link to the Beafeater restuarant next door which serves above average pub food in the evening and broad choice for breakfast. Staff at both sites are friendly and helpful, even when short staffed and run off their feet!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seapirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We went in to book ten rooms and were told we had to speak to the Manager about group bookings. The manager was standing 2 metres away from us talking to someone. She never acknowledged us, carried on talking about non business subjects, never looked at us, never said...'I'll be with you in a minute'. The receptionist didn't interrupt her either but said she would ask her to call us later.
No phone call, nothing. And apparently there are no group rates anyway.
We know Premier Inns are good but this one just lost our business. And for us to call them is 10p a minute!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 97JC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Very clean, looks like newly refurbished. Don't eat in the Beefeater next door !! We used this hotel as a base for a wedding & reception in Taunton. Good, bright and spacious double room. Booked earlier last year on Prem inn website so very good deal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My wife and I have become somewhat familiar with the various fit outs of Premier Inn rooms and now seek out the newly refurbished ones.

This is the most up to date one we've stayed at and I have to say I was rather impressed. There is a 42" TV with beneath it at desk level VGA, HDMI and USB interfaces, meaning you can connect laptops / USB sticks and play films straight from them.

There is a purple light at the back of the headboard which is excellent, it provides enough light to move around without breaking your neck, while at the same time not disturbing my better half.

There is a handy plug socket built in under the bedside table, but for some curious reason, in our room this was only on the left side. The new tea tray layout is much better and the kettles don't take an hour to boil. The cups are still too small so we bring our own. You load the wardrobe from the side which is a clever use of space, though I'm not sure positioning the bottle opener in it was such a smart idea - I wouldn't want to open a bottle of beer with it if my wife's clothes were hanging up in there!

I have been in Premier Inn rooms where they have silent fans in the bathrooms, that is not the case in this one. To combat this, we have our own small battery powered light that we leave on the bathroom shelf. Unfortunately, I was woken up by the bathroom fan from the room upstairs as I had left the bathroom door open and it echoed down.

There is plenty of parking and the Beefeater restaurant is the same as any other, curiously none of them offer baked potatoes any more, which I find annoying as I prefer them to chips.

Tracey on reception was very helpful and nice, couldn't do enough to make you happy - Top marks to her :)

I have 2 standard moans about Premier Inn:

1) The WiFi should be free. You don't expect me to put £1 coins in the shower and as far as I'm concerned, internet while away on business is essential. I might add that having begrudgingly paid the £3 because the phone signal was so awful, I was most annoyed that my room had no coverage.

2) Premier Inn insist on only advertising 0871 number for their hotels. For the few measly pence they make, you and I pay probably north of 50p a minute. These numbers are just unacceptable Premier Inn - Take note, I paid £20 extra for my car insurance because the cheapest quote only had 0845 numbers!

Anyway, as they won't tell you the geographic number - I will, It's 01823 332941

All round an excellent hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
1.8 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
4.4 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
Address: 81 Bridgwater Road, Taunton TA1 2DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Taunton
#2 Family Hotel in Taunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#2 Business Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An easy drive from Bridgwater, Taunton Racecourse and the charming West Somerset Steam Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing