We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super comfortable beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Super comfortable beds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Totally refurbished with very comfy bed and everything it says on the tin. The only disappointment was the lack of a grab and go breakfast. We just wanted a cup of tea and some toast, ended up at the nearest supermarket cafe as the full Premier Inn breakfast is expensive and not what we wanted.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martini5655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    161
    43
    14
    5
See reviews for
179
176
21
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Newly refurbished rooms - very comfortable. Great bed. Decent hairdryer. Great having beefeater next door - staff very friendly. Would definitely stay here again. Breakfast was cooked to order rather than all the food being self service and sitting on hot plates

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

This was a £29 advanced booking to break up our journey from Manchester to Cornwall, and it was just what we needed.

We arrived early but were allowed to book in and leave our car in the car park whilst we spent the afternoon in Taunton. It was quite a long walk, but as it was a beautiful day, it was nice to stretch our legs after the long drive.

We didn't eat at the restaurant but had a drink, and it looked fine.

We took the opportunity to take in a film at the cinema complex about 10 minutes walk away (which also includes ten pin bowling, for the more energetic).

The hotel appears to have been newly refurbished - big telly etc, and our room had a nice sofa. Problem with Wifi connection - which receptionist tried to resolve via IT helpline - but offered refund of the £3 charge when this didn't sort it.

So its all good.



  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed here for one night as I had a meeting in Taunton the next day. From the moment I walked in I was impressed as the decor/signs etc was not something I'd seen in other Premier Inns and I have stayed in quite a few. I believe it must have been recently upgraded.

The room itself also looks impressive. I am used to a standard Premier Inn look but this felt very different. It may be that in the coming months I see this more and more accross Premier Inns - if so, thats great. Breakfast was great as usual. I ate in the restaurant the night before and all was good.

Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snKits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have stayed here many times, returned on the 8th May for one night on our way to Cornwall.Extremely pleasant booking-in, lovely clean disabled room and a good nights sleep.
we returned again on our way home on l6th May, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay; all staff are very friendly and the cleaners are a lovely bunch of workers. Thank you Premier Inn.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEAN N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

A nice little hotel close to M5 - an ideal location for a stop off. Recently refurbished, very clean room. Staff helpful. Next door to a Beefeater restaurant although we didn't use it. Very acceptable for one or two nights

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules_Jules2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I have stayed in many different Premier Inns some several times, in this one it was my 1st comfortable sleep. The problem is the mattresses are all too hard but not this hotel.

The TAUNTON EAST Premier Inn has a new extension, with new mattresses. The mattresses have a thick topper which makes all the difference to the comfort. if you prefer a softer mattress make a point of asking for one. If none are available in the past I have asked for an extra douvy which I fold into 3 and put it under the bottom sheet, it's only wide enough for one.

Besides the mattress you cannot tell the difference between one PI and another, they are all 1st class, and good value for money, especially if you book well in advance

Room Tip: There are several Premier Inns in Taunton. When I booked the East it was almost £30 cheaper than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
1.8 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
4.4 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
Address: 81 Bridgwater Road, Taunton TA1 2DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#2 Business Hotel in Taunton
#2 Family Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An easy drive from Bridgwater, Taunton Racecourse and the charming West Somerset Steam Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing