We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the same old”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
495 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Just the same old”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

What more can you say about a premier inn ? Same old style. They advertise special offers and as we have family near by, we have never been able to secure one of these offers !! Have stayed in private hotels near by for same price and would recommend that as the stagnate is better

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    169
    43
    14
    6
See reviews for
182
188
23
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The place had been modernised, updated and redecorated so the rooms were clean & modern. Rooms were quiet with comfortable beds and there was plenty of hot water!

However, the receptionist was not particularly efficient and had messed up our reservations for dinner & breakfast.

Overall, generally it was very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheChampions11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Given how inexpensive this hotel is, it's surprisingly good. Very clean and comfy bedrooms, good breakfast (was a bit busy on the Bank Holiday Monday, but the breakfast was still good!), good location just off the main road (you'll have to drive if you want to get into Taunton) but not noisy inside.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian_Sevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed at this premier inn whilst in Taunton on business. From the minute I went to reception I was made to feel very welcome and treat with respect and friendliness. The booking in process was seamless, dealt with by a very cheerful young girl in a very professional manner.
As is usually the case with premier inns the room was well fitted out, had an extremely comfortable bed, the bathroom was a newer design than others I have stayed in and I think it works better. Good wifi is available with the first half hour free. Food was at the Beefeater next door where again the service and quality was very good. Parking is free, which isn't always the case as I found last time I stayed in a premier inn in Birmingham. When next staying in Taunton I will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights here & were VERY impressed with the hotel/room! We have stayed here before, but quite a few years ago, and so were surprised at the changes. Liked the idea of the lights coming on as you walk down the corridor & the new room decor was great. The new Hypnos bed was very comfy & the purple lights above the bed . . set the mood! ;) Only one slight thing - the extractor fan/system seems quite loud (in the bedroom!) once its been running a minute or two. Overall, if this is going to be the new standard of room, then bring it on!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkshire_Lass195725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Totally refurbished with very comfy bed and everything it says on the tin. The only disappointment was the lack of a grab and go breakfast. We just wanted a cup of tea and some toast, ended up at the nearest supermarket cafe as the full Premier Inn breakfast is expensive and not what we wanted.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martini5655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Newly refurbished rooms - very comfortable. Great bed. Decent hairdryer. Great having beefeater next door - staff very friendly. Would definitely stay here again. Breakfast was cooked to order rather than all the food being self service and sitting on hot plates

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
4.4 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.4 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
379 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Taunton
Travelodge Taunton
#8 of 17 in Taunton
177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
Address: 81 Bridgwater Road, Taunton TA1 2DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Taunton
#2 Family Hotel in Taunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#2 Business Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An easy drive from Bridgwater, Taunton Racecourse and the charming West Somerset Steam Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Premier Inn and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing