We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
178 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Five star”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night as family of four. Room was ready on arrival and it blew us away. Just walking to room you could see the new refurb the hallways looked amazing. The room looked even better and I would liken it to a five star hotel!!! Massive tv on the wall, free standing fan, huge bed loads of pillows and beautiful bathroom. Only slight niggle I would have liked a bigger mug. Apart from this it was wonderful. We have booked breakfast and I will write a seperate review for this but so far all is fab!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cornsyyorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    169
    43
    14
    5
See reviews for
182
188
22
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Perfectly comfortable room other than it was very hot with the recent high temp weather.

They had drawn the curtains and had a fan running to cool it down but it was still uncomfortable.....other than installing AC not sure what they could have done.

Good place to stop close to M5 with a Beefeater next door......although Beefeaters arn't what they once were.....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichCotswoldChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Pluses:
- Fantastic, genuinely friendly and helpful staff – everyone I spoke to, including night reception and cleaning staff, were great people.
- Very clean room and bathroom
- Very comfy bed

Minuses:
- Expensive (I paid £277 for 3 nights) for what you get
- Very, very hot rooms – admittedly, it was a hot weekend, but a combination of no aircon, low ceilings and windows that only open a tiny crack, meant my room was still 28c at 3am every night because no air came in, despite leaving the window and curtains open all night. Very hard to sleep. I went outside at 3.30am to cool down (the woman on reception at that time was so lovely)
- No fridge
- Only 30 mins free wifi a day
- I was moved to another room in the hope it would be cooler, but the first room I was in was apparently a “family room” – as it was only me, the fact it was a very small room wasn’t such a big deal, but I wouldn’t have wanted to stay there with a family. The room I was moved to was at least twice the size (and presumably the same price).

To sum up: the hotel was less than I expected for my money, but the staff more than made up for it - but there is only so much they can do with what they have to work with. I hope the hotel appreciate their staff.

Room Tip: room 122 is much bigger than 108!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Loved this hotel in cooler weather went back for a friends wedding and boiled even had an extra fan still unbearable such a shame usually love a premier inn so please be warned if its hot give this a miss

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDBU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments has been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I usually book my own rooms via booking.com and look for a good price for a night and often get very good value, but this was booked for me. When I saw the price of the booking I thought "Wow, Premier Inns must have smartened themselves up!"

On arrival, it was confirmed that the £105 booking didn't even include breakfast. The place is clean enough and I'm sure the incredibly high bed is comfortable enough for most. The current 'Good night's sleep guarantee' rather aggressively insists that you WILL have a good night. I just sleep well anyway, so I had to give in and pass out appropriately.

Meanwhile, the Ryanair-style cutbacks on bottled water, dispensed soap, overpriced vending machine sales and a not-omnipresent receptionist policy make you feel quite ripped off compared to what you can get for the same price.

Beware: The free wifi only gives you 30 mins free internet.

It's a solid, quiet room, but there's not a lot else there and at that price they can keep it. I'll drive on.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SirJamalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Excellent stay..easy to park.. Clean, quiet.
Good variety at breakfast but didnt have time to sample evening meals.
Also convieniant location and easy to find.
Would definately stay here again.
Also lovely places to visit in area.



  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great hotel, within walking distance (30 minutes) from town - plenty of good shopping!
Very friendly service and lovely Beefeater next door.
As always - you always know what you are getting with a Premier Inn, looking forward ot my next trip :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
4.4 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.4 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
379 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Taunton
Travelodge Taunton
#8 of 17 in Taunton
176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
Address: 81 Bridgwater Road, Taunton TA1 2DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Taunton
#2 Family Hotel in Taunton
#2 Business Hotel in Taunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An easy drive from Bridgwater, Taunton Racecourse and the charming West Somerset Steam Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing