We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Health Farm ... not”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cedar Falls Health Farm
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Health Farm ... not”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

This really is not a health farm by any stretch of the imagination. It should be classed as a mediocre hotel, with fairly average food (breakfast and lunch).
The restaurant has a good choice of really unhealthy choices and a very very limited choice of healthy ones, although if you ask the chef specifically they will do special requests (vegan etc.)
For somewhere with 'health' in the title there was an awful lot of cream and a distinct lack of fresh fruit and vegetables

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Iona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria J, Assistant Manager at Cedar Falls Health Farm, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Dear Iona B,

Thank you for your review. We have recently reintroduced our salad buffet as part of the lunch at Cedar Falls as well as a delicious and healthy hot option. We always use fresh fruit and vegetables as part of our meals and snacks and have apples available to all guests throughout the building. There is also an option for a little indulgence as some of our guests like a treat throughout the day.

I hope you enjoyed the Spa facilities during your stay.

Kind regards

Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    149
    103
    47
    35
See reviews for
79
94
66
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I visit Cedar Falls every July for a relaxing weekend with a group of girlfriends. We always have a fantastic time but this year, the management has changed and we noticed some cutbacks. We were very disappointed to be told that a full English breakfast was extra when previously it has always been included. The hot lunch option has also been removed. Alcoholic drinks were very limited this year.

Considering these disappointments, the staff were friendly, we all had great treatments and our rooms were lovely (we always upgrade).

Room Tip: Ensure when you book that a cooked breakfast is part of your deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dani108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria J, Assistant Manager at Cedar Falls Health Farm, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Dear Dani108, Thank you for your review. We have recently made some changes, the hot breakfast is now included again, and we will be reintroducing a hot option alongside the salad buffet.

I am glad you enjoyed your treatments, and the staff during your stay were friendly.

Kind regards

Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

my husband and I have just been for a spa day at cedar falls and were impressed after being slightly worried due to reviews. I have visited many spas, aswel as working at one and can honestly say that my treatments were among the best ever!spa area was clean and not too busy which was nice.

All staff were lovely.

Our only negative would be that the lunch buffet didnt offer much choice and we found ourselves hungry shortly after(so we had a cake which was fantastic)

All in all a nice place to relax

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lms19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Just stayed at Cedar Falls, had a very nice spa experience. The superior room (10) we got was nicely decorated (the bathroom could use a new carpet, just stained not smelly) we were a party of 6 so we had three rooms 10-11-12 which all varied in size but apparently all superiors? (My friends questioned this). Room 12's bathroom was tiny and avocado, needs updating. Indoor and outdoor pools were fab and a nice temperature. Waterfall in indoor pool was slightly smelly, but I do have a very good sense of smell so..
Had a nice meal, food was very good (not sure about polenta chips)
Had a ESPA Total Body (Scrub/Massage/mini Facial) which was heavenly and a birthday treat.
Without exception all the staff were very friendly/helpful.
Thought on the whole would def return. They need to loose the brown robes. They need to slightly lower there prices for stays and treatments, then they would get more people who were staying to have treatments. Out of the six of us only two of us had treatments.

Room Tip: Room 10 was lovely and big. Room 11 was smallere but nicely decorated. Room 12 didn't have a ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonig10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

To be fair ....I still love Cedar Falls, it has a genteel country ambience and such a lovely relaxed feel resonant of it's hey day in the late 80's and 90's when we used to go all the time as residential guests to this very pleasant distinguished building , -a spot-on health farm in beautiful grounds.These days, as we live nearer, it tends to be as 'day guests' but it is very very tired now and is in dire need of an update, some 'eye for detail housekeeping' and some decisive, pro-active, Management,- like it used to have.
Sadly,-It is not alone, in being a once upstanding venue in Devon- being stuck on past laurels.
Some of the negative comments on here are because guests have not realised it is, primarily, still a health farm...but some are simply fundemental to good hotel management and expectation standards and presentation and are being totally ignored which is just incomprehensible.Also,- unless you are on some bargain break it is expensive,considering.

Each time, as a day guest, you complete a feed - back form and each time- it is never, ever, acted upon.....
Lets go with FOOD.We understand the new chef is an x Champneys chef but he must have the same budgetary constraints as his predecessor... as the lunch disapointingly still remains so basic,uninspired with pasta and ham- no wholefoods or imaginative salads, no hot selections,a boring mundane plain fruit salad with no choices or alternatives or availabilityof yoghurt seeds nuts. No overall presentation at all.With the food resources in Devon- this dining experience area should be healthy inspirational.(It is wholly incomparable to Champneys.)

STANDARDS.It needs some real guidance on cleaning and presentations....doors and skirting boards and handles,& also lots areas-are simply missed,also some broken items & dysfunctional areas, it should all be pristine- and is so far from that.There is no excuse for poor housekeeping standards.It ALL needs some TLC somehow- the now very basic plain gardens are full of weeds these days and the once gorgeous side walled garden sadly wholly neglected. There is budgeting now everywhere- outdoor pool far too cold for many to swim,one tea allowance.Staff seem untrained (yet ,most, still v nice)The beauty and therapy sessions are not the full allocated times. THE WHOLE THING needs massive customer -care instruction AND constant inspection of high standards & needs to raise it's game.Cedar Falls, itself ,deserves that, at least.

Room Tip: Ask to see it first- inspect it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank j580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We booked an overnight stay for a relaxing break. We were in single rooms, which whilst small were actually fine as you don't spend much time in them. However they do need updating and the standard of cleaning needs to be improved. One shower had hairs all over the wall and didn't look like it had been cleaned, and also sprayed water everywhere and wasnt great for washing hair. The rooms are also very noisy. I struggled to sleep as there was a noisy group above me and you could even hear them using the bathroom...
The pool area could also do with updating, the carpet type material round the pool does look a bit dirty. There are also not enough loungers/ seats for everyone.
The ESPA treatments were amazing, brilliant massages and facials. Unfortunately, 2 of us booked an Indian Head Massage and were very disappointed. The picture next to the description shows a lady laying down. We thought it would involve oil but actually you have to sit in an uncomfortable plastic chair for an hour, have a bit of body shop cream rubbed into your back and a bit of hair scrunching. It was not relaxing at all and uncomfortable sitting like that for an hour.
All the staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is also very good, lots of it, but there did seem to be people waiting for seats again which doesnt seem good. We also had to wait quite a long time to get served or have someone take the dishes away and at breakfast had to wait ages for toast. The breakfast was very poor, just some cereal and a bit of fruit, no yogurts and you have to pay extra for an egg which I don't think is right.
We also had trouble finding a car parking space, as a lot of people come for the day to play golf/have treatments and it gets very busy.
Overall, we did enjoy the stay but were let down in a few areas. We would consider returning for a day trip but not overnight until it is updated.

Room Tip: Choose an outwards looking room (rose garden) else you overlook the roof and other peoples windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UKmoomin79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

My wife booked us an over night stay for my birthday and for us to relax, how wrong she was. On arrival we went to our room and when we looked at the shower, which was located in what can only be described as a wardrobe, there was tile grout in the shower cubicle with a tile hanging off. I informed the receptionist who cery quickly upgraded us to another room, which was checked by the grumpy porter, who returned stating someone was in it, then offered another room which the grumpy porter checked and came up to us saying its a twin that will be alright for you won't it. After explaining that we were allowed to share a bed as we are married the grumpy porter huffed and puffed away and made it into a double. The room they gave looked out over the front of the hotel and for the rest of the day up until 20:00 hours we could listen to the annoying chainsaw!!
we did have a nice meal but when we went for breakfast it would best be described as food you would normally throw out for the birds and we ordered some eggs which the waitress then spilt all over my wife.
Nightmare stay and would never recommend this place to anyone. However the receptionist on our visit did try and sort the problems but it's a shame nobody seemed to care.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank benandfliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taunton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taunton
8.2 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
10.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
5.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
137 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wellington
274 reviews
5.0 mi away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#10 of 17 in Taunton
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Falls Health Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Falls Health Farm

Property: Cedar Falls Health Farm
Address: Bishops Lydeard, Taunton TA4 3HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Falls Health Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar Falls is a welcoming retreat set in over 40 acres of grounds, amidst beautiful Somerset countryside. Guests enjoy all inclusive stays as well as full use of indoor and outdoor swimming pools, 9 hole golf course and restful stays, where the outside world will seem a million miles away. A rich palette of spa treatments is available including traditional beauty and body treatments as well as wonderful natural therapies. A packed schedule of exercise and relaxation classes is available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cedar Falls Health Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Falls Health Farm Hotel Taunton
Cedar Falls Relaxation Centre Taunton
Cedar Falls Health Farm Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing