We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb location and service, is just looking a little tired now.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cedar Falls Health Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cedar Falls Health Farm
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Bath
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb location and service, is just looking a little tired now.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

Cedar Falls is a genuine Spa Hotel who soley cater for people wanting a relaxing break away from the hussle and bussle of daily life. Unlike a lot of 'Spa Hotel' this one doesn't have buisness men/women or conferences going on, which makes your stay much more relaxing and comfortable.
The spa facilities are good, with a nice indoor pool that is just about big enough to do lenghts in. The large hot tub above the pool is a good size and is constantly going, unlike some that require a 5 minute break after each use.
The treatment area's are also good and the staff are very informative and friendly. The treatments are a bit pricey but i didn't begrudge paying for them as they were very good.
The Hotel Rooms were disappointing. Carpets in the bathrooms (so 1980's) and everything just looked a bit drab. The rooms are big and beautiful but they just need updating.
The food at Cedar Falls is very good. you get a wide choice from very healthy to a little bit naughty, and it's all delicious. The staff in the restaurant are also very friendly and professional.
The Cedar Falls webite doesn't do it justice and I think they are missing a trick with that one.
Overall we had a good stay and we would go back again but only if they had another good offer on. We paid £95 pp for a one night stay including full use of the facilities, a twin ensuite room, 3 course evening meal and a full breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiddy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    147
    96
    47
    35
See reviews for
77
92
62
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

Had a lovely weekend at CF. It's all really inoffensive and pleasant, but don't go along thinking it's Pennyhill Park etc. However, it's everything you need to relax in terms of facilities, sleep, service (Steph is reception is a major asset) and food! House is gorgeous, pretty grounds. Public areas very smart. Rooms totally fine but could do with an overhaul style-wise...lots of chintzy fabric and funny ornaments. Restaurant areas are good. Food is plentiful (breakfast, lunch and dinner) and all healthy, but it all sadly lacks flavour - seasoning and herbs could be handy! Spa area is very limited, which the brochure/website doesn't indicate - small pool, and small sauna/steam (there is another in the changing rooms). Relaxing chairs are VERY uncomfortable, forcing your body into an "S" shape. BUT...it really is all you need, and this is a health spa not a luxury day spa - there being a difference. And the treatments are excellent, extensive selection! Good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

Our first impression was that it was very old, and old fashioned, but once we'd settled in we really enjoyed our stay. The house and rooms would not look right modernised, but there are areas that could be improved slightly. The dining area was lovely - and the food gorgeous and healthy which we learned about during one of the evening talks on nutrition. The spa treatments were wonderful as were all the staff. We liked the look of the dark relaxation/meditation room but didn't get an opportunity to use it. The pool area could do with being spruced up. It was a very enjoyable and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hurley45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Home Counties
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

The brochureware and website will deceive many a traveller / spa goer. We booked this because it was literally the only reasonable looking place available at the last minute on a busy August Saturday. We paid a (reduced!) rate of £172 for a Superior room that apart from a lick of paint hasn't been updated since 1981 when the hotel was first converted. Fluorescent strip lights in the carpeted (yuk) bathroom, knackered faded furnishings and old storage heaters. I would value it at around £30pp.

The reception area and dining room don't feature in publicity materials for a reason - again not updated since the early eighties. We didn't eat there as the dining room really smelt of the kitchens.

As far as the spa is concerned, the staff were top notch - very helpful and friendly. But they are working in a bewildering jumble of rooms / areas all cluttered with various merchandising displays, panels and artefacts - not exactly a calming environment. And the poolside is, wait for it... carpeted. How do they clean it?

The good staff, nice grounds and old building aren’t enough for the room rates – Cedar Falls needs a massive overhaul.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Querfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taunton hotels

algarve
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

Like previous visitors our first favourable impression of a grand old house in elegant grounds was immediately forgotten once we got to our room. The decor was last in vogue in the 80,s, with dreadful wallpaper, cheap lamps, ancient TV and a shower that was worse than my daughters student accommodation in Manchester. The nightly rate of £250.00 was outrageous. We got this down to £150.00 per night having decided not to have any meals.
Our visit was to relax whilst visiting my mother nearby. Sadly we did not sleep due to noisy neighbours and running water, it seemed in each corner of the room. This is not a 21st century Spa destination. The carpeted indoor pool looked unhygenic and outdated with a red telephone box nearby!
Breakfast was basic with little fruit and we had to ask for yoghurt.
Could be lovely but needs a lot of money spending on it everywhere.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ninaAlgarve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fleet, Hants
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

I booked our two night break as I was in need of some relaxation but then read the reviews so was a little apprehensive about our stay. From the moment we arrived we felt a real peace about the place and felt very at home! We had a wonderful time! The hotel was just perfect! The staff were friendly and really helpful, the food and service were fantastic - the treatments also were superb. Our room was lovely ( a little small maybe) but really clean and nicely decorated. To be honest there was nothing to complain about our stay at all!! The grounds and the views surrounding the hotel were lovely. We especially loved the drawing room and restaurant with its wood panelling and lovely decoration! I am a really fussy person and cannot recommend this place enough so please, please don't believe all you read about Cedar Falls - please give it a try! I would just like to add a big thank you to all the lovely staff there for making our stay wonderful!! We can't wait to go back !!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mollyfleet_Hants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

Although it was nice to get away from it all and spend some time with friends, when you compare this place to other spas it is seriously lacking. The changing rooms are small, communal with no complimentary toiletries. Showers are scattered about and cold. The place was clean but old fashioned - I felt like I was in the 70's. Afternoon tea - was simply just a cake and drink - which they tried to charge extra for although it was included in the price! Food was expensive in comparison to quality. Dressing gowns were thin and short and we were not provided with slippers. This place is nice but I think it is overpriced in comparison with other spas.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123jade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taunton
10.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
8.2 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
5.2 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
5.0 mi away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#10 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Falls Health Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Falls Health Farm

Property: Cedar Falls Health Farm
Address: Bishops Lydeard, Taunton TA4 3HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Falls Health Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar Falls is a welcoming retreat set in over 40 acres of grounds, amidst beautiful Somerset countryside. Guests enjoy all inclusive stays as well as full use of indoor and outdoor swimming pools, 9 hole golf course and restful stays, where the outside world will seem a million miles away. A rich palette of spa treatments is available including traditional beauty and body treatments as well as wonderful natural therapies. A packed schedule of exercise and relaxation classes is available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Cedar Falls Health Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Falls Health Farm Hotel Taunton
Cedar Falls Relaxation Centre Taunton
Cedar Falls Health Farm Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing