We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hospitality, beautiful house”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Culmhead House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Culmhead House
Ranked #35 of 55 Taunton B&B and Inns
London, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect hospitality, beautiful house”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights as part of a group of 3 people in one of the apartments and it was perfect for our needs; spacious, clean and comfortable with a large kitchen complete with very nice tea and biscuits! The breakfast served by the wonderfully friendly owner was the best you could imagine: fresh strawberries, raspberries, blueberries, all manner of cereals, bread and pastries and a Full English if you had room for it! (the eggs of which come from Culmhead's very own hen house) I would certainly stay here again if I was back in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThreeHappyTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim r, Owner at Culmhead House, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. I hope we can welcome you back again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    7
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
12
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Six members (plus two three year olds) of our family descended on Culmhead House for half term week. Our welcome was warm and friendly, the owners very helpful. Our accommodation was clean, comfortable and the kitchens well equipped. We stayed in 'Beech' and 'Mimosa' a delightful time had by all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms_B_Itch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim r, Owner at Culmhead House, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Glad you had such a great time. We hope you can visit again in the holidays and the children can chase the "free range" chickens about!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Having visited Culmhead House previously, and explored much of the surrounding areas, we were delighted to re-visit as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The weather was much better this time, so we were able to explore the grounds in great detail and make friends with the alpacas / pigs / doves properly! The breakfast is top notch and I was lucky enough to be served a fresh duck egg :) Thanks again Tim and I look forward to seeing you next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from the Culmhead.i spent 2 nights their and all i can say is that the place was stunning and the room was terrific . Mrs Rodgers was a fantastic host , who really went out of her way for me . I had car trouble and was stranded in nearby Wellington , she dropped everything and came and collected me . With no problem what so ever , the bathroom has a massive cast iron bath , and after a stressful day was perfect way to relax .the breakfast was gorgeous with a choice of full English or continental I would recommend the Culmhead to anyone. The settings the room and the genuine kindness shown to me by Mrs Rodgers was superb.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim r, Owner at Culmhead House, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us despite the problems you had with your car. S R was delighted to help you .
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The photos on the website looked very inviting, so we were suprised on arrival to see the house
in such a state of disrepair. The porch housed a dirty great birdcage which had droppings and
feathers everywhere which had obviously not been cleaned up for months.Not a good first impression. Going up the staircase which was full of dust and cobwebs, we were shown to our room which was ok except that it was freezing cold. I appreciate large old houses are expensive to heat, but this is not something that should concern guests who are paying over £100 a night. We were given a portable heater, but if the owners cant afford to turn on the radiators, they should not be running a b & b. The bathroom needed a good clean and had old used candles lying around, dirty window, hairs in the bath plughole and a lot of dust behind the toilet, which is not something you want to look at whilst laying in the bath. The bed was comfortable but the room was so cold through the night it wasn't an enjoyable stay. In the morning we went down to breakfast to find the family cat walking on the table sniffing all the food, and then put its head inside the milk jug and drank! This put me right off eating much, The owners are very friendly but for the sake of their business, they should take note that people expect cleanliness when they are paying good money to stay somewhere and don't want to have to worry about heating costs or animals walking all over the food (keep the cat out of the breakfast room! ) We were looking forward to a lovely stay in a cosy country hotel but it was a Great Disappointment.!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jentol57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim r, Owner at Culmhead House, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
We are sorry that your experience was not to your liking. We do our best to ensure the rooms are clean and tidy for our guests. I see that you have picked up on a few areas that need to be looked into from our side. Thank you and we will ensure that these areas are attended to.

You do say "We were looking forward to a lovely stay in a cosy country hotel but it was a Great Disappointment.!"

In our defence we do not offer ourselves as a COSY COUNTRY HOTEL, we are an establishment where we offer bed and breakfast in our home. I believe you were in our daughters room which may have some of our possessions in the rooms, for example the candles. I do apologise for them being there and also apologise for any poor cleaning that took place. We are normally very aware of cleanliness and pride ourselves on it. The cost of fifty pounds per person for the accommodation and breakfast , we believe to be fair looking at all the other establishments in our area. A cosy country hotel room similar to Camellia Room would be two or three times the price.

Part of the attraction of CULMHEAD HOUSE is that it is not a hotel and we try to make you feel part of the 'Family' whilst you are with us. The appearance of the cat in the dining room is not part of the entertainment laid on by us and was unfortunate. We have had severe words with him.
The heating is not on in the house until October , as stated on our website, that is why you were given a heater should you have the need to use it.

Finally, we apologise that your stay was not to your satisfaction and have noted the points
raised and are grateful for your honesty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Beech apartment was spacious, fully equipped and set in beautiful countryside. However, the bathroom and kitchen are very outdated. There was no hot water in either the kitchen or bathroom sink (used a kettle to heat water when washing dishes). There was only one lightbulb in the bathroom, the other three were not functioning. These were small things but when paying over £100 per night you wouldn't expect such inconveniences. I would have otherwise rated the apartment a 4.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UnderAfricanSkies81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim r, Owner at Culmhead House, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for your thoughts on your stay in our home. Your comments have been noted.
I apologise for the fact that the hot water was not turned on for you, however had you told us we could have flicked the immersion on for you. I understand the shower was working as it is heated separately.
Once again we thank you for staying with us and for your comments. We will take them on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Extremely welcoming and friendly people me and my better half had lovely stay in the mimosa suite which was like a home from home, very well equipped with everything we could have needed and with amazing views and would highly recommend to our friends to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim r, Owner at Culmhead House, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to you returning in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
1.1 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beaufort Lodge
Beaufort Lodge
#9 of 55 in Taunton
72 reviews
13.8 mi away
Catwell House
Catwell House
#4 of 55 in Taunton
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Heathercroft B&B
Heathercroft B&B
#15 of 55 in Taunton
45 reviews
6.7 mi away
Fitzhead Inn
Fitzhead Inn
#5 of 55 in Taunton
118 reviews
6.6 mi away
Frog Street Farmhouse
Frog Street Farmhouse
#1 of 55 in Taunton
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culmhead House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culmhead House

Property: Culmhead House
Address: Culmhead, Taunton TA3 7DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Culmhead House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Culmhead House was built in 1850 and offers guests an opportunity to stay in a Victorian Manor House situated 6 miles from Taunton and about 10 miles from the A303 and M5.Our suites are private and spacious and the gardens are there for your enjoyment as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Culmhead House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culmhead House Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing