We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Culmhead House
Nearby Hotels
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
US$106
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$140
US$134
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$172
US$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
US$153
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$232
US$168
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$91
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Taunton East(Taunton)(Great Value!)
US$93
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
27
7
2
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
7
2
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalpacaspigshensaccommodationsomerset
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2010

I stayed here earlier in the year (not for the first time) and i have just come across some of the reviews people have posted about Culmhead House and i have to say i cant believe them. The accommodation is clean, comfortable and welcoming, a beautiful house that is not a hotel which is exactly why i love to stay here.
The owners a wonderful, so friendly and will do as much as they possibly can to ensure me and my family have a great time staying there.
The ground are stunning and great for kids with plenty of space and wildlife.
I couldn't recommend this place more. Thank you Culmhead House for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlewis90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

the rooms are very very cold.was told heaters wil be charged extra. surely we paid enough to cover. we sat around with coats and fleece on.we opted for self catering but the cooking utensils were barely adequate.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chiahong1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culmheadhouse, Owner at Culmhead House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2010

Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay with us.
I am sorry your experience was not to your liking.
We offered you heaters so that you would not be cold. The rate you paid was set by our agents and we are informed that heating/ electricity charges are made by other holiday providers in the colder months of the year. We have often experienced this ourselves whilst traveling with our family.
Our website does state this clearly. The Manor House was built in 1850 and is draughty , that is part and parcel of ''old house living'', however that is why we offer extra heating at a fair cost. We are always happy to discuss your individual requirements at the time of booking or whilst you are staying.

The standard of our kitchen utensils comply with the regulations laid down by ''Visit England''
and are checked regularly. If any item comes to mind please inform us and we will look into changing it . We are three star and priced accordingly for self catering.
I also note you did not like our location, this is something we like but undersatnd others might not.
Again thank you for your comments and we will endeavour to improve to meet the requirements of our guests, remembering of course that this is our home as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

We’ve waited a while to review our stay at Culmhead House.

It would be a lengthy review if we were to recount the full details of our visit, so rather in summary, here is how our eight night ‘high season price’ stay was.

1. Cold. Cold Cold. Yes, you can ‘rent’ a heater for £25 – but should you have to? Measly heating in the morning and evening. This is false economy because it forces guests to use the only other heating option there is – put the electric cooker on. We didn't need to put the elctric cooker on as we were able to borrow a fan heater from family - and there was nothing in the 'rules' saying you couldn't have your own heater.

2. Hot water was broken a lot of the time. Okay, the owner tried to fix it but to no avail. We were offered the use of another suite’s bathroom/kitchen – but that suite was so cold as to make having a bath a seriously unpleasant experience.

3. Dried coffee in the jars. Not surprising as it was so damp in the suite that it was bound to congeal and then set. Damp extended to rivers of condensation on the window ledges. It took me ages on the last day to mop up and clean the windows (Make sure you leave the suite nice and clean – or you might be told off... see below... rules). Also, there was a festering white sports sock under one of the beds - which would suggest that the cleaning of the rooms is not as thorough as maybe it should be.

4. The owners dogs attacked one of our party. As the owner later admitted – when his dogs are let out ‘they go silly’.

5. The central heating leaked, which we advised them of. When we later wrote to the owner (it took two letters to solicit a reply), the reply insinuated that we had damaged the pipes with a suitcase or something. We utterly refute this.

6. Place left in utter darkness when they were out for the night – but when they’re ‘in’ then the external lights are on. Not welcoming at all - if they're out.

7. Signs everywhere telling you what you can and cannot do. Not verbatim, but amounting to:- ‘Don’t walk here’ ‘ Put rubbish out’ ‘All bottles must be placed in black bags'(sic!!!). It’s endless rules rules rules. Hardly ‘welcoming’. Rather than put signs all over the place, why not put all of these 'rules' in the in suite information book?

8. Tacky ornaments (plastic lilly of the valley.......!!!!)

9. An oven you can’t get a chicken in.

10. Cheap kitchen utensils (although the toaster was ok).

11. You have to ask for the rubbish bags. You get one black bag and one bin liner to start with. Rather than do this, we actually bought our own and took all of our rubbish (bar one last small bag) to the dump ourselves. We didn’t want to be accused of anything in that area. We even left a fresh bin liner and a black bag in the suite - so that we could not be accused of plundering (you get the feeling....).


There must be something positive about Culmhead House. And there is, so we’ll include that – for what it’s worth.

1. The suites are generally large and the furniture is ok.

2. The suites have plenty of books and toys for children.

3. If you can navigate your way around the ‘Keep out’ signs, you can walk around the grounds and see the animals. Yes, there are Alpacas and so on.

4. It’s very quiet.

We had been looking forward to a nice stay – the place and the owner’s attitude did not and have not overcome the series of shortcomings, and a letter (only replied to on second sending) we wrote, subsequently received a reply which was inadequate and in our opinion, bordering on the rude.

The website for Culmhead House is very impressive, but we do not think the reality matches it.

So – you can take a gamble. You might like it – or you might come away wishing you’d passed by.

Remember to take a pullover and a fan heater if it’s not summer!!!

Ps. Be careful of one thing – it’s nearly impossible to get a mobile ‘phone signal at Culmhead House – which although not the owner’s fault, is still an annoyance. (hence the lowered ranking on 'Location'.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skippyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culmheadhouse, Owner at Culmhead House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2010

We have tried to ignore this report, however it is so upsetting to read their comments that we now feel a reply is necessary.....
This family stayed over Christmas. They were SELF CATERING not staying in a hotel. Culmhead is our home and we attempt to make everybody comfortable and ensure they enjoy themselves. There was a problem with the hot water tank which paked up days before Christmas day. We did have to replace the immmersion twice which was not easy at that time of year. But we did and offered the neighbouring suites facilities to them whilst the work was done.

Heating. Our website clearly states that there is a heating charge in autumn and winter. The central heating can be supplemented by heaters we provide but we cannot force people to use them. We advise it for their comfort.
Our dogs got in a tussle with dogs their visiting family brought onto the grounds on one occasion.
We did not accept responsibility nor do we now, however apologised and presented a bottle of Champagne as a gesture of good will. It was recieved well at the time.

We ask all our guests not to smoke in the suites and have one sign which is on a mantle piece in the living room.
When asked politely to refrain from smoking in the suite we were told that they thought they could smoke in the other rooms , simply not the living room!!!
DO YOU WANT SIGNS ALL OVER THE SUITE.
Rubbish Bags. You were self catering, not catered accommodation.
There is a designated place to leave rubbish which we will dispose of .

To summarise ,our suite is a three star rated not four or five . Our website demonstrates by way of genuine photographs the decorative and furniture standards we have achieved.

Again we have many more positive comments from our guests and the many many positive messages in our Visitors Books. Many repeat visitors.

Sorry we could not refund all your money as demanded and see you carried out your threat to coment as you have. The above has been written without prejudice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2009

We had a wonderful stay at this bed and breakfast. The accommodation was comfortable and the house was really nice. Lots of crazy animals to entertain us from the little pigs to the Alpacas. We loved the four poster room and had a great time wandering around the gardens. We would recommend this highly. Thanks.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxntrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2009

I visited for a few days and stayed in the lovely Camellia Room which has a wet room to die for!
We were greeted by the owners who helped me in with my luggage and even booked us a table at The Merry harriers , a local pub down the road. They could not have been more considerate. The gardens were covered in daffodils and the bird song was special.So many animals from Alpacas to miniture pigs which entertained us for ages.
The dining room in the house is splendid and it is really lovely to come down to a warm welcome, and a breakfast to remember, especially the eggs. Home grown!
Thanks we will be back

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exploreers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews