We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in every way, didn’t want to leave”

Review of Rock Farm

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Taunton, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Se24bird
2 reviews
“Perfect in every way, didn’t want to leave”
Reviewed 26 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The location was great for a weekend away with friends. We could not fault the place. Spacious, clean and everything you needed was there. The hot tub is positioned so all you can see is the glorious countryside. The games room was an added bonus and we made full use of the karaoke machine. Glad there were no neighbours near by I would not hesitate to book this wonderful house again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2017
Thank you for this great review of Rock Farm. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. The views are stunning from the garden and made even better when in the hot tub. We would love to have you stay with us again. Kind regards, Kerry & The Woodlands Retreats Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma W
1 review
“Scenic hot tub splendor”
Reviewed 25 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The views are incomparable at this fantastic house. All the rooms are beautiful and the beds very comfy. One bath in main house and one in granary, but 3 further en suite showers. The rooms in granary are small but well presented. 3 of the 4 rooms in the main house are very large. The living space downstairs is fantastic. The highlight is the hot tub with incredible views across Somerset. The toddlers loved the nearby cows, horses and sheep. We brought our own croquet set and played croquet on the lawn.

The only suggestions we can think of to improve the place would be more chopping boards in the kitchen and sharper knives (a knife sharpener is provided but we couldn't improve them sufficiently!).

The sign to the house is a bit over grown so easily missed. A hedge trim might be in order!

We'd love to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2017
Thank you for a great review of Rock Farm. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the local livestock! We would love to have you stay with us again. Kind regards, Kerry & The Woodlands Retreats Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevejb20...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location , Stunning House and Views , Well equipped”
Reviewed 7 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had an amazing time with 4 generations of our family together to celebrate my wife 50th birthday. Great house , with games room with karaoke stage , hot tub and BBQ .
Very well renovated and equipped throughout . Only 15 minutes to Taunton or the beach and 5 minutes to the West Somerset Steam Railway line to Minehead and the local Deli/Farm shop .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2017
Thank you for the great review. We are so glad you enjoyed the house and had amazing birthday celebrations. We would love to have you stay with us again in the future. Kind regards, Kerry & The Woodlands Retreats Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clairef28...
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a wonderful long weekend for my sisters hen do! Beautiful rural setting, view is phenomenal and the house is just incredible. Wished we could have stayed longer, we will definitely be returning!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2017
Thank you for the fantastic review. We are so glad you had a great time at Rock Farm and we would love to have you stay with us again. Kind Regards, Kerry & The Woodlands Retreats Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hd44
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great house, with amazing views and facilities”
Reviewed 17 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Rock Farm, we absolutely loved the property and we really didn't want to leave!! We booked the property for our birthdays, to accommodate a group of friends staying together. Rooms were great, all individually themed, house was spacious and had everything we needed from towels, toiletries and more. Rock Farm also has its very own games room - which was enjoyed!! And the view was amazing from the house and the hot tub!!

We will most definitely be back again and will happily recommend friends and family to stay at this wonderful property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2017
Thank you for the fabulous review of Rock Farm. It is a beautiful house in a fantastic location. We are really pleased to hear you all had a great time and we would love to have you stay with us again. Kind regards, Kerry Roberts & The Woodlands Retreats Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lottigreg
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect weekend away”
Reviewed 26 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Woodlands Retreats were a brilliant company to deal with from start to finish. Rock Farm was immaculate when we arrived, everything was very well thought through and included lovely little touches such as the cider welcome gift.

The views are spectacular and the hot tub was a lovely little bonus.

We will be back!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2016
Thank you for such a fabulous review. We are really happy to hear you had a great stay and would love to have to you back with us again. If we can help with anything in the future, just let us know. Kind regards, Kerry & The Woodlands Retreats Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieD238...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing property - Great views and Great weekend”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed at Rock Farm for a Hen do for 2 nights and it was everything we could have wanted and more. The property looks fantastic from the photographs but is even better in real life and the views are amazing. Everything is of high quality and the hot tub was a bonus. The beds are all incredibly comfortable and everyone had a great nights sleep. We went to a spa (Elan at @ The mount Somerset) which was about 20 minutes away and was great. We had an evening in Taunton and taxis were happy to pick up and drop off from the farm at a reasonable price. There was a welcome book explaining everything you needed to know and the house couldn't be any better equipped with everything you need. It really is a dream house is a lovely peaceful location and I would happily recommend it to anyone. Perfect for Hen do's , Family holidays or group trips Rock Farm has it all - Thanks for having us and I really hope I have the opportunity to stay again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House Decor, Hot tub and Views ... everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2016
Katie, thank you for such a fantastic review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the house and the surrounding area, it sounds like you had a great time. We would love to have you stay with us again. Kind regards, Kerry and the Woodlands Retreats Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing