We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable evening.”
Review of Blue Ball Inn

Blue Ball Inn
Ranked #73 of 257 Restaurants in Taunton
Price range: US$8 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Traditional but unique Olde Worlde Pub / Restaurant. Thatched Roof, Beautiful wooden interior and eaves which form the Bar and Dining Rooms. Relaxed informal atmosphere. Beautiful natural country beer garden with stunning views and surrounded by superb trees on three sides. We could go on but just come and experience it for yourselves.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening.”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We visited at the weekend and had a lovely evening. It was very cosy as we sat by the fire. Food was excellent as was the wine and beer. I would recommend booking at weekend if you want to be in the main dining area as it's quite small. We will certainly go back again - very enjoyable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    49
    28
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Langport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Try the Takeaway Service. Really good.”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My wife and I were house sitting for our son who lives near the Blue Ball. He told us to try the new takeaway service which the Blue Ball has just started. It being a Saturday evening when my wife has to watch a certain dance programme on TV we decided to give it a try and telephoned at lunchtime with our order. A very pleasant gentleman took the order and even offered to deliver it; I was hoping to have to collect and have a pint at the same time!!

Our meal arrived exactly on time and absolutely piping hot. We chose the Triscombe pheasant breasts and the Devon Ruby red beef casserole with a selection of seasonal vegetables, mashed potato and hand cut chips. The whole meal was excellent, generous portions, excellent vegetables, very creamy mash and chips to die for. We were very pleased and thought the cost, £23 inclusive was very fair. If you live in the area or are staying in self catering accommodation then and want a good meal but are unable to go out or are just happy to stay at home do give this new service a try. It really is very good and deserves to succeed. Well done the Blue Ball.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

A lovely old pub in a wonderful setting. Wonderful views from the dining room window
The pub's web site promises a "warm welcome"
It was neither warm or welcoming. It was freezing
The food was ok ish. Took a long time to be delivered. All were very simple meals
A starter was ordered as a main by one guest and she decided to supplement it with some potatoes. The meal arrived with bread. When we queried this we were told "there are no potatoes"....45 minutes after placing our order
We were very sorry we caused the Blue Ball so much inconvenience!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thatmanandrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great value, friendly service”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

E and I stayed in the largest of three cottages, Hind Cottage, had dinner in the restaurant and breakfast. Room was great value at £100: big sitting room with tea, coffee and biscuit tray, big bathroom with modern shower and bath, big double bedroom with comfortable bed, and another double bunk bed room. Simply but nicely decorated and clean. No wireless in the room - though it was in the main building - but no big deal and the openreach sockets are in the rooms so that may be coming.

Dinner was excellent. Bacon and black pudding scotch egg to start had great flavour. Ham hock and leek pie with vegetables for me, and local pheasant (the local shoot who provided it were drinking in the bar) for E were freshly and very well done. The chef can cook. Seasoning and flavour were spot on. Plate of all a taste of all desserts was tasty for E, and plate of five Somerset cheeses for me was excellent (about the first time I have ever been served more biscuits than I needed with the cheese). I thought portion size was just right: not stupidly large to leave no room for cheese/dessert but after three courses I was seriously full.

Full English breakfast was piping hot, freshly and well cooked served with large pot of tea, hot toast (again all clearly freshly done for us).

Service was friendly and unfussy, and given the bar and restaurant are all one large room, there was always someone nearby. All tables were full for dinner (16 covers?) but at no point were we left waiting. It suited us down to the ground in its informality and friendliness.

It is properly rural, not in a "weekenders from London in green wellies with range rovers" way but in a "here's the local shoot with guns, wet dogs and sopping wet from the shoot with land rovers" way. We liked that a lot. We'll be returning. £170 or so for a seriously good dinner, beer, cottage with four rooms, friendly service, fresh full english breakfast for two? What's not to like?

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gamey interesting menu”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We came by this beautiful old country pub/restaurant down the end of a long lane by chance and was very glad we did. The mains menu had some unusual country game offerings (pigeon, venison, rabbit) and I would recommend the venison burger. Better to go there hungry as it was far too much to eat otherwise. The waiting service was very polite and extremely helpful. There was a relaxed, friendly atmosphere throughout which was lovely. Enjoyed it so much that we have been back since. Top tip is to book a table especially at the weekend as they do get busy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SagaciousTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Ball Inn also viewed

West Bagborough, Somerset
 
Bishops Lydeard, Somerset
 

Been to Blue Ball Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing