We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will go again”

Miriam Indian Cuisine
Ranked #163 of 262 Restaurants in Taunton
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Will go again”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We met some friends here as the place we wanted to eat at was full. What a good choice .... Our meal was excelant in every respect. The staff were friendly and attentive but not too in your face. Overall a very pleseant evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank qualitywork1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    19
    16
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Traditional meal”
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

We visit the Miriam about 4 times a year and tonight's meal lived up to its normal greatness. If you are looking for friendly service, good quality traditional Indian food in traditional Indian restaurant surroundings then this is the place to go in Taunton.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Friendly service and well located”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I arrived early to the restaurant and was served very quickly. There seemed to be a lot of customers collecting food to take away rather than customers eating in the restaurant. Good Indian food served well.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Standards have dropped from great to poor”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

We used to love Miriam's. However we had a pretty bad takeaway about two months ago, and I didn't review as I thought it might be a one off. Sadly, Saturday night's meal proved it wasn't. 7:30 pm on a Saturday used to be really busy - it wasn't, a sure sign customers are voting with their feet. The meal was completely unremarkable - the daal being the low point, an inedible, congealed and burnt side dish. The Shajahane Murgi was completely different to the last time I ordered this dish, and not in a good way. I fear I won't be the only customer not returning. I see some comments about the service on Trip Advisor, I have to agree that the waiters do come across as surly and rather unfriendly.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Morlo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Beware: when were the multiple awards?”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Huge banners across the front window declare themselves Taunton's only award winning Indian restaurant 4 times running. OK, so 8 pm on a Saturday is inevitably a busy time but appalling service, tasteless bland Luke warm food, rice and naan arriving 10 minutes after the curry dishes is unacceptable.

Beware a very greasy slippery floor if they are busy and you are exiled to the " back room". One of the waiters didn't seem to realise there were any customers in the room when he was scooping someone's leftover curry and rice into " doggy boxes" with his bare hands before carrying on serving!

Their menu suggests their prize winning years were 1996-2000. Were they Taunton's ONLY Indian restaurant a decade ago? They certainly wouldn't still be in business in the Midlands with food as bad as we experienced today.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NC11035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miriam Indian Cuisine also viewed

 
Taunton, Somerset
 

Been to Miriam Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing