We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a happy welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cross Keys

Cross Keys
Ranked #182 of 256 Restaurants in Taunton
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always a happy welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I couldn't recommend this place enough. Top food. Top Service. Lovely garden in the sun and a seated covered area when it rains with heaters too. Very nice. Families welcome.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DanCooke1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    103
    71
    74
    95
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-Upon-Avon, England
Level Contributor
191 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Food was generally over-cooked - especially the veg.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Worth a visit just to see the bearded lady on the cover of the drinks menu! A good range of beers and cider, but the food was not up to par. The veg with the roast was mushy, beef chewy and the salmon dish incinerated. Staff friendly and service efficient. I'm sure it was just a bad day.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lossit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Might as well go to icelands!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

The look and feel of the place is as common as any pub. If you're going for a coffee or a drink then I'm sure it'll manage. If you're intending on eating then I would recommend you steer well clear of this place! The food is absolutely sub standard, you might as well go to icelands buy some cheap food and cook it yourself. It's literally at that level. It has also given my stomach cramps all afternoon and night. Fingers crossed I don't make a visit to the porcelain god! Never will I take myself, family or friends here again. Utterly disappointed!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great place to eat and drink”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

not being local we were taken here by family . Food was lovely, staff were attentive . outside seating was perfect to enjoy a drink after our meal.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank donnapaul212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Booked this for my daughters birthday on a table of 18 people. All quite fussy. Ordered the food and it all turned out of the kitchen withing minutes of each other. All hot. All cooked spot on. And no complaints from anyone on the table. The staff were spot on. And even the barman was very very good. Food was good value for money as we all had a meal from the two for £12 deal. And the sizes and quality was really good

Thanks Gary and crew. We will be back

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karlos6971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cross Keys also viewed

Norton Fitzwarren, Somerset
 
Taunton, Somerset
 

Been to Cross Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing