We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice carvery, dreadful service.....”

The Country Kitchen at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$21
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A Certificate of Excellence winner, The Country Kitchen carvery offers a wide selection of freshly prepared dishes. For starters, help yourself from the salad bar or home-made soup, then there is always a variety of roast joints, fish dishes, and casseroles accompanied by fresh vegetables and sauces. Sweets come next, of course, including one hot pudding from the kitchen, plus coffee. The Country Kitchen is open for lunch (12pm until 2pm) and dinner (5.30Pm until 9.30Pm) Monday to Saturday and from 12pm until 9.30Pm on Sundays.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice carvery, dreadful service.....”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We eat here quite often and usually for a family event. This was my Father's birthday. The carvery was as you would expect with soup or a selection of cold starters. Nice choice on the carvery and good selection of dessert. No hot choice of dessert this visit though. However the service was beyond poor. Lots of staff and very little service. The entertainment they provided whilst arguing amongst themselves in the middle of the restaurant was classic...... We did mention the service 'lack of' but it turned out I was complaining to one of the ones embroiled in the fracas. Suffice to say we don't think we'll bother again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela B, Owner at The Country Kitchen at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
It is always a pleasure to welcome you back to Moor Hall and thank you for taking the time to provide your review. I do hope you will accept my sincere apologies for the problems you experienced when you recently visited us. As regular diners you will know this is not the usual excellent service we offer and I can advise that we have spoken to the members of staff involved to ensure this does not happen again. Hope to see you soon when you can be assured of our best attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    51
    17
    26
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Good Experance”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Friendly staff with good prompt service for the Sunday Lunch Carvery the food is very good and excellent value we were more than satisfied and would return and recommend to others.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trickytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela B, Owner at The Country Kitchen at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
So pleased you enjoyed the Sunday lunch carvery and found it to be good value for money. Your kind comments about the team were much appreciated and we all hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, pleasant staff.”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We had been let down by a local restaurant,so I rang and they had a table,really quick,the service was good,the staff all pleasant, the carvery was excellent local pork from packington. And the cost of the meal, was excellent value.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clarelee789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela B, Owner at The Country Kitchen at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
What a lovely review and we were so pleased you enjoyed the local produce. It was kind of you to take the time to provide your comments and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

On arrival at Moor Hall you are greeted with a portico with fake Doric columns, glance up to see the dirt encrusted beams and cobwebs.
Arriving early we decided to have pre dinner drink, 1 bottle of beer and a vodka was £8.50, gulp!
After being seated we went to the salad bar for a limited choice of food, the cold meat selection was absent.
I chose to have beef for the main course, big mistake as it was way overcooked and almost impossible to cut. The Yorkshire pudding could be used as a substitute for cobble stones, the roast potatoes were soggy as was the roast parsnip.
For desert I decided on the cheese board, Red Leicester? was tasteless, cheddar was warm and yellowing, Stilton was worse than a supermarket basic range.
Overall a very poor dining experience and couldn't recommend it to any one and will not return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Delboy1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela B, Owner at The Country Kitchen at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
I hope you will accept my sincere apologies that your visit to Moor Hall Hotel did not meet your expectations and I will certainly be discussing all your comments with the relevant Heads of Department as this is not the excellent quality Moor Hall is renowned for. Thank you for taking the time to provide your review and I do hope you will visit us again in order for us to restore your confidence in our brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Was recommended as a good place to eat. They were correct.
The starter selection from the salad bar was veried and good quality. I could have just eaten from that and cancelled the main meal!
The carvery was also very good and the Chef carved to your liking. We were a table of four and we all had something different and everyone thought their food was excellent.
The red house wine was acceptable and not too expensive.
Will visit again when next in the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela B, Owner at The Country Kitchen at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide this wonderful review and we were pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your meal. Look forward to seeing you again when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Country Kitchen at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa also viewed

 
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 

Been to The Country Kitchen at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing