We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mothers Day Lunch”

The Country Kitchen at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A Certificate of Excellence winner, The Country Kitchen carvery offers a wide selection of freshly prepared dishes. For starters, help yourself from the salad bar or home-made soup, then there is always a variety of roast joints, fish dishes, and casseroles accompanied by fresh vegetables and sauces. Sweets come next, of course, including one hot pudding from the kitchen, plus coffee. The Country Kitchen is open for lunch (12pm until 2pm) and dinner (5.30Pm until 9.30Pm) Monday to Saturday and from 12pm until 9.30Pm on Sundays.
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mothers Day Lunch”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We went to the carvery for Mothers day. The meal was disappointing. The selection of starters was poor curled up cooked meat some smoked fish and salad. I opted for the soup as nothing looked good. Carvery was "ok". Puddings another disappointment black forest gateaux, fresh fruit or stodgy bland bread and butter pudding. I asked if any other deserts were available but was told "no". As it was Mothers day the price had increased. It was a poor value meal. The restaurant was very warm and our table was in a poor position difficult to get in and out. Moor Hall really need to change the carvery. If they cant provide a good selection. It would be better to serve the starters and deserts making the selections always available instead of "when its gone its gone". I will not be rushing back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank egit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela B, Owner at The Country Kitchen at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
I was very sorry to hear that your Mothers Day lunch did not meet your expectations and do hope you will accept my sincere apologies. Your custom is very important to us and by telling us how we can improve, if you have not been totally satisfied with your experience, you are helping us deliver a superior experience in the future. I will therefore be discussing all your points with Chef and the Restaurant Manager and wanted to thank you for taking the time to provide your review. I do hope you will be able to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    45
    16
    24
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“the oak room - average”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

visited the oak room today for my mothers 80th birthday, the waiters were very nice, however, we did have to ask for steak knives to cut the beef, which was quite tough, the Bread & Butter pudding was a plate of stodge and it took a few minutes to find a toilet that worked, overall for The Oak Room we give it 5 out of 10.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarenJoyce_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela B, Owner at The Country Kitchen at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review and I do hope you will accept my sincere apologies that there was a problem with the toilet, which has been reported to Maintenance in order for this to be resolved. I was sorry that your meal did not meet your expectations and have passed your comments to Chef to form the basis of further staff training. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Moor Hall in the future when you can be assured of our best attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice carvery, dreadful service.....”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We eat here quite often and usually for a family event. This was my Father's birthday. The carvery was as you would expect with soup or a selection of cold starters. Nice choice on the carvery and good selection of dessert. No hot choice of dessert this visit though. However the service was beyond poor. Lots of staff and very little service. The entertainment they provided whilst arguing amongst themselves in the middle of the restaurant was classic...... We did mention the service 'lack of' but it turned out I was complaining to one of the ones embroiled in the fracas. Suffice to say we don't think we'll bother again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela B, Owner at The Country Kitchen at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
It is always a pleasure to welcome you back to Moor Hall and thank you for taking the time to provide your review. I do hope you will accept my sincere apologies for the problems you experienced when you recently visited us. As regular diners you will know this is not the usual excellent service we offer and I can advise that we have spoken to the members of staff involved to ensure this does not happen again. Hope to see you soon when you can be assured of our best attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Good Experance”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Friendly staff with good prompt service for the Sunday Lunch Carvery the food is very good and excellent value we were more than satisfied and would return and recommend to others.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trickytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela B, Owner at The Country Kitchen at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
So pleased you enjoyed the Sunday lunch carvery and found it to be good value for money. Your kind comments about the team were much appreciated and we all hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, pleasant staff.”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We had been let down by a local restaurant,so I rang and they had a table,really quick,the service was good,the staff all pleasant, the carvery was excellent local pork from packington. And the cost of the meal, was excellent value.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clarelee789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela B, Owner at The Country Kitchen at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
What a lovely review and we were so pleased you enjoyed the local produce. It was kind of you to take the time to provide your comments and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Country Kitchen at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa also viewed

 
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 

Been to The Country Kitchen at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing