We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with fantastic grounds. Romantic.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We stayed here on our Wedding Night 11th June 2011. I had never been to the hotel before. Its so beautiful and quite amazing. Outside its breathtaking and romantic. The grounds are beautiful and the hotel itself surrounded by a moat. We had an executive double bedrommed which cost £179 for one night inluding a full english breakfast, so its not cheap but for special occasions its well worth it. There is a large free car park and you walk over a bridge to to into the hotel. There was a wedding on when we were there ( its very busy for weddings so book up early) but the sound from the marquee party was not too bad at all. We walked around the grounds both at night and in the moring and either way its truly amazing. You can feel the medieval atmosphere ( Queen Elizabeth 1st stayed here the night before her coronation in 1558). Inside there are many different sitting rooms etc all very cosy and in keeping with the medieval feeling. Tudor panelling is everywhere with luxurious curtains and comfortable sofa's and tables with beautiful chandeliers above. I thought the bar was very small for such a large hotel but we are not drinkers so this never bothered us. The staff were polite and professional, and helpful. Our room was spacious with a sitting area and large plasma TV, The bathroom was large and the whole room was clean and grand. We ordered room service which came quickly and the food delicious. I cannot fault this hotel. In the moring we wanted to walk in the grounds and take some more pics but it was raining very hard. A member of staff gave us a large brolly and off we went, the rain did not matter such was we taken with this place. If you want to get married in a truly romantic and beautiful setting this is the place, I only wish we could have done so.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diamondlady11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,136 - 1,142 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2011

Nice building and grounds, service good and not much wrong really. Two things that really irritated me though - no draft beer and couldn't operate shower.Never stayed at a hotel of this quality with no draft beer - unbelievable.
Very frustrating not being able to operate shower in morning. The tap was so tight I doubt most ladies could have operated it and I just couldn't work out how to get the shower to work.I had a bath instead and when I mentioned the problem to reception on checking out thebyoung man said " oh yes - we get four or five calls a night from guests not able to operate the shower " . I won't return.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
Thank BigRoyston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We could not stop at Moxhull so stopped at New Hall, we made it a long weekend and went on Friday, perfect find. Friday's evening meal was excellent. Service of the hotel staff was amazing. The hotel had a wedding on on the Friday and Saturday, but this did not make a difference to the service we received. We have stopped at another handpicked hotel and where pleased we used them again, as the service was perfect along with the hotel and setting being amazing.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank owl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We stayed for our wedding anniversary/babymoon and had a lovely quiet weekend. The hotel itself is beautiful with stunning grounds, which make for a nice stroll, taking in the moat. The spa is fab (I had the mum to be treatment, more expensive than I'd usually pay but worth every penny as a treat) and the pool/jacuzzi area is really nice. Ate in the Terrace restaurant which was informal but unrushed and with good food and service. All the staff we found to be friendly and helpful and even though this could be a really formal hotel, we found it to be unstuffy, relaxed and hospitable with a nice level of luxury. We stayed in one of the newly refurbished rooms, which was very nice with big TV and huge comfy bed; I think the bathroom was quite tight though with a smallish bath, not really in keeping with the bedroom - not luxurious at all. A minor quibble though in an otherwise lovely hotel. Ps, there were 2 weddings on when we stated (one on sat and one on sun) and we hardly noticed at all.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelFan099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Really enjoyed our recent stay at New Hall. The building and ground are amazing. Parts date back 800 years. Food in the Terrace Restaurant (informal) was excellent both for dinner and breakfast. Staff very friendly and chatty.
The Spa is relatively small and if there is more than 4 swimming in the pool it gets a bit crowded. Pool, sauna, steam room all very pristine. My wife and I both went for a massage (neck and shouder) on the last day and I have to say it was one of the best I have had (Charlotte was amazing)
Rooms, (even the cheaper ones) were of a high standard and the beds very comfortable. Everything was spotlessly clean. Dispite there being 2 weddings on over the weekend it still seemed a very tranquil environment.
My only slight criticism was around the bar and the drinks. We only went to the bar 4 times over the weekend but everytime we had to wait as there was no one serving + the price of drinks was expensive.

Room Tip: Ground floor new part of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidBe007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We found this hotel via Airmiles to stay at after an all day visit to the NEC on a Saturday. The drive in is really impressive and the building architecture and grounds are beautiful. Friendly efficient lady checked us in, help with bags offered etc. We got to the room, which was fine, but the deal breaker was the three hammered dollybirds next door - on a hen weekend apparently. After two mins of constant high pitched screaming we could take it no more so we asked to be moved to another room and luckily they had just one spare room which we were grateful for. The staff were really accommodating and helpful. The next room was nice and warm, spacious, lovely cushions, lush biscuits (!) massive bed, comfy matress and pillows, crisp sheets/duvet, thick curtains that keep out the daylight and most importantly nice and clean. Bathroom was spotless, had good powerful shower & lots of hot water. We had a table booked at the Brasserie in the evening. We had a lovely three course dinner which we couldn't fault. Fast service, good food, nice atmosphere. Worst bit of the stay was our nights sleep; as the people next door to us were part of the wedding party and consequently doors were being banged and slammed hard throughout the night and early hours of the morning. Apart from the banging, the soundproofing between the rooms is non-existant and we could hear lots of bowel movement noise (!) from our neighbours ensuite! Plus a howling young baby a few doors down. Breakfast next morning was a little hectic and once we were seated were forgotten about by a rather mardyarse waitress. After waiting a good while for our order to be taken, my husband got up and spoke to the chap in charge. The mardy waitress then took her scoulding out on us and instead of nice polite service, with an apology for the delay, was greated by a bit of 'vicky pollard' attitude, and general mardy, miserable and frankly rude demeanor. However when she stormed off with our order, she dropped lots of cutlery on the floor and embaressed herself further which made us mildly amused. Cooked breakfast arrived fast once order taken, tasted great, only bad bit was the black pudding which was completely burned. Booking out was a nightmare as all the hungover wedding guests & dollybirds were doing the same thing and everyone was blocking the way with bags etc, it was all a bit Terminal 5. However the reception ladies were calm, cheerful and very efficient. Overall we enjoyed our stay but unless you are one of the guests getting hammered due to a hen party or wedding etc and don't require much sleep, I would advise NOT to stay on a Saturday evening if you want a bit of peace and quiet after a full day walking miles round the NEC, as its not going to happen.

Room Tip: dont stay on a rowdy saturday evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scullduggery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Was worried about some reviews I read on Trip Advirsor, so emailed the hotel in advance of our arrival. No problems at all, and a response received the same day of enquiry.
Friendly, attentive staff. Beautiful grounds. Good food. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank emeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,782 reviews
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
3,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,252 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
983 reviews
Moxhull Hall
#1 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Walmley Road, Sutton Coldfield B76 1PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#3 Business Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range: £99 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lying within 26 acres of mature, elegant grounds this 60 bedroom historic country house hotel is widely reputed to be the oldest inhabited, moated manor house in England. Sympathetic renovation has provided up-to-the-minute facilities whilst retaining most of its medieval charm and character. Public areas with their fine panelling and mullioned stained-glass windows create a unique historical ambiance; the magnificent Great Chamber is particularly impressive indeed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your New Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hall Hotel And Spa
Hotel New Hall
New Hall Hotel Sutton Coldfield
New Hall Sutton Coldfield
New Hall Hotel & Spa Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing