We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“romantic retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of May. The building looks absolutely idyllic, like something from a fairy tale. The grounds were also perfectly manicured and incredibly relaxing to spend time in. Its hard to believe its so close to a major city. Our room was part of the newer annexe but this has been designed to complement the original building very well so you don't feel like you have missed out. The room was spacious, impeccably clean, well appointed and very comfortable. Our breakfast was delicious and we were fascinated to watch the playful antics of a seemingly tame squirrel through the leaded windows. We would love to return again in the near future.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vix1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New-Hall-GM, General Manager at New Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Dear Vix1969,

Thank you so much for your very kind review. It’s great to receive positive comments from our guests, not just about our stunning building and grounds but also about the service and food quality.

In addition to the “tame squirrels” New Hall’s 26 acres of grounds and woodland also play host to: Canadian geese, moore hens, ducks, coy and mirror carp, roach, owls, foxes, badgers, hedgehogs and muntjac deer, so when you next plan a return visit, please do not hesitate to ask one of my helpful team to point you in the right direction for some serious wildlife spotting!!

Best regards,

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,020 - 1,026 of 1,250 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2012

My wife and I attended a two day meeting and celebration dinner at the Hotel.
The facilities we used were of a very good quality and the accommodation was also very good.
The dinner was a little short on quantity, but quality was also very good.
Breakfast was plentiful, but why do the better hotels serve the worst tasting sausages?
However, Staff are Excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms reported as very comfortable by the rest of the delegates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glenslot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Wife's birthday, long weekend, dbb deal. We caught them on a bad weekend as they were attempting to recover from a power cut.

Our room wasn't ready when we arrived at 3 on a Saturday, and waited more than an hour before we could get to our room; they lost our Saturday night dinner booking in the Restaurant despite us calling down to confirm; the TV was broken and remained broken all weekend; the pool heating system seemed to be broken too. A 2 Rosette Restaurant should not substitute dishes without checking with guests first, nor should they serve stale bread.

The staff were well meaning, pleasant even, but this is not up to £200 a night standard. When we complained, we were offered a bottle of champagne that turned out to be South African fizz. Which is kind of indicative of the whole experience. Nice enough, but not what we were led to expect.

The facilities and buildings are immaculately kept, and it's a classy joint, let down by poor communications and an optimistic sense that they can get away with it.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonBeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

My partner enjoyed his 40th birthday here and treated me to a night in the original wing of this 800-year hotel, which is England's oldest moated hotel.
A consistent wedding favourite for its olde worlde-ness, Andrew was thrilled that the front desk manager remembered him from his birthday. The hotel was almost full to capacity but he paid extra to upgrade us to a suite in the top floor which featured a big bed, a cosy living area piled with current issue magazines, and a wonderful, light-filled bathroom with a dramatic gothic entrance for the toilet and basin area and a super-hot heated towel rail which dried my underwear very quickly!
We enjoyed an afternoon in the pool, steam room and jacuzzi (guessing who of the other guests were part of the wedding party), before meeting friends to have dinner in Sutton Coldfield.
The next morning the great hall was full of wedding guests, other guests had filled up the regular breakfast room so we were directed to the front room overlooking the moat. We gave our breakfast order to the Indian waiter who was new, under-trained or over-stretched. Another 4 sets of guests arrived and received their hot breakfasts before we asked where ours was. I had asked for a medium-boiled egg and eventually received two - one already peeled, both hard as nuggets. I got another egg, properly cooked, but the waiter was frazzled. Andrew's smoked haddock and poached egg was in a sea of water
I also noticed the window frame and surrounding plaster casing was covered in dust and flies so perhaps that room is not often used.

Room Tip: There's no lift so if you are allocated a room on a 2nd or 3rd floor, make sure you can lift you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visitrequisites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This was my second time at New Hall, staying for business. Love the ye olde English ambience of the gardens and the comfort of the rooms. But never expected the service to be so exemplary on my last visit. I injured my back unknowingly in London so when I awoke at 5 am in the morning and couldnt move was evidently scared. The manager, Terry Lyszyk got the paramedics to attend to me and stayed with me the entire time to ensure that I was able to move and made me confortable with drinks and bread and checking on me until his shift was over, He also organised with the Spa Manageress, the lovely Olivia Peach to watch over me when his break came to ensure I had all the care that I probably wouldnt get even in a hospital.

I didnt have to ask but Terry and Olivia just popped in on their own volition giving the kind of genuine care family would, it was really touching. Their genuine actions and flawless efficiency and customer care was comparable to the kind of service I have had at the Raffles in Singapore i.e. international 5 star !

I spent an extra night to get my back stabilised and till I was moved back to London. Till the very last moment the staff were intent to ensure i was well taken care of.

I must say having stayed recently in a so-called 5 star hotel Gran Bahia Ambar in the Caribbean where the Manager was rude and dismissive when both my partner and me were ill from food poisoning, I was amazed how much good customer care and can turn an uncomfortable situation to a positive experiance. Terry Lyszck and Olivia Peach achieved that effortlessly and with aplomb.

New Hall has its limitations in that the food is too salty, overcooked and lacks variety , no doubt due to the small kitchen space in a 14th Century property. But it could be improved .The waitress in the dining room was also diabolically bad as had to wait 35 minutes for my dinner and had to chase for it.

But for good ol English hospitality and service New Hall is way up there!

Shall be writing to the handpicked management to recognize what gems they have in Terry Lyszyk and Olivia Peach and their teams. Will be back when I come back for work soon and look forward to saying hullo to my new 'family' at New Halll.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teaktreasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Stayed recently for one night , stayed in Louise Suite overlooking beautiful immaculate grounds surrounded moat . Room was lovely , afternoon tea-amazing! , glorious sunshine weather . Only downside meal was awful at night , breakfast however was lovely. Spa/ pool immaculate , and gym was good too . staff attentitive on check in etc . Overall good stay from good hotel chain -hand picked hotels . Well done .

Room Tip: try get suite over looking grounds/moat .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesley k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed here to break our journey from Scotland to Devon. The room we were in was very good with everything you would need. The gardens were stunning...I have never stayed in a hotel with a moat before!
The evening meal we had, although very enjoyable, was very overpriced. It was standard sausage, gravy and mash and at £16 was a bit excessive. The bill came to over £60 for 2 courses, and 2 drinks for 2 people....Is that just me being Scottish?

Room Tip: Avoid eating in the hotel in the evning...bar meals limited by space...restaurant overpriced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveandJanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,767 reviews
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
3,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,203 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
967 reviews
The Belfry
#1 of 1 in Wishaw
2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Walmley Road, Sutton Coldfield B76 1PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#2 Family Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#3 Business Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range: £101 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lying within 26 acres of mature, elegant grounds this 60 bedroom historic country house hotel is widely reputed to be the oldest inhabited, moated manor house in England. Sympathetic renovation has provided up-to-the-minute facilities whilst retaining most of its medieval charm and character. Public areas with their fine panelling and mullioned stained-glass windows create a unique historical ambiance; the magnificent Great Chamber is particularly impressive indeed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your New Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hall Hotel And Spa
Hotel New Hall
New Hall Hotel Sutton Coldfield
New Hall Sutton Coldfield
New Hall Hotel & Spa Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing