We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Myself and three friends went here for Traditional Afternoon Tea this week. There was so much food we couldn't manage it all. A selection of finger sandwiches, home made scones, pastries and cakes with unlimited tea or coffee. As the weather was so nice we sat outside on the patio of this magnificent moated hotel which dates back (at least) to Tudor times. It was a very civilised way of spending an afternoon with friends. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,022 - 1,028 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2012

Just returned from overnight stay. Arrived early and were able to check into our room (53) which was lovely - clean and comfortable. Had a lovely swim, sauna and steam in Spa - not quite sure how previous reviewer couldn't find Spa! Staff all very polite and helpful. Beautiful grounds. Lovely Breakfast. If you are looking for a relaxing break, this is the place for you.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stopped here for a one night birthday break, the room and service was faultless..the breakfast was fantastic.
The hotel itself looked wonderful, and the grounds and garden were perfectly kept.
Would love to stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We had a wonderful stay at New Hall hotel. My sister and I stayed one night and had a great time. We arrived early and were able to check in to our room early, then enjoy an afternoon tea in the terrace restaurant.

We ordered a basic tea and the staff accidentally brought us the full afternoon tea. Although it was a lot more expensive we decided to eat it anyway (it looked, and was, delicious!) and when we were paying I pointed out the mistake, more for feedback because we had no problem paying, and the staff very graciously only charged us for what we had ordered. We also ate at the terrace restaurant for dinner and lunch and both meals were lovely (with the single exception of the very watery butternut squash soup). The sticky toffee pud is highly recommended.

We also loved the leisure facilities and we so pleased to find full use of the tennis courts, including equipment, was available at no extra charge for guests. The spa and pool were lovely too.

After our one night stay, we were happily accommodated in the spa and restaurant until 4pm the day we checked out which made the whole day that much more relaxing and enjoyable.

Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful stay. My second Handpicked hotel and certainly not my last!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meaghannf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

A beautiful hotel in beautiful surroundings and lovely rooms BUT it had a spa and pool we never found (and didn't get information about at check in and there was no information in the room), we were there the morning after the Olympics opening event and (as we had a wedding the night before) I woke up special early to see the highlights to find there was NO TV signal - I rang reception and was told this was due to a power cut - we got no apology. Breakfast was less than average - coffee was mass-produced and stewed. Toast was piled on boards and soggy, not much for a vegetarian on the cooked option. Service was appalling. The wedding was lovely though and the handy man who cleaned the front of the wedding marquee for us (they hadn't noticed and we had bunting to put up) was really helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: There are some renovated rooms - they are nice we had one (but the digital TV didn't work for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pollicott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New-Hall-GM, General Manager at New Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Thank you for registering your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

I am sorry you did not get an opportunity to make use of our great leisure facilities, particularly as the spa and health club (along with our tennis court and golf course) are all specifically highlighted in a personalised welcome letter all guests receive upon check in. Please also be advised there is an extensive in room directory which lists all of the hotel’s services and facilities, so I am quite honestly at a loss to explain why you were not able to locate the relevant information.

In respect to the issues highlighted with your television, regrettably the hotel did suffer a substantial power cut which resulted in many of our systems going down, in fact if it was not for our own emergency generator we would have had no electricity in the building for a period of approximately 6 hours. As a consequence of the power interruption one half of our television amplification equipment was effected and although technicians were immediately called out to address the issue we were unable to restore signal in some 20 bedrooms until replacement parts could be sourced and fitted on Monday. Please accept my sincere and heartfelt apologies for any disappointment this uncommon and highly unusual situation caused.

Additionally I have discussed your comments regarding breakfast with Terry my Food & Beverage Manager in order to avoid a repeat occurrence in the future and can only apologise for any shortfalls in our usually high standards of service.

I trust and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to New Hall Hotel and Spa again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of May. The building looks absolutely idyllic, like something from a fairy tale. The grounds were also perfectly manicured and incredibly relaxing to spend time in. Its hard to believe its so close to a major city. Our room was part of the newer annexe but this has been designed to complement the original building very well so you don't feel like you have missed out. The room was spacious, impeccably clean, well appointed and very comfortable. Our breakfast was delicious and we were fascinated to watch the playful antics of a seemingly tame squirrel through the leaded windows. We would love to return again in the near future.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vix1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New-Hall-GM, General Manager at New Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Dear Vix1969,

Thank you so much for your very kind review. It’s great to receive positive comments from our guests, not just about our stunning building and grounds but also about the service and food quality.

In addition to the “tame squirrels” New Hall’s 26 acres of grounds and woodland also play host to: Canadian geese, moore hens, ducks, coy and mirror carp, roach, owls, foxes, badgers, hedgehogs and muntjac deer, so when you next plan a return visit, please do not hesitate to ask one of my helpful team to point you in the right direction for some serious wildlife spotting!!

Best regards,

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My wife and I attended a two day meeting and celebration dinner at the Hotel.
The facilities we used were of a very good quality and the accommodation was also very good.
The dinner was a little short on quantity, but quality was also very good.
Breakfast was plentiful, but why do the better hotels serve the worst tasting sausages?
However, Staff are Excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms reported as very comfortable by the rest of the delegates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glenslot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,781 reviews
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
3,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,246 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
982 reviews
Moxhull Hall
#1 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Walmley Road, Sutton Coldfield B76 1PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#3 Business Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range: £100 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lying within 26 acres of mature, elegant grounds this 60 bedroom historic country house hotel is widely reputed to be the oldest inhabited, moated manor house in England. Sympathetic renovation has provided up-to-the-minute facilities whilst retaining most of its medieval charm and character. Public areas with their fine panelling and mullioned stained-glass windows create a unique historical ambiance; the magnificent Great Chamber is particularly impressive indeed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your New Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hall Hotel And Spa
Hotel New Hall
New Hall Hotel Sutton Coldfield
New Hall Sutton Coldfield
New Hall Hotel & Spa Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing