We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It will not disapoint”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“It will not disapoint”
Reviewed 19 April 2010

We booked New Hall a week before our visit after much deliberation, for a quiet romantic, relaxing night away from the day to day toils of working family life.

We booked for Dinner, Bed and Breakfast also upgrading to an executive room and the al a carte food. We also requested a room in the old part of the hotel and not the new. (Why book an 800 year old hotel to stay and have a room in the new part)

We arrived around 14:55 in the afternoon, with the sun at full strength. We were greeted by a lovely gentleman and the receptionist booked us in and welcomed us to the hotel. We were then taken to our room (which we would never have found so a big thanks you to the hotel) our room did not disappoint, with a small hallway with a door to the bathroom and door to the bedroom/lounge area. The bathroom had a large window overlooking the side gardens, croquet lawn etc and the room window overlooking the front. The room was stocked with biscuits (very nice biscuits) hot chocolate, fresh and instant coffee, herbal teas etc. We quickly unpacked and made our way around the hotel and for a lovely walk in the gardens; we took in the wonderful surroundings basking in the sun and sat for a while by the tennis courts, just taking in the quiet.

We then paid a quick visit to the Spa, which is contained in a separate building by the two ponds and truly wonderful setting, we then decided to wonder back up to the hotel across the bridge and sat on the terrace consuming a couple of drinks for the remainder of the afternoon. This I wish could have gone on for longer. We then made our way back to the room, via an alternate route again admiring the splendour that this building is.

We made our way down to the restaurant (The Bridge restaurant) which we couldn’t find, so we made our way to the reception area, where the lovely gentleman from earlier kindly took us.

We sat by the fire and the menus along with the wine list were given, our champagne and canapés were brought for us to consume at our leisure. We then made our way to our table. The evening was excellent a wonderful setting, the staff attentive but not overly they knew exactly when to come forward. The food arrive which really was out of this world. We left the restaurant about 22:15 where did the time go? We then enjoyed a vodka in the relaxing lounge and worked off some our dinner by taking a late evening stroll around the grounds (the lite area only)

Only arrival back to our room, our bed had been turned down, stocks replenished including the tasty biscuits.

Breakfast again was in The Bridge restaurant and again this did not fail to please. We then went back to the room to pack and unfortunately check out.

I must apologise my title may be a little misleading, unfortunately we were disappointed. Disappointed that our stay was only for 24 hours.

Many thanks to the hotel and staff for a very pleasant if short break.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCelticCrusaders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    694
    299
    137
    41
    38
See reviews for
220
585
23
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Myself and partner stayed at New Hall last weekend, and had a fantastic time! I researched quite thoroughly to find a perfect hotel and spa, and i can say that New hall really fulfilled the expectation. The setting is absolutely stunning - the hotel aswell as the scenery. We stayed on the 'spring break offer' booked through the hanpicked hotels website, and it was a great deal. The offer includes 2 nights stay and breakfast, champagne, canapes and evening meal. The catering is outstanding, we are real foodies and the quality was brilliant. We paid extra £15 each to eat in the Bridge restaurant on the second night which was really exceptional. The Terrace was such a good standard aswell - could not fault it in the slightest. I had fish both nights which was cooked to perfection, the desserts are incredible. The staff are also very attentive and efficient, they really took time to ensure we were well looked after.

We spent time in the spa each day which was surprisingly quiet. Although there are only approx 6 loungers, aswell as other seating around the pool, we did manage to relax on the loungers when we weren't in the pool/jacuzzi/steam room/sauna room. The spa area is clean and maintained to a high standard as is the gymnasium. New Hall policy;s regarding children is that they can stay free with parents. We were concerned that the pool area would be over run with children, therefore not necessarily as relaxing as it could have been, but generally, we were able to swim some lengths without being interrupted by children splasing around! This was the only point which myself and my partner questioned - whether the hotel and spa would be more desirable if it wasn't accessible to children. I guess we assumed it would me more exclusive considering the high standard we experienced. However, we didn't find the presence of children an issue, but this might be something to be aware of when booking a relxaing spa break.

We did have treatments in the spa which were again to a very good standard, and we can safely say we checked out of the hotel feeling thoroughly relaxed...which was the desired outcome! Would love to go back!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soph58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

We booked this through Hand Picked Hotels and got a very good deal.
Very nice setting, excellent facilities and the staff are very helpful.
One particular staff member called Azi (I think) couldn't have been more willing to help.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julian_blackwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2010

I was looking for somewhere in the Middle of England with an historic theme and was not disappointed. The grounds and the building were superb and the rooms were well maintained and clean. We could not get a table in the restaurant as it was full, so can't comment on the food. Service in the bars was also good. We didn@t use the health spa, but did visit and then wished we had! All in all a great stay.

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PeterJonesManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New-Hall-Team, Revenue Manager at New Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 March 2010
Dear Peter

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are all so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon so you can enjoy the restaurants on the evening and take time to relax in the spa.

Kindest Reagrds
The Team at New Hall Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Great for a romantic break. Make sure you book for dinner in the formal restaurant as food, service and ambience is just wonderful. The gardens are supurb, great for exploring and walking that breakfast off. We would stay here again in a flash!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geribean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2010

This was our second stay here, and as many others have said, this hotel is truly wonderful and romantic. The staff were so kind and friendly, always attentive and accommodating. We stayed in room 66, a junior suite called Dawn on the 2nd floor in the old part of the building. The furniture is old and a little worn, but totally in keeping with the building. Dont expect slick glass and chrome, this is a real old world, homely feel. Our room had a gorgeous 4 poster bed with luxurious canopy, a sofa, 2 armchairs, dressing table and 2 enormous bedside tables. We also used the spa, and oved lounging around the pool in the wonderfully tropical temperatures! (There's also a gym that looked very well equipped.) Then we sat in armchairs in front of an open fire for afternoon tea. The food in the restaurant was expensive, but outstanding, and if you get a dinner bed and breakfast deal, it cuts the price considerably. A perfect romantic weekend retreat.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reedyreedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke-on-trent
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

We stayed at new hall the weekend after valentines as it was half the price, winter deal £170 between the two of us for a standard double room,breakfast,use of spa facilities,champagne and canapes and a 3 course meal in the fab terrace restaurant. You wont see this deal on websites so call hand picked hotels directly to get this deal. But if you have money than upgrade to one of the rooms in the old building. I don't know why people on other reviews were complaining about the staff as we found all of the staff to be hard working,proffesional and polite . Yes they might mainly be young but often staff working in the hotel industry are ! The building itself is so beautiful,go for a walk around the lovely grounds ! You feel like you are staying in a castle rather than a house. I am extremely fussy where I stay but could not fault this place at all. The bed was huge,the room was very clean, the standard rooms all had identical refurb ! There was a small fridge in the room with complementary bottles of water, flat screen tv with dvd player and a bath/shower in the bathroom with toiletries. You could tell that although it is a new build they have tried to keep in character with the old building. . The hotel has good spa facilities, which did get a little busy but was still very pleasant with a pool,sauna,steam,jaccuzi,treatment rooms and a small gym . The spa reception staff provide you with use of a free locker and towel ! As for the food we ate our three course meal in the terrace restaurant, the food was very tasty and well cooked with quite an a la carte selection ! The pork belly and veg were fantastic. . I only had one glass of wine though as it was £10 for a large glass. This was no true issue to us though as we had brought our own champagne to drink as we spent the rest of the evening in the lovely room ! If you do have money to spend on their drinks there is a lovely log fire you can cosy up next to . This hotel really is a gem, if you want romance, good service, lovely rooms and a fantasic building to stay in than look no further. I would highly reccomend it to all ! Enjoy your stay .

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rach1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,676 reviews
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
2,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Belfry
#1 of 1 in Wishaw
1,943 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
3,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: New Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Walmley Road, Sutton Coldfield B76 1PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#2 Family Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#3 Business Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — New Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lying within 26 acres of mature, elegant grounds this 60 bedroom historic country house hotel is widely reputed to be the oldest inhabited, moated manor house in England. Sympathetic renovation has provided up-to-the-minute facilities whilst retaining most of its medieval charm and character. Public areas with their fine panelling and mullioned stained-glass windows create a unique historical ambiance; the magnificent Great Chamber is particularly impressive indeed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your New Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hall Hotel And Spa
Hotel New Hall
New Hall Hotel Sutton Coldfield
New Hall Sutton Coldfield
New Hall Hotel & Spa Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing