We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Hall Hotel & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
New Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

Have stayed in lots of hotels all around the world and this is the first that I have ever really wanted to rave about. We wanted a hotel near Drayton Manor Theme Park (it is 15 mins away by car) but wanted to avoid chain hotels near Birmingham and the M6. This hotel is hidden off a residential road in Sutton Coldfield - you turn off down a country lane as if you are heading towards some Jane Austen-style country manor and at the end, there it is. Wonderful old hotel with its own moat, pretty gardens, very quiet and secluded. We arrived in the evening and the restaurant hadn't yet opened (it opens at 7pm) but they happily seated us and took our order as we had our five year old son with us. Never met such friendly, helpful staff. Lovely dinner there, and breakfast, too - for £125 a night.
Our room was in the modern extension (room 53) but the building is in keeping with the older part and the room was lovely - big bay window, huge sofa bed for our son, lovely bed for us. Immaculately kept, felt like a five star hotel. Wish we lived nearer so we could go back again! Also think it would be a truly romantic venue for a wedding. There's a spa, too, but we were so enchanted with wandering around the hotel and grounds we never had time to go in!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redbankgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    274
    128
    39
    36
See reviews for
205
551
22
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

I have to confess to feeling rather dubious as we drove through the residential area of Sutton Coldfield, but once we started to drive through the grounds of the hotel, I started to realise that this was truly a hidden gem!

The hotel has a magnificent facade and makes a great impression on arrival. Reception was calm & efficient and we then made our way to our Junior Suite – lovely large room with a separate lounge and good sized bathroom with the obligatory bathrobes & slippers. Pleasant furnishings & elegant decor – V comfy bed and oh so quiet. Perfect!

We ventured into the health club – the pool is a good size for swimming lengths and there are loungers on the side of the pool for the less energetic. Nice sauna & steam room too. The fitness room looked well-equipped too and they also had outdoor tennis courts.

The grounds of the hotel are really lovely with gardens & lakes. It is all very well tended and you really feel that you are in the middle of the peaceful countryside.

Dinner started with pink champers & canapes on the sun terrace – it was all very relaxed and we were encouraged to just take our time to choose from the extensive dinner menu. The food was very fresh and extremely tasty, as well as plentiful! A really fantastic meal!! Breakfast was AMAZING – I don’t think I have ever had such a huge Full English breakfast – it was enormous. Once again, everything was fresh and oh so tasty. The waiting service was excellent and attentive – all very professional!

Absolutely no negative comments to make on this occasion. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TotnesLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keyingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

We had arrived at the new hall on the back of a transporter after breaking down at 3.pm at 11.30, exhausted with our 7 year old. I cannot sat how refreshing to be received by Neil Topliss, the night manager and his young staff, we were provided with not just hot drinks, but homemade marshmallows, shortbread and flapjack, followed by two large glasses of merlot, all complementary. The service was 5 star, it really made the difference to our awful day.
The rooms and the hotel are absolutely gorgeous, we stayed in the executive room with really comfortable four poster bed, they are so roomy , perfect. We had booked the champagne and canopies for both nights,but as we had missed the first night they rearranged it so we had it the afternoon we left, we were also given two glasses of wine the day we left complements of the hotel. This is a lovely friendly hotel , all the staff are so obliging, the food, rooms and the spa are all 1st class, this is our second visit and are looking forward to our third

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kerwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

For the second time in the last few months my partner and I spent a night at the New Hall Hotel & Spa on our journey from the South to the North of England. Although slightly off the beaten track, but not far from the M6 toll, this is a hotel worth visiting. The buildings and gardens are very impressive. The staff are super-friendly, considerate and efficient, The rooms well furnished and spotless. Menu choices won't disappoint although adding a few more options would be of benefit. We will definately break up our journey and stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kempr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

The location of this hotel is quite strange as it is located in a large park in the middle of Sutton Coldfield, you have to drive through the suburbs to get to it. That said the location is very peaceful and you would be forgive for thinking you are in the middle of the countryside.

The room we had was decent with the usual 40"ish tv, & DVD player that is common with Handpicked Hotels. The bathroom was clean although slightly dated compared to current tastes and fashions, however everything functioned as expected.

We had a DBB package so we ate in the terrace restaurant every night. The food was excellent and didn't disappoint, the menu had a wide choice so you could eat there on numerous occasions without repeating. The waiting staff were very attentive and made the dining experience very pleasant, it was interesting to note that most of the staff were local to the area, this can be uncommon in some hotels these days.

The only issue we had was that the wine from the bar was quite pricey a 175ml glass of the house white was £5.25 ouch. It was very nice wine but it is quite a high entry price for wine perhaps a decent wine for £3.50 or £4 might be more palatable. The beer was reasonable at £3.50 a pint.

The hotel I felt is a good base for a couple wanting to explore the midlands and have a bit of pampering whilst there.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FB_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2010

Stayed here for a two night business trip to the NEC whcih was only about 25 min away which was convinient. The hotels featured rooms are very good, the meals were excellent. We just loved walking around the grounds after breakfast taking in the great scenery and nature, Excellent way to start a busy day.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kswinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK Sheffield
Level Contributor
202 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

Copy of my letter to the Manager!

One of my friends had been taken to hospital for delivery of her baby, due to the fact that her partner was working away I was called for moral support!

The labour took longer than expected so I resorted to Tripadvisor.co.uk as I like to check places before I stay.

I found that your hotel also happened to be closest so I left the hospital at 8pm as no visitors are allowed after that time. I entered through the wrong door and asked a waiter the direction to reception, only to be escorted the entire way as opposed to someone pointing and saying 'Its down there'. I checked in and explained my predicament to your receptionist as I am sure it is unusual that guests check in minus any luggage. I went to my room (23), and shortly after received a call ensuring everything in my room was O.K. From both of these little touches I knew I was somewhere that prided it's self on the service it provides.

I then had a bar meal in one of the panelled lounges, one slight comment would be to have some more 'male orientated' magazines as I am not really in to home and furnishing monthly! The food was very good and of a reasonable price for the quality I received.

When I had returned to my room the receptionist had either herself or organised for, a toothbrush and paste kit to be left, this shows a level of service I rarely see when travelling for work, even when staying in places such as Crown Plaza. I have previously worked for Relais and Chateu for 10 years both in the UK and USA and rarely am I as impressed as I was with your hotel, without paying £200 for a stay!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
5.2 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
#1 of 1 in Aldridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
2.1 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
2.0 mi away
Moxhull Hall
Moxhull Hall
#1 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,660 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Belfry
The Belfry
#1 of 1 in Wishaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
8.6 mi away
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: New Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Walmley Road, Sutton Coldfield B76 1PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#2 Family Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#3 Business Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — New Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lying within 26 acres of mature, elegant grounds this 60 bedroom historic country house hotel is widely reputed to be the oldest inhabited, moated manor house in England. Sympathetic renovation has provided up-to-the-minute facilities whilst retaining most of its medieval charm and character. Public areas with their fine panelling and mullioned stained-glass windows create a unique historical ambiance; the magnificent Great Chamber is particularly impressive indeed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your New Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hall Hotel And Spa
Hotel New Hall
New Hall Hotel Sutton Coldfield
New Hall Sutton Coldfield
New Hall Hotel & Spa Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing