We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel but service is well below luxury - its dreadful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel but service is well below luxury - its dreadful!”
Reviewed 4 October 2010

My Husband and I used to stay at New Hall long before it was a Hand Picked Hotel. We did our courting in Birmingham and as a small treat my Husband booked an Executive Room at New Hall on Saturday 11th September, we arrived before check in at 3.00pm and were greeted warmly and given an envelope and the key to room 2. It is a large room, right next to reception but it is a disabled room and there is no bath. Part of a relaxing hotel stay is a long soak! We went back to reception and our room was changed to room 29 a very small room and later on we found out that it was a Classic room and not an Executive Room as booked, were they hoping we would not notice the difference between what we booked and what we were given? Apparently nothing could be done because we were the last to check in for an Executive Room and there were none left. Meanwhile my Husband checked the receipts he had been given and there were 2 credit card receipts, one for £140 and one for £152.88 – we had been charged twice. Back at reception and Megan, the Head Receptionist, said that the error had already been noticed and credited – this was only explained to us after we queried it! So where was the credited credit card receipt? Locked in accounts and could not be accessed until Monday! The mistake had been noticed prior to our arrival but we were just handed the envelope, no explanation and no apology from Megan.

Back to the problem with paying for an Executive room and none being available. We waited at reception for over 30 minutes being told by a junior receptionist that our room was being sorted out. Megan never appeared again. Eventually the Duty Manager, Simon Lee, arrived and explained all his problems. We knew the problems but quite frankly wanted a solution as we were now running late for a function we were attending. Simon said he could not change the room situation – room 2 or 29, he could “knock breakfast off the bill or do something at supper that we had booked for later, perhaps the wine.” After listening to all his various problems I suggested the food element of supper could be offered, Simon agreed and we went to our room. Simon promised us the problem with the double charge had been sorted out and at some stage we would get some communication about this.

Later that evening we arrived for supper and stood at the bar/bookings area. The staff rushed around and 4 members of staff completely ignored us. We said “excuse me” to 2 members of staff who just looked at us and walked past! Eventually we were noticed and shown to our table. Simon Lee came and said hello, I think because the wine we ordered was not available and not because of previous problems. Later on we saw Simon again as he was clearing tables on the outside terrace. Making conversation I said ‘it would be nice if they had outdoor heaters for cigar smokers.’ Simon was incredibly rude at this point saying ‘that the hotel did not need or support smoking.’ I asked if it did not help port and brandy sales to accommodate cigar smokers outside – the reply was a very curt ‘our port and brandy sales are already excellent.’ How they could be excellent when we were not even offered coffee and port at the end of the meal is a mystery to us.

Unfortunately the morning paper we ordered was not delivered to our room and when checking out I mentioned this and the receptionist shrugged her shoulders. We were asked if out stay had been good and we replied honestly, the problems with the room had spoilt the occasion, the receptionist really did not care. Simon Lee then appeared and gave us his email address in case we did not hear anything from the hotel regarding the mess over the double charging. I expected that the credit would have been posted first thing on Monday with an apology from the Manager but like the rest of our stay, once again, New Hall fell very short of our expectations. A beautiful hotel set in beautiful surroundings but service falls far short of a luxury hotel.

I wrote to Head Office detailing the above as I felt it unfair to post such a negative review as every business can have a 'one off' bad day. However, I started to realise that the attitude of the Group is reflected down to the hotel. I received an unsigned letter from the Customer Relations Manager advising that "We will be looking into the issues you raise and a reply will be with you shortly." Nearly 2 weeks later having heard nothing , I sent another letter asking the CEO to have the courtesy to reply.

2 days later and a signed letter from the Customer Relations Manager stating that the "new Deputy General Manager has been in contact with you." His unsigned letter arrived the same day even though it had been typed a week earlier! (Obviously only sent when chased by Head Office.) His letter is very apologetic but fails to address several key points and the fact that he can't even be bothered to sign it speaks volumes.

Their final insult is to recompense us for our ruined stay by offering 25% off a room plus an upgrade...........if available. Sorry but we just wanted someone to listen and act on the problems we had experienced, we were not asking for any form of compensation but at the same time we don't intend to spend any more money with Hand Picked Hotels because when there is a problem even Head Office can't be bothered to investigate, take an interest or follow up.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mutleys_Mate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    686
    294
    134
    40
    38
See reviews for
215
579
23
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

This hotel is absolutely fabulous! The only thing I had to complain about was the shortness of my stay: I had booked only one night. But I will definitely try to go back one day - this place is really worth it!!

Rooms are absolutely spotless, decoration and furniture perfectly fit the castle-like hotel style. I had some issue with warm water in the bathroom but the staff were so friendly and competent that the issue was fixed within minutes.

Breakfast was amazing too.

I guess the location is not perfect if your traveling on business. And there is definitively nothing much going on around the hotel. But if you're looking for relaxation, then this is the place to be.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manolituca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We stayed at this hotel for one night, as we were attending a friends wedding at the venue.
The hotel is very impressive from the outside with a moat and beautiful gardens.
We stayed in the courtyard area and our room was spacious, spotless and had a nice view of one of the ponds. The hotel is modern but has managed to keep its traditional charm.
The bar and lounge areas are comfortable and cosy, however drinks were relatively expensive.
As a wedding venue they did an excellent job and i am told by the bride that they were wonderful all day!
We didnt use the spa but there is plenty of information about it in the room, should you want to use it.
We opted to have breakfast in our room and this was easily requested by selecting our choices from the menu card and placing outside our door the night before.
It arrived at the time requested, was plentiful and much needed after the evenings celebrations!
Wonderful wedding venue but also ideal for a relaxing weekend away. Great hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rpops26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We recently returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel and I can only echo the previous reviewers' comments - this hotel is excellent. A gorgeous country house hotel in every respect apart from being near the centre of Sutton Coldfield, this place is lovely and made us feel relaxed as soon as we arrived. Our Executive Double room was large and nicely decorated with a massive comfy bed, generous sitting area and a gorgeous view over the courtyard and main house. The breakfast was good with lots of choice and we ate from the bar menu one evening in the hotel lounge which was also very good. We took a couple of strolls in the grounds and surrounding country park during our stay, as well as visiting Drayton Manor Theme Park and the Tamworth Snowdome, both of which are only a 15-20 minute drive from the hotel. If you want to eat out, there are plenty of restaurants within a few minutes drive, including a TGI Fridays, Pizza Express, ASK and several non-chain restaurants.

I shouldn't really end before mentioning the hotel staff, all of whom were great, but especially Jenny on reception who was brilliant and helped make the holiday for us. We would definitely go back if we ever wanted to stay in that area again - it was just about perfect.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaffTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

Beautiful hotel, staff were helpful. We did not use the Spa but it looked good.
We stayed in a standard room which had lovely views, the bedroom was nicely decorated although the bathroom slightly dated.

Only complaint is that we arrived late and ordered dinner of the snack menu......both our dishes were quite poor. Breakfast the following morning however was good.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Have stayed in lots of hotels all around the world and this is the first that I have ever really wanted to rave about. We wanted a hotel near Drayton Manor Theme Park (it is 15 mins away by car) but wanted to avoid chain hotels near Birmingham and the M6. This hotel is hidden off a residential road in Sutton Coldfield - you turn off down a country lane as if you are heading towards some Jane Austen-style country manor and at the end, there it is. Wonderful old hotel with its own moat, pretty gardens, very quiet and secluded. We arrived in the evening and the restaurant hadn't yet opened (it opens at 7pm) but they happily seated us and took our order as we had our five year old son with us. Never met such friendly, helpful staff. Lovely dinner there, and breakfast, too - for £125 a night.
Our room was in the modern extension (room 53) but the building is in keeping with the older part and the room was lovely - big bay window, huge sofa bed for our son, lovely bed for us. Immaculately kept, felt like a five star hotel. Wish we lived nearer so we could go back again! Also think it would be a truly romantic venue for a wedding. There's a spa, too, but we were so enchanted with wandering around the hotel and grounds we never had time to go in!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redbankgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

I have to confess to feeling rather dubious as we drove through the residential area of Sutton Coldfield, but once we started to drive through the grounds of the hotel, I started to realise that this was truly a hidden gem!

The hotel has a magnificent facade and makes a great impression on arrival. Reception was calm & efficient and we then made our way to our Junior Suite – lovely large room with a separate lounge and good sized bathroom with the obligatory bathrobes & slippers. Pleasant furnishings & elegant decor – V comfy bed and oh so quiet. Perfect!

We ventured into the health club – the pool is a good size for swimming lengths and there are loungers on the side of the pool for the less energetic. Nice sauna & steam room too. The fitness room looked well-equipped too and they also had outdoor tennis courts.

The grounds of the hotel are really lovely with gardens & lakes. It is all very well tended and you really feel that you are in the middle of the peaceful countryside.

Dinner started with pink champers & canapes on the sun terrace – it was all very relaxed and we were encouraged to just take our time to choose from the extensive dinner menu. The food was very fresh and extremely tasty, as well as plentiful! A really fantastic meal!! Breakfast was AMAZING – I don’t think I have ever had such a huge Full English breakfast – it was enormous. Once again, everything was fresh and oh so tasty. The waiting service was excellent and attentive – all very professional!

Absolutely no negative comments to make on this occasion. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TotnesLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
2.1 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,648 reviews
5.2 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
19.3 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
2,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Moxhull Hall
Moxhull Hall
#1 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
398 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Belfry
The Belfry
#1 of 1 in Wishaw
1,890 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfie...
#9 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: New Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Walmley Road, Sutton Coldfield B76 1PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#2 Family Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#3 Business Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — New Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lying within 26 acres of mature, elegant grounds this 60 bedroom historic country house hotel is widely reputed to be the oldest inhabited, moated manor house in England. Sympathetic renovation has provided up-to-the-minute facilities whilst retaining most of its medieval charm and character. Public areas with their fine panelling and mullioned stained-glass windows create a unique historical ambiance; the magnificent Great Chamber is particularly impressive indeed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your New Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hall Hotel And Spa
Hotel New Hall
New Hall Hotel Sutton Coldfield
New Hall Sutton Coldfield
New Hall Hotel & Spa Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing