We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms dated & breakfast poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rooms dated & breakfast poor”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Where do I start? Upon arrival it looks like a lovely country hotel, great. That's where the "great" ends. Walked into reception loaded down with bags/cases etc to be told we were upstairs (quite a trek through numerous doors, courtyards, stairs etc) but were offered no help with our bags which was poor. We reached our room and it was like walking into the 1970's. Go in the bathroom and there is a bath with the most pathetic 1970's shower attachment on the end of the taps. Why was there not a proper shower? Most people prefer showers these days and I expect more from a £100 a night room. Then I thought I would go on the internet having checked there is free Wi-Fi in the rooms but where are the log on details? I don't know but they certainly weren't in the room. (There was no breakfast info/times in the room either) I went down to reception to ask but there was no-one there, so no Wi-Fi for us then. Time to get ready for dinner (quick wash over with the hand held shower!!) Go to the bar to get a drink, 1 spirit/mixer and 1 coke - £6.50!!!!! In we walk to the dining area, looks good all set up nicely. Wait staff were polite, portions were small, starter and dessert nice but main course was disgusting (not cooked properly) and I left the lot. I was in a group and the wait staff were nowhere to be seen so I could not alert anyone to my issue, by the time the staff came back everyone had finished their main course so I could not ask for another whilst everyone else ate their dessert. £25 for that, what a rip off! Then back to our room, it was a warm night so I got my desktop fan out and where was the plug for it? There wasn't one. We had ONE plug socket in our room (two if you include the one the awful 70's brown & beige hairdryer was plugged in to) which was miles away from the bedside tables, oh and our bedside lamps didn't work either. One good point was we booked a twin room but had a queen size and a single. The queen size had a single size cover on it which someone had decided to use sideways on to try and disguise the fact. There were also two single headboards above the queen bed but they were miles apart, on the outside of the bed as though you put a new bed in but couldn't be bothered to replace the headboards so just left them there!! As we had a 3 person room why was there only ONE bottle of water and ONE biscuit? We went to bed at midnight but there were guests making a huge racket outside in the courtyard area till 2am which the staff should have seen to. Personally I enjoyed listening to everyone enjoying themselves and it didn't bother me but it should have been seen to for the sake of other guests. Just another point to show staff obviously didn't care. Bed was good, lovely and hard, pillows good too.
Breakfast - dear god. Now, this breakfast is £15 extra so I was hopeful it would be a £15 breakfast but sadly it was more like a £1.50 one. You walk in and there is a table with a good selection of juices, a couple of cereals, yoghurt etc. Then, there is plastic sliced bread and a toaster!!!! Are you kidding me? Make your own toast for £15, absolute joke. Then a self service hot breakfast, well I say hot but mine was stone cold, egg had a hard yolk and was swimming in fat and the sausages.......I give better quality ones to my dog! Self service, I have never had that in any B&B/hotel and would not complain if I was in a budget hotel but I wasn't and it certainly isn't mentioned on your website in which case I would have chosen room only. A VERY disappointing stay and I would not stay again nor would I recommend this hotel. I rate my experience as a £30 a night room not £100. I had a smashing weekend, sadly none of it was down to the hotel or the staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellou00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    124
    60
    60
    52
See reviews for
109
155
6
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

From the moment we walked into Marston farm and saw the marquee we knew we wanted to have our wedding there. Jan who looks after you was extreamly helpful and went through everything we asked for and kept us updated via email regulary. The price was also competitive and comes with chair covers which helps as other venues charge extra.
The days leading up to the Wedding are particularly stressful but after I dropped all the bits and bobs at the marquee the staff that were on were fantastic and went through eveything with me about what will happen on the day. They even think about the fact that the marquee can be damp without the heating on so they didn't put out the name cards and wedding breakfast menus until the morning in case they fold over.
We had a last minute emergency and needed an extra room and they just sorted it all out for us.
On the day all of the staff were so friendly and helpful especially Emma and her Mom (sorry can't remember her name) who ran around making sure everything ran smoothly. The bar and reception staff were friendly and helpful. There are some special suprises for you on the day but I won't spoil them for you.
We stayed in the four poster room and did have to pay an extra £50 for the night. It was a nice room but not very big and with us up all night partying we didnt spend much time in it, would have been nicer if this was included in the price.
Everything is packed away and left in the graden room for you to take home the morning after. They are so organised!!!!
Marianne is brilliant for marquee drapes and Martin Johnson the resident photographer.
We couldn't have wished for a nicer venue for the reception and would reccomend it to anybody for their Wedding.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emrich_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Came on a two night Groupon Deal. The staff were extremely friendly, nothing was too much trouble, our room was perfect with French door's in to the pleasant gardens. We ate both nights, (sat out side as the weather was glorious) not an extensive menu but the food was well cooked and tasty, and not over priced. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order, and good fresh produce (chef even did my husband fried bread).
The hotel dose lack some leisure facilities , we were very lucky that the weather was glorious, and we were able to walk along the busy canal each evening, had it not been there was nothing to do. A very good location for visiting the NEC, Stratford upon Avon, and Warwick. We would love to stay again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarstonFarm, General Manager at Brook Marston Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your positive feedback I have passed these on to my team especially chef and I am pleased your husband enjoyed his fried bread.
We finally have some good weather so all our guests can enjoy the hotels location, walks along the canal and our home cooked food in the courtyard.
As you mention the hotel is a good base for anyone visiting the NEC or wishing to explore the surrounding area as Warwick Castle and Stratford Upon Avon are nearby. Don’t forget Drayton Manor Park for the kids including the big ones.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future and please feel free to contact me personally to arrange this for you.

Kind Regards

Anthony Palmer
General Manager
01827872133
anthony.palmer@brook-hotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed here for a wedding in June 2013. The venue for the wedding itself and the reception was really good however the attitude of the staff on reception was pretty poor. Although I wasn't asked to leave payment details when booking online I did get a phone call asking me to contact them to confirm payment. As it was a late booking I didn't manage to return the call until the morning of the stay. On speaking to the receptionist it appeared that I was causing her an inconvenience and it was agreed that I would pay on arrival.
At the wedding it became apparent that we paid around £20 more than other guests who were staying. When queried with the staff the receptionist made out that it was our fault for booking online. The rooms were small. Bar expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bEd_BUg-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarstonFarm, General Manager at Brook Marston Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Firstly please accept my apologies for the lack of customer service from my reception team.
In order for me to investigate this further please can you email me the name the room was booked under and the date you stayed as from your Trip Advisor ID I am unable to work out when you stayed.
We do offer guests attending weddings or other functions a discounted rate. These are generally only available when booked directly with the hotel by telephone. However, if you have made the reservation via our website Brook Hotels we can amend this reservation at any time. If the booking has been made via a third party website then we would be unable to alter the rates that have been booked. Please do contact me as if it is the case and you have paid above the rate agreed for wedding guests then I will be able to refund the difference back to you.
Once again please accept my apologies and please be assured that I have discussed the importance of good customer service with my entire reception team.

Kind Regards

Anthony Palmer
General Manager
01827872133
anthony.palmer@brook-hotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sutton Coldfield hotels

East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My stay at this hotel was for an over night for work. On first approach you get the impression. Of country hotel which from the outside is lovely. But once inside the hotel decor leaves a lot to be desired. The hotel could do with the hotel inspector waving her magic wand over the inside of the hotel. Its stuck in the 80's. I have not seen wallpaper in the bar lounge and rooms. Like that since 1980 in my grandmother house. Come on guys even a quick paint job and brighten up with some white or magnolia would make a world of difference. The room was clean, but again so dated. My dinner left all to be desired. I ordered the chicken and ribs with chips! The ribs tasted like they had been left on the barbecue for longer than they should and the chicken was a mission to eat, but it was the chips...they where frazzled. They should never have been served like that. If it was just only the once you could perhaps say we'll ok, but there was another resident having a meal 5 minstrel after mine and his chips were the same, frazzled within an edge of their life. Then I thought ok I will have a cappuccino to finish off my half eaten dinner, to be told that the match is not working. Someone else wrote that this hotel has great potential. And the are right. Paint the inside, change the bed covers to a more modern look, update the flooring and replace the chief and you would have a great wee hotel. Also 4.50 for drink is a bit excessive. Recommend this hotel is a poor 3 star. Come guys you could do better.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LORRAINE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarstonFarm, General Manager at Brook Marston Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Lorraine G

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I was obviously disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your evening meal in the restaurant. The dish that you ordered is quite a popular dish and to date this is the first complaint we have received about this. I do wish that you had made me or my staff aware on the evening that you didn't completely enjoy your meal so that we could of offered to change for an alternative dish or have deducted this from your bill.
We are currently awaiting a part for the coffee machine which has been out of stock with the supplier I can appreciate this being frustrating as I enjoy a good cup of coffee myself.

We are currently decorating bedrooms, replacing beds and soft furnishings as we go. The rooms that have been decorated have painted walls as you suggest but I must point out that this is the first complaint I have received about the room you were allocated.

Thank you for your positive comments about the cleanliness of the hotel I know how important this is.

I do hope that this answers some of your concerns about the hotel and hope to welcome you back in the future so that you can see one of the decorated rooms
Kind Regards

Anthony Palmer
General Manager
01827872133
anthony.palmer@brook-hotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Secluded, older style, pleasant hotel, the room I stayed in was a good size & a good size bathroom too (no 36), have stayed on several occasions previously including having a room over the Parlour which can be a bit noisy if the bar is busy & the staircase up there should only be tackled by the young & fit. Good restaurant with a wide choice of evening meals available & the vegetarian breakfast was great. All round experience was excellent a good nights sleep although traffic noise from the M42 can easily be heard, there are great walks along the towpath right outside the hotel & a pub 5 minutes walk away.

Room Tip: Request one in the new block not over the bar !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 954ChrisS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarstonFarm, General Manager at Brook Marston Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your positive feedback I have passed these on to my team especially chef and I am pleased you enjoyed the vegetarian breakfast. I myself really enjoy the creamy tarragon mushrooms.
We are very fortunate that the majority of the hotels bedrooms are of a good size with equally good sized bathrooms as well.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future and please feel free to contact me personally to arrange this for you.

Kind Regards

Anthony Palmer
General Manager
01827872133
anthony.palmer@brook-hotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We had our wedding here and may I start with saying it was the best wedding I've ever been too and thats not just because it was ours. From the price to the staff to the facilities it was win win.
We dont get married everyday so all new to me and the staff helped fantasticially, they just advised to put everything together and they will sort and set out and they decorated and layed everything out just as I imagined if not better.
The staff rallyed round to make sure everything was spot on anything you asked they went out their way to do. Jan who helped organise the wedding was great so at ease with her.
I would recommend the resident photographer (Martin Johnson), DJ sos roadshow, Perfect day flowers and marianne for decorations in marquee. Honestly they were all fab and would recommend them to everyone. Word of advice always go with people who know their surroundings because they have confidence and it excels in their work.

Rooms were great also had the four poster room xxxx
Food was superb and couldnt fault it xx when you get married there they do couple of special things for you, I wont say I'll leave it a surprise but they make great photos xxx

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarstonFarm, General Manager at Brook Marston Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Heather H
Thank you for posting a very positive review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your wedding day with us at The Brook Marston Farm Hotel. I will share your positive comments with all concerned and I appreciate you not spoiling the surprises for any future couples that have chosen the hotel for their special day.
I am very fortunate that I have a dedicated team of staff who all understand the importance of ensuring that every bride and groom goes away having had an amazing day. We understand that each bride and groom have different ideas about their big day and we do our utmost to make this happen.
I wish you all the best for your married life together and look forward to welcoming you back to Brook Marston Farm Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Anthony Palmer
General Manager
01827872133
anthony.palmer@brook-hotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
4.7 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,648 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfie...
#9 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,460 reviews
4.1 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
2,166 reviews
2.2 mi away
Moxhull Hall
Moxhull Hall
#1 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
398 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belfry
The Belfry
#1 of 1 in Wishaw
1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Marston Farm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Marston Farm Hotel

Property: Brook Marston Farm Hotel
Address: Dog Lane | Bodymoor Heath, Sutton Coldfield B76 9JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Marston Farm Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th-century farmhouse is in quiet countryside on the Birmingham, close to the M42. It has free parking, a tennis court, a restaurant and a bar. The Brook Marston Farm Hotel is less than 2 miles from the Belfry Golf Resort and 10 miles from Birmingham International Airport and the NEC (National Exhibition Centre). It was once owned by Sir Robert Peel, former Prime Minister and founder of the police force. Hotel Rooms: 37. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HRS, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Brook Marston Farm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marston Farm Sutton Coldfield
Brook Marston Farm Hotel Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing