We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
Nearby Hotels
Brook Marston Farm Hotel(Sutton Coldfield)
US$95
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Hall Hotel & Spa(Sutton Coldfield)
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clover Spa & Hotel(Birmingham)
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Butler's Arms(Sutton Coldfield)
Moxhull Hall(Sutton Coldfield)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Royal Hotel(Sutton Coldfield)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,649)
Filter reviews
1,650 results
Traveller rating
343
395
349
297
266
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
343
395
349
297
266
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverlooking the lakeleisure facilitiesafternoon teagroupon dealsauna and steam roomhealth clubbuffet stylefull englishbirminghameventvenue
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,209 - 1,214 of 1,650 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2013

The first room I was given on arrival was 205. Right outside the window were all the kitchen vents - extremely noisy and with the smell of frying chips blasting right in. The polite receptionist exchanged this for room 223 - which is nowhere near as nice but at least isn't right on top of the kitchen. It is, however, on top of the boiler house and hence you are treated to the boiler fans kicking in and out periodically - but at least this is quieter than the kitchen fans!

Room 223 was pretty dingy and not the cleanest I have ever been in despite being recently decorated. There was debris behind the TV, several hairs on the floor and the toilet bowl was cracked. In addition, the toilet cistern was loose and the electric heating pads behind the mirror (stop the mirror steaming up!!!) were hanging loose and visible. Hot water supply was interesting. I have not heard noises like the bath tap since British Rail got rid of steam engines.

The bar is dingy and drinks are ludicrously expensive. £8 for a pint of bitter and a bottle of lager is a real rip-off, way above pub prices. Wifi was distinctly dodgy too.

Breakfast was not terribly good either. Staff were slow to bring tea and coffee and the buffet ran short of croissants, brown bread, marmalade and sausages. The staff had to be prompted to refill the various containers. Food quality itself was ok and the staff were polite but inefficient.

The billing process was poor too. They could not manage to put the two rooms I booked onto one invoice and to add insult to injury they did not produce my requested morning newspaper.

In short, this hotel fell down in far too many key accommodation and service areas to give it a decent score.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drooper901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your thoughts regarding your personal experience whilst staying at our hotel. I am sorry to learn you found your room cleanliness below expectation. Having checked the room in question, the debris referred may have been a fragment of wallpaper from the recent redecoration you highlighted, as part of our ongoing in house improvement programme. I concur there was a hair line crack in the toilet bowl, and this will be prioritised for replacement. Other minor points have since been addressed and I appreciate the opportunity to resolve these and further improve guest comfort.

We do endeavour to create an evening mood by dimming lights and placing candles on the bar tables, which most guests appreciate as they relax over refreshments. Bar prices are an interest point of view, as many of our visitors appreciate that the provision of table service, pleasant surroundings and range of drinks carries an appropriate cost, however we continue to review the tariff against comparable properties to ensure they are competitive. You will be aware of government and therefore supplier tax and cost increases, which have not been added to our existing tariff.

Our breakfast buffet is continually restocked to ensure freshness, and I am sorry to learn that on a particularly busy morning, this was not speedy enough for you. It is certainly not a problem to merge 2 accounts onto one invoice, and we will ensure colleagues that require this element of retraining are assisted immediately.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Yours faithfully

Fiona Lockyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

A group of 10 of us stayed this weekend, groupon offer, after 2 couples checking in, they where allocated the rooms as per previous trip advisor comments, they where not to,pleased about the rooms allocated,, when the rest of the group arrived and booked in, we asked if we where in the same area, yes, we asked politely also explaining our concerns. With a excellent communication from the staff member and polite in accommodating to move us all to other rooms, which where beautiful. May I say from our group to all at hotel, your service from reception, to bar, restaurant, spa, pool and breakfast where outstanding. Thank you for making our weekend special, especially afternoon tea, !!, we shall definitely return, well done.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your time in providing an insight into your recent experience at Ramada Sutton Coldfield, and we are most appreciative of your constructive and positive report.

In particular I am delighted that my reception team were able to accommodate your group in allocating rooms together for you and I have shared your kind comments with the whole team regarding the warm welcome and service they provided.

We were also happy to learn that the rooms met your expectations and you enjoyed the afternoon tea.

Be sure to follow us on our Facebook page to keep abreast of news and offers.

We look forward to being of future service.

Yours sincerely

Fiona Lockyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my husband during the Easter holidays using a Groupon voucher and it was money well spent.

The check-in staff were professional and polite and made us feel very welcome. Our room was lovely and warm. There is a lovely lake on site and the venue would be suitable for a wedding or a special party.

We used the Spa and pool which was warm and clean and had a really good chill-out there, before we went out for a meal at the Hungry Horse restaurant which was 5 minutes away.

The breakfast room was decorated elegantly and there was a vast choice of hot or cold food including porridge, cold meats and cheeses and several fruit juices. We were able to take our time and eat our breakfast leisurely without feeling rushed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millyanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramadasutton, Owner at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your recent positive stay at the Ramada Sutton Coldfield and for giving us such a glowing report. We were delighted to hear that you found all of our staff helpful and informative as we strive to ensure that all our guests feel welcome and valued.

We were also very pleased to hear that the bedroom met your expectations, you enjoyed the breakfast and were able to enjoy the use of our leisure facilities.

We look forward to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours sincerely


Fiona Lockyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Yes the hotel could do with a little updating but if that is what you need to take your time up with when away then you may as well have stayed at home! We have stayed in lots of hotels all over the world and found the Ramada Sutton Coldfield to be a fab little find. We came here on a voucher deal which included our stay, mini afternoon tea, spa facilites and full english breakfast and I could not fault a bit of it. It was a great place to relax, the bed was very comfortable, the afternoon tea was lovely, just enough so as not to spoil our meal out in the evening and the breakfast was amazing, so much choice. The pool, steam room etc. were lovely and very much enjoyed. The staff could not do enough for us and even though this was on a deal I would definetly pay to come back at the normal room rate. Well done Ramada and thanks for a lovely break!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo229r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your time in providing an insight into your recent experience at Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield and we are most appreciative of your constructive and positive report. In particular the team values your kind observation of their helpfulness and friendliness, and we will continue to ensure our guests receive a very warm welcome.

Thank you also for your endorsement that our recent voucher promotion offers excellent value for money and we are delighted that you enjoyed the mini afternoon tea and breakfast and that you were able to make good use of our leisure facilities.

Be sure to follow us on our Facebook page to keep abreast of news and offers and we
look forward to welcoming you again in future.

Yours sincerely

Fiona Lockyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Stayed for a single night on a friends wedding anniversary and first impressions were good. Was told to take the lift to the first floor to get to my room but I think that he reception team should forewarn you if you're staying in a room in the 300's when you have luggage as it took an age and a few lifts and stairs to get to it. I appreciate the building restrictions hence the odd layout but more information should be relayed before you set out on the journey to your room (take some liquid and a map). The room was a real disappointment, have stayed in many Ramada's and this was the worst, the room stank of stale linen and furniture was desperately in need of updating looking very worn and dated. The bed for a double was smaller than a queens and was two beds pushed together making it a very uncomfortable night. The view was awful overlooking a concrete square with a very small and dangerous looking balcony. The hotel team were the only redeeming feature of the stay who we're all very welcoming and hospitable but at £65 per night I should have took a taxi home.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Casinos an
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to record your thoughts on your recent experience at Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield.

I am sorry to hear that you found our unusual layout inconvenient. Whilst the building has over the years extended with stairs connecting areas, in most cases there are also lifts, and the furthest room, at a leisurely walk, takes no more than 2 minutes, although I do appreciate this is with a knowledge of our layout.

I am also sorry to learn that your room fell short of your expectations. Please be assured that our linen is freshly laundered and as a result of your feedback I have asked my housekeeping team to check all rooms in the 300s to try and identify the issue as you describe and ensure it meets our usual high standard.

We are a mid market three star property, and whilst I completely concur that aspects of the property would benefit from investment, as a team we are committed to warm, friendly hospitality, and work hard on the aspects within our control to ensure guests have a positive experience. I am gratified to hear that you found the team welcoming and hospitable.

We hope to be of service to you again in future.

Yours sincerely


Fiona Lockyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews