We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a good clean and modernisation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
derbys
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Needs a good clean and modernisation”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were given a room right at the rear of the hotel in Penns Mews which is separate to the hotel, the room was a great size but was in need of a damn good clean! I found 6 cobwebs that looked rather ancient, the mews are situated right next to the industrial bins that had rubbish strewn around the area, the hotel itself was spotless in public areas, the pool and spa were also very clean. The bar was impossible to get into for 3 of the nights we stayed as there were functions on which over spilled into the bar making it too overcrowded. Could have been better for the money we spent, another annoying problem was the room access cards never worked so every time we had to make the trip into the main hotel to get them reset. The radiators were all set on the highest setting and 2 couldn't be turned down which made the room unbearably hot.

Room Tip: Not sure if the rooms in the main hotel are cleaner but definitely don't request the mews
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monkeymayhem7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to note your observations following your recent visit to Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield and I am sorry that on this occasion we did not fully meet expectation.

On a positive note your comments around the hotel being spotless in public areas and the pool and spa being very clean, are very much appreciated.

As a team we are completely committed to offering warm hospitality, great food and facilities that are commensurate with a three star mid market property, and whilst I concur that investment in parts of the property would be welcome, our aim is for facilities to be clean and well maintained and it is with regret that your experience fell short on this occasion. As a precaution, all rooms are to be rechecked to ensure they meet our usual high standards. Regarding the radiators, we are slightly hampered by the fact our heating system is old and works in zones thereby only enabling us to control the heating in groups of roughly 30 rooms, with the heating being either on or off, leaving it to individuals to control the temperature in the rooms by the radiator thermostatic valve control. I am confident that had you brought the heating matter to the attention of the team, they would have been more than happy to resolve the issue to suit everybody's comfort.

The maintenance team have also been made aware of your observations around the industrial bins having rubbish strewn around the area, having checked the area today this was not found to be the case and suggest it was a matter of timing rather than neglect.

The key cards are sometimes susceptible to deactivating when being in close proximity to electrical devices such as mobile phones, Ipads even credit/debit cards and I apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you, however if you had contacted reception by phone they would have been happy to meet you at the room to resolve the problem.

All event/function rooms have their own bars for their parties/guests and the restaurant also has a quieter bar for residents and diners when the hotel is at full capacity. During your stay I gather the hotel was extremely busy and I do hope this did not spoil your stay overall.

Yours sincerely


Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    370
    314
    258
    211
See reviews for
321
438
37
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

My friend and I booked this venue for a weekend away as a treat as it had pool and spa facilities. Found the majority of the staff incompetent and unprofessional with the exception of the house keeper and leisure staff who were helpful and accommodating. We even left a night early and weren't asked why! The hotel does need modernising but found it clean and comfortable. Fantastic breakfast with lots to choose from, we weren't overly impressed with the evening meal and the fact that when I stated that my glass was dirty and the maitre d' took it away and got another one which he inspected and then because it must of been dirty we watched him breathe on it and clean it with a serviette and then give it to me, needless to say I didn't use it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Maxinek09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your thoughts regarding your personal experience whilst staying at our hotel recently and it is with regret that your experience with us was less than satisfying.

It is difficult for us to identify who you are from your report and it would be very much appreciated if you could contact the hotel direct, so that we may look into your findings further.


Yours sincerely


Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

After reading some of the reviews we weren't expecting too much but was pleasantly surprised. We stayed for two nights with the family and thought it was good value for money. Rooms were well decorated and the beds were very comfortable. Bathrooms were well laid hot with a great shower. Arrived in time to watch The Heineken Cup Final (Rugby) in the very comfortable bar and had a very tasty meal. The bar filled up for the Soccer Champions League Final and it was a very child friendly atmosphere. A bottle of wine was a reasonable £15. In the Leisure Complex the swimming pool was very child friendly. I also enjoyed the steam room and sauna. The breakfast was one of the best I've ever had in a hotel with proper (not tinned) tomatoes, great bacon and sausage and even black pudding. Lovely dining room too and very friendly attentive service. Will definitely return if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnkett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to note your observations following your recent family stay with us here, at Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield.

Guest feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilise your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. As a team we are committed to a warm, friendly hospitality and are delighted you found your room to your liking, enjoyed the bar food and breakfast and had the opportunity to watch the Rugby and make use of the leisure facilities.

We note you say if you are in the area again you would definitely return, so do be sure to take a moment to follow our hotel Facebook and Twitter accounts to hear of offers, team news and community events and remember you can also upgrade to an executive room, subject to availability, to guarantee lake or garden views.

We look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Yours sincerely


Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here to meet up with my family in May and we had a lovely time. We were a little worried with regards some of the reviews here before arrival. Yes some of the corridors, room fixtures and external areas were tired and in need of TLC, however this did not spoil our weekend. The staff (bar, restaurant, reception and leisure centre) all deserve a special mention; always helpful and friendly. The leisure facilities were great, we even played squash and the pool temperature, which some have criticised on here was ideal. I will definitely stay here again on the next family get together.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to note your positive experience following your recent stay at the Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield.

Your kind comments around the conduct of the staff is very much appreciated and we are all delighted you and your family had such a lovely time and were able to enjoy a game of squash and use the pool.

We look forward to being of service again to you on your next family get together and do be sure to take a moment to follow our hotel Facebook and Twitter accounts to hear of offers, team news and community events and remember you can also upgrade to an executive room, subject to availability, to guarantee lake or garden views

Yours sincerely

Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Attended a 50th birthday party in the Dorchester suite and I have to say would definitely stay here again. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the Guinness was one of the best I've ever tasted and I was far to busy enjoying myself to find fault with anything. Ok so the toilet seat in the room was broke but that's about it and a quick call to reception and it was fixed. So I do hope to be able to attend this great venue again 5 stars.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kerdangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to note your observations following your recent stay with us, whilst attending and celebrating a 50th birthday party, here, at Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield.

As a team we are committed to a warm, friendly hospitality and are delighted you found the staff extremely helpful and friendly. We work hard on the aspects within our control to ensure guests have a positive experience and note the team were able to address the shortcoming you encountered in the bathroom, effectively and efficiently and we thank you for acknowledging this was the case during your stay.

We really appreciate guest feedback and were pleased to learn you enjoyed your time with us, finding the Guinness to be one of the best ever tasted.

We note you say you hope to be able to attend our venue again, so be sure to take a moment to follow our hotel Facebook and Twitter accounts to hear of offers, team news and community events and remember you can also upgrade to an executive room, subject to availability, to guarantee lake or garden views.

We look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Yours sincerely

Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

The worst hotel I have ever stayed in!! For a ramada it should be a lot better than it is, the rooms look like they haven't been touched since the 80s! The windows are rotting and falling apart, the whole place just needs upgrading and brought up to proper ramada standard the only nice features of the hotel is reception area is nicely decorated and the breakfast is worth having but overall really disappointed

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jordan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your observations following your recent stay and on a positive note I am pleased you enjoyed breakfast and felt the reception area was a nice feature being nicely decorated.

Whilst I concur that some aspects of the hotel would benefit from investment, we are a 3 star mid-market hotel committed to ensuring rooms are clean and well maintained, and our team is friendly and welcoming. Guests arriving with a more luxurious expectation may be disappointed, however, what we have as shortcomings, we hope is made up for through efficient service, pleasant grounds, extensive free car parking, leisure club facilities and an easily accessible location.

We are a little perplexed by your reference to the windows rotting and falling apart as all windows have either metal frames or are double glazed. We would appreciate you contacting the hotel direct so that we can look into and understand this matter further.

Yours sincerely

Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sutton Coldfield hotels

Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed here for 3nights.rooms were ok. Need a massive makeover.look as if they havent been updated for years. Not as clean as it should be. Carpet dirty and spider webs in bathroom that look asif they ve been there since last summer.but the room served its purpose. Too wash and get your head down. Best part was the quality of food. Delicious , im not just talking about the breakfast. and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Always had a smile.they had Great manners. Great staff too be fair. Great function room for the wedding we went too in the mayfair sweet. Would not come back here randomly for no real reason.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryan_pavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your thoughts regarding your recent experience whilst staying at Birmingham Ramada, Sutton Coldfield.

On a positive note I would like to thank you for your observations around the conduct of the staff being helpful and friendly. I am also pleased to learn that you enjoyed the food and found the function room to your liking.

I was sorry to hear that you were disappointed by certain aspects in the room and it is with regret to learn that you found cobwebs in the bathroom and felt the carpet was dirty. Whilst I concur that some aspects of the hotel would benefit from investment, we are a 3 star mid-market hotel committed to ensuring rooms are clean and well maintained, and our team is friendly and welcoming. Guests arriving with a more luxurious expectation may be disappointed, however, what we have as shortcomings, we hope is made up for through efficient service, pleasant grounds, extensive free car parking, leisure club facilities and an easily accessible location.

Yours sincerely

Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
3.1 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,648 reviews
1.1 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,192 reviews
4.4 mi away
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
#8 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
Travelodge Birmingham Sutton Col...
#5 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
232 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield

Property: Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
Address: Penns Lane | Penns Lane Walmley, Sutton Coldfield B76 1LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield Hotel Sutton Coldfield
Ramada Hotel Sutton Coldfield
Ramada Sutton Coldfield
Sutton Coldfield Ramada
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing