We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Tired and disapointed after a 4 night stay. Humming kitchen fans going all night and wakened by heavy footsteps overhead at 5.30a.m. meant our stay in a room at rear of hotel spoilt our stay.
Although we had took advantage of a special offer - we did not see the best of this hotel. A previous visit a year ago had been lovely. Beautiful surroundings in parkland and close to town, is a good point. Room service (food) very expensive.

Room Tip: Avoid rear of hotel - floor 1 as it is above the kitchen extractor unit - running all night!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your thoughts regarding your personal experience whilst staying at our hotel recently and it is with regret that your experience with us was less than satisfying.

I am confident that had you brought the disturbance you experienced during your stay to the attention of the team, they would have been more than happy to resolve the issue to suit everybody's comfort, but again I am sorry for the shortcoming identified. I do hope you were able to take in the beautiful surroundings you refer to during your stay.


Yours sincerely



Fiona Lockyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,497)
There are newer reviews for Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

824 - 830 of 1,498 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Had a fabulous deal staying 2 nights b & b with evening meal on first night via superbreaks. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. Needed sometime to chill out and relax and this was the perfect venue. Set in a quiet location and close enough to get to other amenities should you need them.

The breakfast was superb, excellent choices and the evening meal menu was also good.

I take the comments on board that some of the common areas in the hotel were a bit tired and needed some TLC but on balance for what we paid we were more than happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joblues1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to note your observations following your recent stay with us here, at Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield.

I am delighted you had a pleasant experience and were able to chill out and relax, I also hope you were able to enjoy the lovely grounds during your stay.

May I take this opportunity to suggest that should you choose to stay at the hotel again, take a moment to follow our hotel Facebook and Twitter accounts to hear of offers, team news and community events. Do remember you can also upgrade to an executive room, subject to availability, to guarantee lake or garden views.

Yours sincerely

Fiona Lockyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel in a nice quiet location. This was our second visit and we stayed in 105 the same as before. This is a suite and it is spacious with a lovely outlook onto the lake. The room was a little tired compared to last time but it did not spoil our stay. The bathroom including the Japanese shower are a real highlight and add to the quality of the suite making the extra cost worthwhile. The leisure facilities are excellent and overall we enjoyed our stay and look forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to note your observations following your recent stay at Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield.

We note this was your second visit to the hotel and you stayed in the same guestroom as before. We always appreciate guest feedback and are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us overall and found the leisure facilities excellent.

When you are ready to book your third visit, may I take this opportunity to suggest you take a moment to follow our hotel Facebook and Twitter accounts to hear of offers, team news and community events. Do remember you can also upgrade to an executive room, subject to availability, to guarantee lake or garden views

We look forward to being of service to you again in the future

Yours sincerely


Fiona Lockyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Went for a family doo. The place could do with a good freshen up. The swimming pool area was very clean, and the halls and rooms etc, but could just do with a bit of jazz put into it. Also, some wooden bits here and there that need replaced. Didnt think it was worth what we payed.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachRobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to note your observations following your recent visit to the hotel.

I concur that whilst some aspects of the hotel would benefit from investment, we are a 3 star mid-market hotel committed to ensuring rooms are clean and tidy, which you acknowledge and we sincerely appreciate. Our team is also friendly and welcoming, guests arriving with a more luxurious expectation may be disappointed, however, what we have as shortcomings, we hope is made up for through efficient service, pleasant grounds, extensive free car parking, leisure club facilities and an easily accessible location.

We hope to be of service to you again and do take a moment to follow our hotel Facebook and Twitter accounts to hear of offers, team news and community events and remember you can also upgrade to an executive room, subject to availability, to guarantee lake or garden views.

Yours sincerely


Fiona Lockyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here with my wife and two boys aged 8 and 10, on arrival at the hotel, pleasantly greeted and check in was swift and easy. When we got to our room, what a shock, a whole sweet perfectly designed for a family, we had a large double room for the adults and two large sofa beds in a separate room for the boys, we all loved it, yes the fittings were tired, but it was comfortable and ideal for a family. The swimming pool was great and use of gym stuff a nice change.
Despite things like the tired furniture, we had an extremely relaxing and enjoyable weekend at this hotel. don't expect the Thistle, but for a very good price when we stayed it was unsurpassed for room, decent beds, big TVs and comfort, what else could you ask from a hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotspiper212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to note your positive experience following your recent family stay with us here, at Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield.

We are delighted you all enjoyed your time with us and found the family room to your liking and note you were able to also make use of the leisure facilities whilst with us. Your acknowledgement of a swift and pleasant check in is also very much appreciated.

Do take a moment to follow our hotel Facebook and Twitter accounts to hear of offers, team news and community events and remember you can also upgrade to an executive room, subject to availability, to guarantee lake or garden views.

We look forward to being of service to you in the future should you be in the area.


Yours sincerely


Fiona Lockyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were given a room right at the rear of the hotel in Penns Mews which is separate to the hotel, the room was a great size but was in need of a damn good clean! I found 6 cobwebs that looked rather ancient, the mews are situated right next to the industrial bins that had rubbish strewn around the area, the hotel itself was spotless in public areas, the pool and spa were also very clean. The bar was impossible to get into for 3 of the nights we stayed as there were functions on which over spilled into the bar making it too overcrowded. Could have been better for the money we spent, another annoying problem was the room access cards never worked so every time we had to make the trip into the main hotel to get them reset. The radiators were all set on the highest setting and 2 couldn't be turned down which made the room unbearably hot.

Room Tip: Not sure if the rooms in the main hotel are cleaner but definitely don't request the mews
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank monkeymayhem7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to note your observations following your recent visit to Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield and I am sorry that on this occasion we did not fully meet expectation.

On a positive note your comments around the hotel being spotless in public areas and the pool and spa being very clean, are very much appreciated.

As a team we are completely committed to offering warm hospitality, great food and facilities that are commensurate with a three star mid market property, and whilst I concur that investment in parts of the property would be welcome, our aim is for facilities to be clean and well maintained and it is with regret that your experience fell short on this occasion. As a precaution, all rooms are to be rechecked to ensure they meet our usual high standards. Regarding the radiators, we are slightly hampered by the fact our heating system is old and works in zones thereby only enabling us to control the heating in groups of roughly 30 rooms, with the heating being either on or off, leaving it to individuals to control the temperature in the rooms by the radiator thermostatic valve control. I am confident that had you brought the heating matter to the attention of the team, they would have been more than happy to resolve the issue to suit everybody's comfort.

The maintenance team have also been made aware of your observations around the industrial bins having rubbish strewn around the area, having checked the area today this was not found to be the case and suggest it was a matter of timing rather than neglect.

The key cards are sometimes susceptible to deactivating when being in close proximity to electrical devices such as mobile phones, Ipads even credit/debit cards and I apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you, however if you had contacted reception by phone they would have been happy to meet you at the room to resolve the problem.

All event/function rooms have their own bars for their parties/guests and the restaurant also has a quieter bar for residents and diners when the hotel is at full capacity. During your stay I gather the hotel was extremely busy and I do hope this did not spoil your stay overall.

Yours sincerely


Fiona Lockyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My friend and I booked this venue for a weekend away as a treat as it had pool and spa facilities. Found the majority of the staff incompetent and unprofessional with the exception of the house keeper and leisure staff who were helpful and accommodating. We even left a night early and weren't asked why! The hotel does need modernising but found it clean and comfortable. Fantastic breakfast with lots to choose from, we weren't overly impressed with the evening meal and the fact that when I stated that my glass was dirty and the maitre d' took it away and got another one which he inspected and then because it must of been dirty we watched him breathe on it and clean it with a serviette and then give it to me, needless to say I didn't use it.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Maxinek09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your thoughts regarding your personal experience whilst staying at our hotel recently and it is with regret that your experience with us was less than satisfying.

It is difficult for us to identify who you are from your report and it would be very much appreciated if you could contact the hotel direct, so that we may look into your findings further.


Yours sincerely


Fiona Lockyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
3.1 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,712 reviews
1.0 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,227 reviews
4.4 mi away
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
#8 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
Travelodge Birmingham Sutton Col...
#5 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
245 reviews
5.9 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
3.3 mi away
The Belfry
The Belfry
#1 of 1 in Wishaw
2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield

Address: Penns Lane | Penns Lane Walmley, Sutton Coldfield B76 1LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range: £44 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield Hotel Sutton Coldfield
Ramada Hotel Sutton Coldfield
Ramada Sutton Coldfield
Sutton Coldfield Ramada
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing