We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired decor, uncomfortable beds” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tired decor, uncomfortable beds”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

The family rooms are in a separate block with adequate space for a family of four. Whilst the double bed is adequate, the double sofa bed and single rollaway beds have very thin mattresses which do nothing to prevent the bed frame/support bars from jutting through and making for a very uncomfortable experience.

The hotel decor is very tired and this 3* doesn't compare especially well against the likes of Premier Inn, other than for having a hotel pool/spa. The hotel is located within pleasant grounds and has plenty of parking onsite

The restaurant dinner menu is comparable to a pub menu and the food was of average quality, with the exception of the steak which was very tough. The breakfast buffet is very good with freshly cooked hot breakfasts of good quality.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johndwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to note your observations following your recent stay at Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield.

Please be assured that our aim is to not only meet but exceed expectations and I am sorry if on this occasion we fell short in part. Our team is genuinely friendly and accommodating and strives to ensure each guest experience is the best that it can be. I am pleased you found the grounds pleasant and parking plentiful and enjoyed your breakfast, however it was disappointing to learn in your opinion you found the dinner menu to be just average.

I appreciate you sharing your observations and advising of your findings regarding the mattresses and apologise for the shortcomings identified, thank you for bringing this to our attention.


Yours sincerely


Fiona Lockyer
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    358
    298
    242
    201
See reviews for
299
421
35
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed for two nights with the kids in two twin rooms. The rooms were a little dated and my bed was really creaky but they were clean. The worst points the paper thin walls and the heavy closing doors didn't make for a decent nights sleep. The lesuire centre was good however the pool was a little on the cold side and the hot tub wasn't much warmer than the pool. Breakfast was standard buffet stuff and was fine. Check in and check out was quick and efficent think it was Nichola who was friendly and efficient. Overall I would say it was value for money and would stay again but only at that price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilH_121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to note your observations following your recent family visit to the hotel.

I concur that whilst some aspects of the hotel would benefit from investment, we are a 3 star mid-market hotel committed to ensuring rooms are clean and tidy, which you acknowledge and we sincerely appreciate. I was pleased to learn you found the check in and out efficient and our staff friendly. What we have as shortcomings, we hope is made up for through efficient service, pleasant grounds, extensive free car parking, leisure club facilities and an easily accessible location.

We hope to be of service to you and your family again so do take a moment to follow our hotel Facebook and Twitter accounts to hear of offers, team news and community events and remember you can also upgrade to an executive room, subject to availability, to guarantee lake or garden views.


Yours sincerely


Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

The hotel is lovely on the outside as is the reception area, bar and restaurant. The customer service and food in these areas could not be faulted, everyone was very welcoming and professional. Its when you step out of the lift that you notice that things start to deteriorate, yes corridors and rooms are dated but this doesn't bother me as long as its clean and this area of the hotel didn't feel or smell clean. Its the small attention to detail like edges along corridors, and the lift it self had food on the floor and grime on the door opening. Our room had no valance on the creaky bed base and the windows and curtains were grubby. Things may be old but they can still be clean and the general house keeping or lack of it let this hotel down. The pool area and spa were ok but again needs a good deep clean in parts along with the stair rails and windows along the glass domed walk way on route to the spa.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to note your observations following your recent stay at Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield and I am sorry that on this occasion we did not meet with full expectation.

Whilst I concur that some aspects of the property would benefit from investment we are a 3 star mid-market hotel committed to ensuring rooms are clean and well maintained, and our team is friendly and welcoming. Guests arriving with a more luxurious expectation may be disappointed however, what we have as shortcomings, we hope is made up for through efficient service, pleasant grounds, free car parking, extensive leisure club facilities and an easily accessible location. Regarding the cleanliness of the lift and leisure areas in particular I am sure these issues were an oversight, but nevertheless clearly unacceptable and this matter will be taken up with the public area team.

On a positive note we are delighted you found the reception, bar and restaurant appealing as well as the approach and surrounds to the hotel and found everyone to be welcoming and professional. We would like to be of service to you again, do take a moment to follow our hotel Facebook and Twitter accounts to hear of offers, team news and community events and remember you can also upgrade to an executive room, subject to availability, to guarantee lake or garden views.


Yours sincerely


Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Just returned from a stay here after getting a groupon voucher for one evening with mini afternoon tea and breakfast for a very good deal. Upon arrival we were greeted with helpful staff and given our keycards...then to find the room ! , the place is like a maze ! and takes some getting used to ! ...we got to the room . Clean , tidy and did the job ! . We then went for afternoon tea and got the upgrade for £6 more and it was lovely and more than enough to see us for the rest of the day .
We then went down to the pool with our son ( 16months) and we had a really nice time , the pool was a tad cold and looked a bit tired in places , but we enjoyed it .
The bed in the evening was comfy , and a good size , and the room was comfortable and not hot so we got a really good nights sleep .

In the morning there was a late checkout which was great so we went to breakfast first , and were very happy with the huge selection on offer ! this did us all day !

We then went back to the pool and spent the morning here , before checking out and leaving the hotel .

Car parking is plenty
staff helpful and friendly
breakfast was great
facilities nice

Hotel is now a little dated and looking run down in parts , but in the main we had a nice stay and would return for the money paid !

Thanks to the staff

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vwnutant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your time in providing an insight into your recent stay at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, and we are most appreciative of your constructive report.

We are delighted to learn that you found your room to your liking and enjoyed your afternoon tea experience, followed by a visit to the leisure club with your son, and to round off the days activities, enjoying a good nights sleep, perfect! We are also pleased to hear you took advantage of the late check out, having had breakfast first, setting you up for your trip back home.

Please do take a moment to follow our hotel Facebook and Twitter accounts to hear of offers, team news and community events. We look forward to seeing you all again in the near future.

Yours sincerely


Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Decided to stay over as we were attending the hotel for a 60th Birthday party.
Our room was spacious and clean. Had everything we needed, hair dryer,decent TV etc.Nice big bathroom. A couple of armchairs to relax on, not everyone wants to sit on the bed. Even had an iron and ironing board in the room, surprised me as you have to ask for these at other hotels. The hotel is a bit dated, but that didn't bother us. The only complaints were a very creaky bed, and the curtains didn't quite fit, allowing too much light in.
The hotel is a bit of a maze, maybe they could hand out a room plan with the keys..
Breakfast was very good, nice quality food, good choices. The staff were polite and happy to assist.There were also plenty of staff in the dininig area, cleaning and restocking tables quickly. No dirty plates left on tables or missing cuttlery.
Easy check in and out, reception staff happy to arrange a taxi for us.
All in all, we would use the hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lred233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your positive recent experience following your one nights stay with us here at Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield.

I am delighted you had a pleasant experience and would choose to stay again. I do hope you enjoyed the party and trust the creaky bed and curtains didn’t affect your experience overall. I also hope, time permitting, you were able to take a walk around the lovely grounds whilst you were here.

May I take this opportunity to suggest that when you wish to stay at the hotel again, take a moment to follow our hotel Facebook and Twitter accounts to hear of offers, team news and community events. Do remember you can also upgrade to an executive room, subject to availability, to guarantee lake or garden views.

We look forward to being of service to you and your family again soon.

Yours sincerely


Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

I found this hotel through a wowcher deal and the main pull factor was the relatively cheap price.
Check in was very good in fairness; we had arrived early but were told that our room was ready so we could get settled sooner rather than later. The girl on reception was very friendly and helpful.
She gave us directions to our room however, even though we took the lift, there were stairs we had to go up so that may be an issue for disabled customers and would be worth mentioning on booking.

The room was clean enough and had all the basics (except biscuits with the hot drinks!) However, if you are looking for a romantic getaway, this would not be the place of choice. The decor is extremely outdated and other reviews are right when they say that it is like being back in the 80s.

Our biggest issue with our room is the paper thin walls. We had a couple in the room next to us and we could hear word-for-word what they were saying at some points (not too impressive at 6 am) nor were we best pleased to hear one of them snoring as we tried to get to sleep the night before. Many of the floor boards creak and from our experience, the general respect for guests who may be sleeping was not present by other guests who talked loudly down the corridors both at night and in the morning.

Breakfast was average, the hot buffet wasn't really hot enough and some items not replaced as quickly as they could have been. Overall, a decent choice though.

We also had the mini afternoon tea included in our deal and would like to praise Sarah for her brilliant customer service. The food was OK, cakes were bought in rather than made on sight I am sure. Again, the outdated decoration stretched to the bar room where we had this served. To sum up the afternoon tea, it was basic with zero elegance but does what it says on the tin.

The leisure club was enjoyable with a jacuzzi, sauna and a swimming pool (which was a size to walk around rather than swim in.) Again, the staff were nice and helpful enough.

We did mention our poor nights sleep to the girl on reception upon late check-out where a robotic apology was delivered but I assume that it is a regular cause for concern.

Parking facilities are fantastic.

In summary, we wouldn't return but if you are looking for a no-frills hotel where sleep may not be a priority and can get a good price then this would be the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Ask to be at the far-end of a corridor and specify definitely away from the lift and any stairs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria_Kate_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Guest


Thank you for your observations following your recent stay here at the Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield.

Our aim is always to check guests in and out as quickly and efficiently as possible and thank you for acknowledging this was the case in your experience. I was also delighted that you enjoyed your time in the leisure club and were able to take afternoon tea designed for one or two people and includes a selection of finger sandwiches made up of 3 different fillings, 2 cakes, a scone with strawberry jam and clotted cream and a pot of tea, or cafetiére of coffee.

You mention availability access for guests being available, this information is detailed on our website under “access and facilities” and gives a summary and a detailed overview of access, alongside general information and Internal route details for all guests.

Whilst I concur that some aspects of the hotel would benefit from investment, we are a 3 star mid-market hotel committed to ensuring rooms are clean and well maintained, and our team is friendly and welcoming. Guests arriving with a more luxurious expectation may be disappointed, however, what we have as shortcomings, we hope is made up for through efficient service, pleasant grounds, extensive free car parking, which you kindly acknowledge, leisure club facilities and an easily accessible location. The original hall dates back to the 1700's so maybe the odd squeak of floor boards can be explained by age.

Please be assured that our team is genuinely friendly and accommodating and strives to ensure each guest experience is the best that it can be, I am confident that had you brought the matter of disturbed sleep to the attention of the team at the time rather than upon check out, they would have been more than happy to resolve the issue immediately to everyones satisfaction and the amenities trays should be replenished daily with additional supplies of ea/coffee/shampoo/biscuits readily available on request but again I am sorry for the shortcomings identified

Yours sincerely


Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sutton Coldfield hotels

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

The staff are very helpful front of house very good Daniel room service couldn't do enough very clean as working away from home found staff very friendly even helped with packed lunch food top class so good going back on sunday 24/08/14 check out loyalty card

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your honest and positive experience following your recent visit here at the Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield.

As a team we are committed to warm, friendly hospitality, and work hard on the aspects within our control to ensure our guests have a positive experience. Thank you for acknowledging this was the case during your visit and we are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us. We hope your return trip was as successful and very much welcome serving you again in the future.

Do take a moment to follow our hotel Facebook and Twitter to hear of offers, team news and community events.

Yours sincerely


Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
3.1 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel
Premier Inn Birmingham North (Su...
#4 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
1.0 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Belfry
The Belfry
#1 of 1 in Wishaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
4.4 mi away
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
#8 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
5.9 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
#1 of 1 in Aldridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield

Property: Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
Address: Walmley Penns Lane | Penns Lane Walmley, Sutton Coldfield B76 1LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield Hotel Sutton Coldfield
Ramada Hotel Sutton Coldfield
Ramada Sutton Coldfield
Sutton Coldfield Ramada
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing