We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding venue (and hotel)”
Review of Moxhull Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moxhull Hall
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We, parents of the groom, couldn't have hoped for a better wedding venue. Fabulous gardens for photos. Everything was 5* from drinks and canapes at 1 to the delicious meal at 2.30 to the 5 o'clock cake and punch reception and on until 12 o'clock. The staff were fabulous. Very many thanks to the kitchen staff and chef for the meal and Gary and the team for their care and attention.
We stayed in The Cottage with sister and brother in law. Sitting room, conservatory/dining room, decking with chairs. Two bedrooms and a fabulous bathroom. Wish we could have stayed longer.
** If there is a couple who don't mind sharing a bathroom then the cottage is where to stay. Amazing value for so much space!**
We had coffee on the decking at 7.30am listening to birdsong and enjoying the sunshine before walking over for breakfast. (Although we could have done with more milk as we were 4 people.)
Breakfast was anything you wanted from simple self-service continental to full English.
The surroundings are lovely. The gardens are amazing. Well done Moxhull.
I cannot stress how wonderful this place is for a wedding... And how lovely the cottage is for a stay.

Room Tip: Two couples travelling together may want the Cottage. At £155 for two couples with a shared bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siouxsie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

What a lovely review - thank you! We are delighted that you enjoyed your son's wedding and that your stay was so pleasurable. We are not 5* of course, but if you felt that the service, accommodation and surroundings were this standard then that is better than any 'hotel inspectors' review to us as we are so focused on pleasing the customer. The cottages are a relatively new addition to the accommodation we offer and have been really popular as they provide more space and a garden to enjoy. We hope the happy couple were as pleased as you - please thank them from us for choosing Moxhull Hall!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

When I first went to Moxhull Hall Hotel with my partner I had no idea what to expect. As soon as I saw the hotel it seemed right for our upcoming wedding. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and the car parking for the guests was more than adequate.
We had an initial meeting with Gary who was obviously very experienced in wedding arrangements and he soon got a good idea of the type of wedding that we wanted. From our initial meeting right up to the day after our wedding nothing seemed too much trouble for all of the staff at the hotel.
The rooms at the hotel is very good and comfortable and are available for a single person through to a good sized family.
The standard of the food is exceptional and all of the guests commented on its quality.
On the day of our wedding the weather was a bit mixed and the ceremony was all set to be held indoors but at the last minute the sun appeared and without any problems the ceremony was switched to the gardens without any hitch.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting the best possible venue for their wedding as the attention given to us and our wedding day was exceptional

Thankyou to everyone at Moxhull Hall

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcfrobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Congratulations again on your wedding - we are so pleased it went the way you hoped it would. These days, we know that couples (quite rightly) hunt far and wide to find the right venue for them and we take the responsibility of being 'the chosen one' very seriously. Most important to us is that anyone who walks through our doors feels well looked after & we deliberately employ staff who deliver a service where 'nothing is too much trouble'. Gary will be thrilled that you were happy! Hope to see you again - thank you for posting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Our Civil Partnership Was on the 15th August 2013. All we both can say was what an amazing day we had. Right from the start to finish Gary and the rest of the staff were fab and could not do enough for you. They all made our day so special and nothing was too much trouble for them. We got married on calliopes garden and it was lush. Canopes and drinks on the lawn were a good touch and the marquee really makes the day so special. Thank you Gary and the team for making it so special and we will be back soon to the restaurant.
Thanks again

Aaron and Gary

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Aaron & Gary

We are delighted to hear from you & knowing that you enjoyed your special day is great to hear! There are a so many elements to making the day come together -the food, surroundings, accommodation, ambience and most of all the service. If we got this right for you we couldn't be happier & hope you will always treasure your memories of Moxhull Hall. We'll look forward to welcoming you back to the restaurant!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We had our wedding at Moxhull on 21st July. From our initial meeting with Andreas we knew this place was something really special. On the day everything went perfectly, tony guided us through the day effortlessly and put us at ease. The ceremony was outside in Calliopes garden which is beautiful, it is easy to think that you are abroad somewhere in a tropical garden it is so peaceful and intimate. The gardens are beautiful and make perfect photo opportunities. The marquee was decorated beautiful, the service from the waiting staff was faultless and the food was delicious, hot and plentiful. Our guests commented on the generous size of the meals. The evening was food was equally as good, we had a hog roast, thank you tony for kindly providing cones of chips too! the venue is stunning. The bridal suite is huge and the bathroom, amazing! breakfast the next morning was relaxed, a tasty full english in the beautiful restaurant. We had lots of comments on what a lovely day it was and although it isn't cheap it is well worth every penny and I would do it again tomorrow if I could! we'll back for a meal in the restaurant very soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vemula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkalavanas, Manager at Moxhull Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Vemula it's lovely to hear from you - thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. Needless to say we are thrilled with it! Caliope's garden is such a special place to make your vows - as you say, when you are there you feel like you could be anywhere in the world as it seems so intimate and cut away from everything. The food on offer here is often commented on and we are pleased it leaves a lasting impression on people - our team of chefs are so dedicated and creative - no-one leaves hungry! We wish yo congratulations again & thank you for allowing us to share such an important day with you! Will look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Once we arrive the owner was very friendly and made sure all our needs were met. It was quiet and very stylish. we used the restaurant where the food was excellent, we said we would like to go for a walk between main and desert and this was not a problem

Room Tip: we stayed in an apartment very room. then walked through the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OJ1273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Hello OJ1273 - so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us - thank you for taking the trouble to post your review. As a small, independent hotel, we are very 'hands on' owners and we try to do all we can to accommodate our guests, whatever their requests may be. Our style is professional but friendly and flexible - so if we managed this for your we are happy & hope you will come back and visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We visited with a party of twelve for a meal and it is always difficult to find somewhere where you can sit a group of that size comfortably. This was great, we haven't eaten here before and were really pleased with the quality of the food, from a set price menu. My steak was fantastic as was the lamb which I also tried. Really good value for very high quality offering. Service was excellent and staff very friendly. This was a great evening and I would certainly recommend especially for a big group.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Dear James D

Thank you so much or your lovely feedback. We are so glad that you felt Moxhull Hall offered value and quality.

We work hard at trying to get the balance between the two just right and your feedback reassures us that we are on the right path.

Thank you again and we are so glad you enjoyed your evening with us. We hope we see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My daughter got married on July 26th 2013. Her wedding planner Tony had been absolutely fantastic and had reassured the nervous families every step of the way. The day exceeded all expectations and could not have been better. Tony, Harriet and the rest of the staff were absolutely amazing. The venue is truly spectacular but the quality and service of the staff is even better.If you get chance to book this for your wedding please do, you will not regret it. The only thing Tony said he couldn't gurantee was the weather, which turned out to be perfect too. So maybe he can.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haydn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

What a lovely review - thank you so much for posting. Weddings are such a special occasion and we take the responsibility of hosting them as a huge responsibility and a true honour. Our management team, are such an asset to us as we know they do everything humanly possible to ensure people have the day they dream of. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your day & we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
2.1 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,235 reviews
2.6 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,734 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
862 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Belfry
The Belfry
#1 of 1 in Wishaw
2,041 reviews
8.1 mi away
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moxhull Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moxhull Hall

Address: Holly Lane, Sutton Coldfield B76 9PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#1 Family Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#2 Business Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range: £123 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moxhull Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moxhull Hall is a beautiful Victorian mansion, set in 8 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens. It is the perfect venue for hosting weddings and a unique place for conferences, restaurant dining or overnight stays.Privately owned, the place is alive with warmth, hospitality and individual style. Original grandeur alongside modern, contemporary design gives Moxhull Hall a personality all of its own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moxhull Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moxhull Hall Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing