We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Wedding at Moxhull!”
Review of Moxhull Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moxhull Hall
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Certificate of Excellence
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“My Wedding at Moxhull!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Where can I start...
My husband and I were married at the wonderful Moxhull Hall on the 29th September 2013.
We were lucky enough to be married outside in the beautiful sunken garden, the surroundings were stunning and romantic, we enjoyed a drinks reception on the terrace area which was just perfect, then our wedding breakfast was enjoyed by all in the stunning marquee.
The food is A class, all of our guests commented what an amazing menu and how the food was " the best they have ever had at a wedding"! It was enjoyed that much by one of our guests that he went straight round to recpetion and attempted to book his wedding there!
Tony was outstandfing as were all of the team, I wish I could marry there every week!
Thanks a milliom, you made a girls wedding dreams come true!
Mrs Gray.

Room Tip: All are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Well Nicola, we couldn't be happier if we made your dreams come true! So glad to hear you enjoyed your wedding day so much. Yes, getting married outside in the lovely sunken garden truly does make a magical setting for such a special moment. We're really lucky to have a fantastic team who are dedicated to making sure the bride and groom, their family and friends all get looked after, well fed and leave us with many happy memories of Moxhull Hall. Really pleased to hear this was the case for you and your wedding party. Tony and Gary will be thrilled that you enjoyed yourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    38
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
117
111
12
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I have many experiences to share about Moxhull Hall as we started going there around 6 years ago. My overall rating is a reflection of every occasion, meals with friends, family, children and most importantly our wedding in 2008.
This venue is everything and more. Every member of staff have been polite and nothing is too much. The food is superb, the quality is there as well as being good sized portions. For those that have never been its a hotel/restaurant that has high end class with a very welcoming atmosphere that makes you feel comfortable.
It was these qualities that made us choose it for our wedding. It's couldn't have been any more perfect.
Andreas and his staff help give your perfect experience. With them in charge of our day we worried about nothing.
Since our wedding we have continued to return, as have our guests (who still talk about our wedding to this day). Can not fault anything. I'm amazing anyone can. I guess the saying is true, you can not please everyone!

Room Tip: Fitness centre/pool is not applicable accidental rating I can not delete
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellysim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Kellysim it's lovely to receive your wonderful comments about your many visits to Moxhull Hall and we couldn't be more delighted that you've enjoyed coming to us time and time again. One of the 'perks of the job' for us is the relationships we are able to build with guests, many of whom start out getting married here and who love coming back whenever they can. Our regular guests, like yourselves, are often our biggest ambassadors and we take that as a huge compliment, especially as it's a big feat to live up to the memories of someone's wedding day on subsequent visits. We hope you'll have lots more opportunities to come and see us - we'll look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Our daughter Laura married Mike at Moxhull Hall on 27th September 2013.They had the service in the sunken garden which was perfect.Gary and all the staff were exceptional.Everything was superb food accommodation gardens and the marquee for the evening reception.It was a dream wedding.We had a few changes to make at the last minute and Gary was so helpful and efficient.
Would highly recommend.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
It's wonderful to hear from you and thrilled that you enjoyed Laura's wedding so much. Yes, our secret garden really is a magical setting for civil ceremonies - I know couples have their hearts set on getting married outdoors & it can sometimes be a close call because of the weather - so it's great that this was possible for you - it's part of the wedding which is most memorable I think. Gary and all the team at Moxhull are dedicated to doing everything possible to ensure the day is truly special for everyone. Really pleased you felt it was. Thanks for posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

We visited the restaurant at this hotel for a family birthday meal as a group of six. We were extremely well looked after from the moment we arrived with speedy service of pre dinner drinks to when we left. The restaurant is very nicely decorated and lit and the tables are a sensible distance apart. The menu offered a wide range of interesting dishes and had the added advantage of being fixed price for either two or three courses with a small premium for some dishes such as the excellent fillet steak one of our party had. We had quite a range of dishes including smoked salmon, pork loin, chicken all of which were superb. The wine list offered a great range of good value wines. Service throughout was friendly and efficient. We will certainly be going back soon.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank bobwhitaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
We are so pleased to receive your comments & really happy that you and your party had such a positive experience of our restaurant. Our chef's are dedicated and passionate about food and we aim for a menu which will satisfy all tastes. Really glad you felt the service was 'friendly and efficient' as that's what we try to achieve- we do not want to be a fine dining restaurant - just a comfortable place, where people get good food for a fair price and feel well looked after. Look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Our son's wedding reception in August was held at Moxhull. We had viewed the hotel before the wedding and also had a 'tasting session' in the restaurant. We were expecting an excellent day on the basis of our initial encounter and we were not disappointed. The organisation was first class, all the staff polite and helpful, and the food excellent. The reception was held in the marquee which is perfect for weddings. The grounds are very attractive with many features for photographs. We stayed in a room in the main hotel and this was spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was plentiful and cooked to order. Overall a top wedding venue which we would highly recommend. My only suggestion to the management would be to have a 'real ale 'option available on venue nights!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Villan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments - we are delighted that you enjoyed your son's wedding so much. It's such a special day for everyone - especially the couple's parents - so we are really pleased that you felt happy with day ...and with us! We have considered the 'real ale' option in the past but decided and trialed it a couple of times but unfortunately there was not enough demand for it and therefore too much wasted. We therefore felt the bottled ale was the best option. We hope the happy couple are enjoying married life and we hope to see them and you again at Moxhull Hall. Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

They got everything right - service, food, drinks, decor and setting - lovely! Would definitely go again...they didn't rush us or hover...but they were attentive and friendly - they made us feel welcome. Stunning food beautifully presented...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalizaStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thanks for reviewing us and for the positive feedback. We certainly do try to 'get everything right' so we're glad you think did! Our aim is to create an experience which feels special yet without being to formal or stuffy. We think people have the best time when they are relaxed, well looked after ... & of course, well fed! Will look forward to you coming back! x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We attended the wedding of our friends daughter yesterday.The day was excellent the civil ceremony took place in the sunken garden that was lovely ( my only comment is that the pavilion restricted the view of the couple). The whole venue and experience was excellent and nothing was to much trouble for the staff who were both helpfull and welcoming.
We had an over night stay in the courtyard and the room was very comfortable and the facilitates excellent, breakfast was also of a very high standard.
Our over all experience was extremely good and I would highly recommend this as an first class wedding venue.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Hi Denise S

Glad to hear you enjoyed the wedding you attended and were pleased with your stay with us. It's great to hear from wedding guests as they can review things from a different perspective from the couples getting married. When we hold a wedding we are very conscious not only of giving the bride and groom a day to remember but all their invited family and friends too. When couples come on their wedding day, of course they have been many times before and to an extent already know they like the venue, staff, service etc. Their guests are seeing us often for the first time so if we can leave a good impression on them for the short time they are with us then we know we are on the right track.

In reference to the wedding gazebo, we were led by the authorities as to the dimensions it needed to be but I think you are right, ideally it needed to be slightly higher. We're glad it didn't spoil your enjoyment of the day.

Thanks so much for your review. We hope we'll see you back at Moxhull Hall again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
2.1 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,171 reviews
2.6 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,611 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
2,804 reviews
2.2 mi away
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
#8 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
458 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Belfry
The Belfry
#1 of 1 in Wishaw
1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moxhull Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moxhull Hall

Property: Moxhull Hall
Address: Holly Lane, Sutton Coldfield B76 9PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#2 Business Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Moxhull Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moxhull Hall is a beautiful Victorian mansion, set in 8 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens. It is the perfect venue for hosting weddings and a unique place for conferences, restaurant dining or overnight stays.Privately owned, the place is alive with warmth, hospitality and individual style. Original grandeur alongside modern, contemporary design gives Moxhull Hall a personality all of its own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Moxhull Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moxhull Hall Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing