We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moxhull Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moxhull Hall
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We have used Moxhull Hall twice now (May 2014 & May 2013) for a very large and important function for our business. On both occasions Andreas, Gary and all the staff at Moxhull Hall have gone above and beyond to help in any way they can. Not only is Moxhull great value for such an outstanding and special venue but the level of service that is received is second to none.
The marquee is just perfect for large business functions and looks amazing at night.
We have only had great comments from our clients regarding Moxhull, in particular the quality of the food and the outstanding service. We would highly recommend Moxhull Hall for any occasion.
Thank you Andres, Gary and the team

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hello MadelineR and thank you so much for taking the trouble to post your review. We are delighted that your business function went so well last year and that you returned this year too and were again pleased. As you can probably see from other reviews here, we are primarily known as a wedding venue but the nature of Moxhull Hall lends itself to also providing something other than the usual business hotel setting for conferences and other corporate events. Offering a professional yet friendly service to all our guests is of paramount importance to us - so we're happy to hear you felt we were 'outstanding'. Hope to welcome you back again for another successful event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    35
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
110
108
12
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have visited at Moxhull Hall a number of times between booking our Wedding in February 2013 and getting married last month. Every time we go, we are amazed by the quality of the food and the friendliness of the staff. We stayed for Valentine's Night this year in the courtyard and the rooms were lovely, but the extra space in the main house makes it worth the upgrade. The food is incredible value for money, and always wonderful.

Our wedding day went so smoothly and so many people commented on how wonderful the venue was, especially the food (yes, I know it's the third time, but it was delicious) and the staff. Nothing was ever too much trouble at any point during the whole process and we were always made to feel special, which can't have been easy when there must have been 5 other weddings that week. The grounds were beautiful. We were very lucky to have the best weather so far this year, and the drinks reception was so relaxing (for our guests - we were busy with photos) and Moxhull Hall was the perfect setting for this. Quite a few guests took a stroll around the grounds before leaving after breakfast.

We can't wait to go back. As we are no longer having the excuse of planning meetings to have a meal there, we may just have to return for our 1 month anniversary or just to celebrate the weekend! We feel so lucky to have found Moxhull Hall and to have had our wedding reception there. A couple of our guests were even wanting their own wedding there. We hope they do - we'd love to attend a wedding at Moxhull Hall as guests!

A big thank you to everyone - especially Gary! He's amazing!

Room Tip: Staying in the main house is worth the extra. The cottages are also really good value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethAndRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hello again Beth & Richard! We are very glad you found us too! We love getting to know couples in the build up to their wedding day and of course beyond - it's one of the pleasures of the job and it means we can really make the wedding day everything you hope for. Really glad you've experienced all aspects of what Moxhull Hall has to offer - accommodation, the restaurant, special events like Valentine's Day and of course your wedding day. And because of this we take your review of us as a great compliment! Above all we are glad you've felt well looked after on your visits to us, as that's the most important thing to us. Thanks so much for your lovely comments .... we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We got married at Moxhull Hall 05th April 2014, we had the ceremony and reception here. This is a very special place and it's a bit of a hidden Gem, don't get me wrong it's well booked up but many of our friends asked how we'd found it and why they didn't know about it. It could not have been better from beginning to end! The hotel and it's grounds are stunning, internally the decor is amazing and externally the grounds are equally as nice. What I noticed is that every inch of the place is cultivated and maintained and it looks like no expense has been spared! You feel so much pressure on your wedding day, so when your guests come up to commenting on how amazing the venue, it feels really nice! The food is another talking point with many of our guests again commenting how good it was, a number of people said it was like going to a really good restaurant rather than a catered event! The Marquee is not your average either, it's in a lovely spot with a big outdoor seating area, all lit up, water feature, planting everywhere etc! Inside the ceiling has fairy lights and there are comfy seating areas with big chairs etc, looks like a trendy bar more than what you would expect from a wedding marquee! The final thing to talk about are the staff, they are on another level, so friendly, so helpful. Our planner was Harriet and she totally made it for us, a real pleasure to deal with. She made us feel excited and relaxed during the panning stages and on the day itself was consistently working to make sure everything was right for us and our guests and it went like clock work we loved it, thanks again Harriet! I know I have gone to town on this review but it's only as the venue deserve it, it's amazing....book it! Dan and Christina

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you Dan and Christina - we couldn't have hoped for a nicer review! So glad you enjoyed your big day. We understand the pressure that couples feel in choosing the right venue and the worries they have hoping everyone will like it. Really glad your guests were happy and of course that you were too. We are constantly maintaining the venue and like to keep the site looking its best. As we don't really advertise much, we are still a surprise to some people - we've always felt the best advertising comes from a happy customer! Harriet sends you her warmest wishes and says she's delighted that you had the day you wanted. We wish you all the very best for a wonderful marriage and thank you again for letting us be part of such a special time for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Mark & I got married at Moxhull Hall in March 2014 and we want to thank Harriett and all the team for giving us the most fantastic wedding day. All our guests have said how much they enjoyed the day and have raved about the food! The day ran seamlessly, we were so well looked after from start to finish and Moxhull felt like home from home. On a personal note, Harriett went above and beyond to help my Dad who was ill on the day and words can't thank her enough for her kindness. Truly wonderful venue, we can't recommend it enough!
Xx

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you Karen and Mark for taking the time to post your comments. We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your wedding day and most importantly that you felt well looked after, 'home from home'. The greatest 'perk of the job' for us is getting to know our guests and building close relationships with them - especially in the build up to a wedding. It's so important to us that we do all we can to make every guests experience of Moxhull Hall a good one and service is the key to that. Harriet sends her regards and says it was a pleasure! Hope you'll be back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband and I got married at Moxhull in August 2013. As with all brides I'd dreamt about my wedding day for years and wanted everything to be perfect. Moxhull made it more than I could have dreamt of!
After looking around many venues in the Sutton Coldfield area we decided Moxhull was the venue for us. We had a traditional church ceremony with the reception and evening in the marquee. I had very specific ideas of what I wanted for our wedding and Andreas and his team made everything possible. It certainly wasn't the run of the mill wedding venues that seem to just cram as many weddings in as they can and have what I call a corporate feel.
Leading up to the day, we met various times with Andreas who was professional, thorough and genuinely cared about our day. The hardest thing we found was deciding on the menu as everything we tried before was delicious! I am a bit of a control freak and the entire team were so accommodating and went completely out of their way to make our day so special.
Our wedding day went completely to plan and it was clear that this was due to the precise planning and total devotion that all staff gave to their job. From realising that we had had enough of the photographer, making sure my glass was never empty of my favourite drink, to the fantastic decoration of the marquee.
We got married over 7 months ago and my friends and family are still talking about the food! I have had some terrible food at weddings before but the food totally exceeded all of our wishes. Our family are big foodies and everyone left full, satisfied and extremely happy! Andreas even provided us Spanish style taps for our evening reception which was completely delicious and made the entire day feel personal and unique.
Our day was perfect from start to finish and I honestly felt as if we were the only people to have ever got married there as we felt totally unique, cared for and looked after.
I would recommend Moxhull Hall to anyone looking to get married and can say with every confidence that you will have the day of your dreams. We cannot wait to go back to celebrate our anniversary in August!
Thanks to Andreas and his outstanding team and making our day so unforgettable and magical!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlissF1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hello FlissF1986,

We cannot stress how much your wonderful comments mean to us as this is exactly what we strive for, for each and every event we hold at Moxhull Hall. We believe that every couple is unique & we do everything possible to deliver them the day they want, however different that may be. Bringing the day together that someone has dreamt of for so long is a responsiblity we never take lighlty and it's so rewarding for us when it all comes together just as our couples had hoped for. Andreas sends his regards & sends heartfelt thanks for your kind words. See you again in August if not before!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is the perfect venue, the hotel is lovely the grounds are beautiful and food was just exceptional, as good as any top class restaurant from starter to dessert the presentation and taste was outstanding. We would visit again just for a meal. The staff are well trained and very friendly, one of our party had a serious accident and they were very helpful and even sent get well flowers. Overall I think everyone had a lovely day and I couldn't fault the hotel at all. Thank you!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LSA_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review - we are delighted that you were left with such a good impression of us and enjoyed Gregg & Gillian's wedding. Having the right people in our team is key to us so recruiting and training is really important. We believe in a warm, friendly yet professional approach & doing all we can to look after every guest who visits. Our chefs are passionate and creative with food & they thank you for your comments. Hope the lady who had the accident is recovering well. Thanks again - we'll look forwardt to seeing you in the restaurant soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Nothing was too much trouble was the attitude of the staff to the guests of a wonderful wedding we attended yesterday. The staff at the hotel were conscientious and polite, on hand to serve all day with a smile. Harriet, the event organiser, was typical of the attitude of the staff, she could not do enough for her guests, whilst gently keeping the day flowing with one eye on the couple's timetable. The food was good and plentiful, served hot and in time with the couple's events. Guests with special dietary requirements were catered for without fuss. I would thoroughly recommend this venue for special events like a wedding.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gerard d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Gerard d

We are delighted to hear from you and send our sincere thanks for your positive comments. Getting the food and service right for any event is so important and it's nice to know you felt well looked after and well fed! We very much appreciate your recommendation of us and hope to welcome you back to Moxhull Hall again. Kind regards from our Event Manager, Harriet and all our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
2.1 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
2.6 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,720 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Belfry
The Belfry
#1 of 1 in Wishaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
2.2 mi away
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
#8 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moxhull Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moxhull Hall

Property: Moxhull Hall
Address: Holly Lane, Sutton Coldfield B76 9PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#1 Family Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#2 Business Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Moxhull Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moxhull Hall is a beautiful Victorian mansion, set in 8 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens. It is the perfect venue for hosting weddings and a unique place for conferences, restaurant dining or overnight stays.Privately owned, the place is alive with warmth, hospitality and individual style. Original grandeur alongside modern, contemporary design gives Moxhull Hall a personality all of its own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moxhull Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moxhull Hall Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing