We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant solo riding break”
Review of E-or Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
E-or Lodge
wigan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“brilliant solo riding break”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I stayed at e-lodge as part of my riding break at the attached Dunton Stables. I cannot fault my stay. Very friendly, accomodating and helpful hosts, perfectly clean room with two singe beds, nice modern bathroom and fully working freeview tv, and plenty tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast was served to my room every morning at a time that suited by riding schedule which was a lovely touch and was very tasty. The rooms overlook a donkey pen which is lovely, they are absolutely adorable to watch. The staff are brilliant and very friendly and helpful, all the animals are superbly behaved and really made my stay. My entire stay was fantastic and I will definately be booking another riding break here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carinalouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    12
    2
    3
    5
See reviews for
8
18
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Whilst the owners were very nice the situation of the rental was not. It was parallel with the motorway so it was noisy. The approach was full of potholes extending for several hundred yards. The accommodation was above the stables so the noise of the horses hooves on the concrete was incessant. The donkeys started braying at 3.30 a.m. It was just a cacophony of different sounds.

To access your room was up a flight of external concrete steps. My husband has arthritis so this was not for the disabled.

It is convenient for The Belfry that is why we chose it but we should have researched it first.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael62_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I brought my daughter here for a riding break, and we had a wonderful time staying above the stables. The room was pretty and clean, and the breakfast was lovely - a massive platter of toast, cereal and fruit brought to our room at the time we requested. Yes it's down a long track, but it was easy enough to find and felt as though we were well and truly off the beaten track! And yes it's near the motorway, but no trouble sleeping after a long day in the saddle. Not for you if you don't lik animals, but if you want to stay somewhere quirky and with plenty of character, then this is the one.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angeAndCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Lovely accommodation, wonderful breakfast brought to room, friendly and caring staff. Faultless! I would highly recommend the whole experience of pony trekking and accommodation on site. My friend and our two children aged eight and nine will be returning without doubt. Cannot recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ESandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My wife and daughter were visiting the NEC for Crufts and I searched for a reasonably priced hotel local to the Exhibition for them to stay. When I found E-or Lodge originally it was amusing as well as being very reasonably priced. It turned out to be an inspired decision as the owners are very friendly, the rooms extremely comfortable and well furnished. There are only a couple of rooms as the hotel is part of a stables and donkey sanctuary. The place is absolutely delightful and they have already booked for next year.

Room Tip: There aren't that many to choose from but if ours was anything to go by they are all excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
county durham
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I stayed here when i went to Crufts and apart from the road leading to the lodge which cannot be overlooked unfortunately, this is a great place to stay, especially if you like to wake up to the sound of donkeys which is quite nice. The rooms are really well decorated and stocked with plenty of refreshments. Good shower too. The bed was lovely and comfortable but because the heating was left on through the night meaning i had to open the window because of the heat i didnt get the best sleep as it is situated right next to the M42 (really handy for NEC). Breakfast was very tasty and fresh but it would have been nice to have an info sheet in the room explaining that your breakfast is brought to your room and what time (lovely touch to have breakfast in bed). We arrived about 8pm and there was no-one to be found anywhere so i was so pleased i had called in on my way to the NEC on the morning and had my room "pointed out" to me so i made an educated guess and found my room on the second attempt. I realise this sounds slightly scathing but i dont mean it to be as this is a lovely clean, handy and unique place to stay and fabulous value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oschar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Loved our stay in the E- or lodge, we were made to feel at home from the start...breakfast in bed which consisted of toast crumpets fresh orange juice, cereals melon and strawberries.*****The rooms are nice and comfortable and clean with nice veiws from your window looking out onto the stables. It's a great place to stay if you want a horse riding for the weekend.


  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kickadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
1.9 mi away
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
#8 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
469 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
2,213 reviews
2.1 mi away
Moxhull Hall
Moxhull Hall
#1 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,209 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich
3.0 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfie...
#9 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to E-or Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about E-or Lodge

Property: E-or Lodge
Address: Marston Villa Kingsbury Road, Sutton Coldfield B76 0DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — E-or Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms and Cancelon so you can book your E-or Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
E-Or Lodge Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing