We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't feel like Birmingham”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Doesn't feel like Birmingham”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Beautiful location, friendly and warm staff. Beautiful rooms with amazing views. Lovely restaurant with a good selection. Reliable and punctual room service and a superb breakfast selection, both continental and full English. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyblayze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela B, Owner at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review. We were pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back when you are next able to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    841
    425
    218
    88
    42
See reviews for
352
544
41
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Lovely hotel and even better staff, the local town was a nice walk to clear away the cobwebs on a cold day. Breakfast was really plentiful serving some tasty local sausages and bacon. The overwhelming memory though is the dreadful carvery!

Meat cut so finely a surgeon would be proud, you could read a newspaper through my turkey it was so thin. Vegetables on offer bordered on being antiques. A real shame and a shocker of a price!

Managers should be proud of the site and the staff but saddened by the carvery they offer. Talking to other guests and looking at reviews the sad state of the carvery is not a secret everyone knows about it so come on how about fixing it ?

Room Tip: We upgraded our room and it was very adequate, we were in the extension opposite the sunken garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela B, Owner at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for your review and your kind comments about the staff, which have been passed onto them. We are fortunate to be set in beautiful parkland yet within easy reach of Birmingham, the NEC Group/LG Arena and the major rail and motorway links and our guests are able to enjoy some lovely walks. Please accept my apologies that you dining experience did not meet expectations. We are working hard to change the standard and spec in the Country Kitchen in order to provide a consistently high standard of food and look forward to welcoming you back soon when you can be assured of our best attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I frequently stay at Best Western hotels and this is by far the worst in their chain
Chose to celebrate my 60th birthday at Moor Hall, left feeling unwell and unrested
No heating in room, toilet wouldn't flush, sink slow to drain, bathroom fan noisy, bulbs blown, disturbed late at night/early in morning by guest above (requested quiet room), main restaurant doesn't open Sunday evening (my birthday dinner was 'an omelette' as kitchen had ran out of first two choices of chicken and salmon), reacted to chemicals in pool (neck rash), ignored at breakfast (eventually served after 20 minutes) - missing crockery and fruit preserves from table, poolside temperature inconsistent (warm day 1, chilly day 2), etc

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Terence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela B, Owner at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
I do hope you will accept my sincere apologies that your recent stay did not meet your expectations as I can quite understand how disappointing this would have been. This is certainly not our usual high standard and I have asked our Maintenance team to look at the problems you have mentioned in order for them to be rectified. I have also discussed your comments regarding breakfast with the Restaurant Manager to ensure further staff training is arranged as crockery and preserves should be regularly replenished. Thank you for taking the time to provide your review and I hope you will come back and visit us when you are next in the area and when you will be assured of our best attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We only stayed one night at Moor Hall after visiting relatives in the area. Just as a treat for my wife’s birthday we decided to book somewhere a bit special and we were not disappointed. The location was picturesque and very quiet. The service from reception through to dinner and breakfast was first class. As the building has had a few extensions over the years it does look a bit of a jigsaw from the outside but inside the building has retained all the charm of the old hall, with decoration and fittings in all rooms carried out to a very high standard. The food was excellent with the only difficult bit in deciding what not to have. We paid for dinner and breakfast as well as a superior room and the package was excellent value for money. We will definitely stay at Moor Hall again if in the area.

Room Tip: Due to the location all room should be pretty quiet but they do cater for business meetings and wedd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mike141979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela B, Owner at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Wow, what a wonderful review and thank you for choosing Moor Hall for such a special occasion. Excellent quality and service are so important to us and we were pleased to hear you found us to be such good value for money. Look forward to welcoming you back when you are next able to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I recently stayed at the Hotel and my first impressions was of the sight of the Hotel as I approached from the long driveway, it was very impressive and looked beautiful all lit up. The Reception was very warm and inviting and the staff were very helpful and polite. The bedrooms are very comfortable, very clean and every thing you need is there. The Wedding Reception ran without a hitch and every need was catered for. The food is excellent. I would and have recommended this Hotel to future guests.
Thank you all for a truly memorable stay.

Room Tip: with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela B, Owner at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
It was a pleasure to welcome you to Moor Hall and I was so pleased to hear you had such a comfortable stay. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed as a family with our 7 year old. The room was fine - very spacious and the facilities were good - pool and spa facilities were very nice and clean. The hotel was very noisy though, with a very loud disco going on until late (too loud and too much bass) and extremely noisy guests returning to their rooms in the early hours. The sound proofing definitely needs improvement - we were on the ground floor and not particularly close to the function suite. Breakfast was a serve yourself buffet, but very good quality although an extra toaster would have been a good addition.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the function suite (and associated guests) as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela B, Owner at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to provide your review. I was sorry to hear you were disturbed by noise as we try very hard at Moor Hall to allocate rooms sensibly and to ‘police’ the hotel at night so that any disruption from function guests is kept to a minimum. I do hope you will be able to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham Wiltshire UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My Wife and I have stayed at the Best Western Moor Hall on many occasions over the past few years and have found during all of those visits for it to be an exceptional venue for relaxing and chilling out. We are both experienced travellers and indeed being ex restaurateurs ourselves have a good insight and knowledge of such places. In our opinion this is one of the most comfortable and professionally run establishments in the country, on all fronts. The Oak Room restaurant is an absolute delight along with the professional staff that makes everyone feel so welcome. This professionalism is displayed throughout the hotel in all departments and.I have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this hotel to anyone who wishes to avail themselves of such service. A great place for weddings or any size party large or small.

Room Tip: For the extra space etc book a superior room, ground floor rear in the 70's or anywhere above t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bcauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela B, Owner at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review. At Moor Hall we like to offer guests our very best attention with excellent customer service, great dining and an environment in which they can relax, and were pleased to hear how much you always enjoy your stay. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
2.1 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,172 reviews
3.8 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
3.1 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfie...
#9 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Moxhull Hall
Moxhull Hall
#1 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
393 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Belfry
The Belfry
#1 of 1 in Wishaw
1,851 reviews
4.7 mi away
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
#8 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection

Property: Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Address: Moor Hall Drive | Four Oaks, Sutton Coldfield B75 6LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#3 Family Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa is a four star country house hotel set in parkland, yet within easy reach of Birmingham. A 2015 Certificate of Excellence winner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Moor Hall Hotel And Spa
Best Western Premier Moor Hall Hotel Sutton Coldfield
Best Western Sutton Coldfield
Sutton Coldfield Best Western
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing