We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for money”

The Old School House
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for money”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Dined here for a work do and my meal came to around £20, this was for the trio of steaks, half a bottle of wine and a dessert. We used a £5 off voucher which can be found at their website. Great food for excellent price with friendly service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Warren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    48
    31
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Breakfast Treat On Mother's Day”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We were treated to Breakfast at The Old Speckled Hen, Nr Sutton Coldfield. The service was friendly, the atmosphere friendly and the meal was well cooked. We had never visited this restaurant before and was pleasantly surprised. Overall an enjoyable experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Excellent night!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Cannot praise The Old Speckled Hen enough, I recently held my Birthday celebration there for 25 people. It was very busy when we arrived but this did not interfere with my celebration, our waitress was very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. All our starters arrived at the same time equally the main meals also, again our waitress made sure we had everything. Thank you for a lovely evening!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dea2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
145 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Not as good as last visit”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Had an early evening booking on a Saturday and restaurant was half full at the time so we were seated promptly. Were given the menus to choose from but we seemed to be rushed and not given enough time to order. We were asked twice before we had actually chosen.

Ordered a shared platter to start, some of it was ok but the sausage rolls seemed dry and just consisted of pastry and nothing else. Garlic bread was nicely cooked. Kids sausage and mash dish had a lot of gravy on. One of our fish and chips appeared to be over-cooked and the batter a little dry.

Ordered a bottle of wine and a couple of glasses of water but we had to ask again for the water as they'd forgotten to bring it.

Good atmosphere inside but perhaps we should give this a break for a while at least until they change the menu as have probably had the same dishes too many times.

Point to note - if you visit the website and register with them you get a £5 voucher off food and drink. I have visited many times before but this was never pointed out. Luckily I spotted it on the off-chance just looking at the website.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tibbyhatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The disappearing egg”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Just had lunch at the OPH . Started well with efficient and pleasant staff but we ordered fish pie with hard boiled egg it arrived minus the egg and minus why it had gone absent . Eventually we were told the egg must be in the pie ! We requested a chat with the chef but he never appeared . Still plenty of other places to eat in the area who do serve up the actual menu .

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old School House also viewed

Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 

Been to The Old School House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing