We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potential for an excellent pub - this misses the mark”
Review of dog and doublet

dog and doublet
Ranked #130 of 216 Restaurants in Sutton Coldfield
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Potential for an excellent pub - this misses the mark”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Three of us went here for lunch and were somewhat cold shouldered. This felt like a very 'local' pub where outsiders were not welcome. It is in significant need of a make-over - all is tired and grubby. The food: 2 steak baguettes and one ham were equally as uninteresting with supermarket pre-prepared rolls locally cooked and served cold with reformed ham, rather better steak; each with a few mixed crisps and some salad. Cask ales were better.

Canal side seating.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sotontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    59
    39
    26
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location,Location,Location”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

A Fantastic Location, Especially with the summer approaching set alongside the canal, a very good venue for people with dogs. On the downside menu very mediocre with not a great selection.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HOMEORWAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield,UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bank holiday drink”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We went for a Bank Holiday drink and have to say it is a charming old fashioned pub. The old dog that was mentioned in previous reviews was simply ambling around and not disturbing anyone. Hardly a Rat Catcher! Don't let it put you off. My husband particularly liked the Brown and Mild that was served.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamfan94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Canal side setting”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A few friends went here for a drink as I had not been for a while I noticed the layout had changed for the better.

The setting is excellent and would be great in the summer as you can sit by the canal and chill out.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Boristhespider007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A nice place to eat in the Country”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Recent camping trip caused us to eat locally on the first night and we visited this place as very close to our site.
Located on the banks of a canal with canal boats moored nearby, in the heart of the country and a very old building, whoops we thought this will be expensive, how wrong we were. The price was very reasonable, the food was perfectly cooked and the welcome could not have been warmer. We returned there instead of cooking in the caravan as we liked it so much and the ricing was so reasonable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed dog and doublet also viewed

Wishaw, Warwickshire
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 
Nether Whitacre, Warwickshire
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 

Been to dog and doublet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing