We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“be prepared for queues”

Echills Wood Railway
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Echills Wood Railway is one of the regions popular visitor attractions and carries over 32,000 passengers each year. It is a seven and a quarter inch gauge (track width) miniature railway built and operated by a group of enthusiasts and volunteers. The railway runs a variety of replica standard and narrow seven and a quarter inch gauge steam, diesel, electric locomotives and trams on a 2 km line running through some of the 600 acres of Kingsbury Water Park with its 15 lakes, maturing woodlands and abundant wildlife. Open every Sunday and additional days, Wednesday and Friday during Warwickshire school holidays.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“be prepared for queues”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Despite many trains running it seemed the bright sunshine bought many people out to this railway which is within the Kingsbury waterpark complex - and you have to pay the latter to park your car. That said when you do get to the railway it is worth joing the queue and you can break your journey at one of the attractions within the park and catch a train back later. Lots of footpaths and nature trails to explore and the railway is building a larger station at Far Leys to handle the growing number of people travelling on this excellent miniature railway. Great staff and real friendly atmosphere.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
806 reviews
366 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Rail enthusiast here not expecting how brilliantly superb this system is. Great for adults as well as kids. Situated in a superb park so ideal for a day out. The staff were good fun and really pleasant. Laughing and waving make everyone especially the children welcome. Great

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Howard-Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good fun for big kids”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Very good value for quite a long train ride. In the middle of Kingsbury Park. Plenty of parking near by and if you are going to go more than once get the multiple ticket.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonODP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best 7.5inch gauge railway I have seen or been on”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The railway station is by the main gate and runs to the far leys play area a good distance, it is a well managed railway with auto signals"like the real thing" a good selection of engines,both steam and diesel. It is a pity it is on the route oh HS2

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Traintastic”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We went with our two kiddies aged 4, one of which is train mad. We had a fab day and could easily spent a full day there. Its £10 for 8 20 minute return journeys so we all had 2 trips round the park. There's loads of hidden parks around. If we were nearer, we would be regulars. Be aware though, it's £3.50 to get your car into the carpark of the main park. This isn't a complaint but you need this in coinage and we had no change, as usual. A great day and probably enjoyed even more than our day at Drayton Manor!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Suzanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Echills Wood Railway also viewed

Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Tamworth, Staffordshire
 

Been to Echills Wood Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing