We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb food every time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bengal Garden Restaurant

Bengal Garden Restaurant
Ranked #103 of 205 Restaurants in Sutton Coldfield
Price range: US$5 - US$12
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Bangladeshi, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Montgomery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Superb food every time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Nothing here is to much for the staff to accommodate. Dishes can be suggested or adapted to suit you, complete novices are made to feel special with staff taking time to find out what types of food customers like before suggestions are made. Most customers come back time after time and new custom invariably word of mouth. We have been part of a group of family and friends going for over 30years and still experiment on every visit with new challenges for the chef

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank coffeegrinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    17
    9
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
west midlands
Level Contributor
109 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Needs to catch up”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

I used to go here years ago and yearn for the food they used to provide,`old style stock pot` maybe but robust and tasty.

They have in my opinion lost it big time over the last few years, On our last visit we sat at a table by the kitchen, it looked awful!! shabby, split lino on the floor and generally a bit grubby. Food was ok but didn`t eat much because of what I saw....

Many people I know feel the same so I can`t understand why they don`t spend a bit on the old place....it`s not as if people in Sutton don`t have a massive choice these days...but it would do really well IMO if things smartened up and they offered the food they used to do!!

May be however they are satisfied with the drunks on Friday & Saturday who probably don`t know any better!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rogerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best curry in Birmingham”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

Been coming to the Bengal all my life! And have enjoyed lots of meals here!. If you want good portions, reasonably priced food and fantastic service the Bengal is the place.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JadeLilly_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Proper Indian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

Been going to the Bengal for 30 odd years now and its as good today as its always been. Service is polite and the food is tasty, especially the hotter dishes. Long may it continue.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Old School Indian Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

This restaurant has been around since the early/mid seventies and is still there. The menu is classic 1970's and we visit the place about 3 times a year just for the nostalgia!. The food is good quality and the portions huge. The service is very good the decor is only slightly advanced from 1975!
All in all a good restaurant

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bengal Garden Restaurant also viewed

Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Kingswinford, West Midlands
 

Been to Bengal Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing