We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bengal Garden Restaurant

Bengal Garden Restaurant
Ranked #104 of 205 Restaurants in Sutton Coldfield
Price range: US$5 - US$12
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Bangladeshi, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

A rustic, no frills Indian Restaurant. Which doesn't have to sell itself with decor or additional gimmicks. It's the food, and it's brilliant. What you see is what you get. Exceptional waiter service from the starters to coffee. All ages are welcomed with recommendation by regulars is key therefore advertisement is not essential. This was my first visit and won't be my last. I well definitely tell my friends of this hidden gem.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank plac56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    17
    9
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

My personal experience of the bengal garden was OK. Food was OK, service was good, but the atmosphere was poor. It is a dark, lifeless curry house that has very little atmosphere on offer. Overall, meh

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Traditional 80s curry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Been using this place for 30 years and the menu hasn't changed once. That's a negative if u want new tastes like the rest of boldmere offers but a positive if u want 80s curry cooked very well. They don't like giving much away in terms of drinks :) but it's a very good traditional curry that won't disappoint. I use all the modern curry places in boldmere for special occasions and friends nights out but the Bengal when we want a good basic curry.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We had heard about Bengal Garden from friends, so thought we'd give it a try. Food was delicious, but We felt like we were sitting in someone's sitting room from the seventies! Staff were very polite and service was good. Perhaps an update of the restaurant will keep it in line with other Asian restaurants nearby. Or maybe, it's the fact that it is like it is that attracts people.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great food, great service, great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Saturday 22nd June we had a fabulous meal, service and so much fun. yes the two houses knocked into one isnt as glitz as some modern chrome palaces, and some may think that its stuck in a 70s time warp, but I go there to eat GREAT food not to look at the decor. highly recommended and great great value with huge portions.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bengal Garden Restaurant also viewed

Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 

Been to Bengal Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing