We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place - excellent value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place - excellent value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

I can only recommend this hotel. It is a very good, honest, very comfortable, no frills hotel at a very good price. We went over to visit family for Christmas and had a very enjoyable stay. The rooms were very clean and the staff were very helpful. We would most definitely consider this hotel next time round.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
755lisas755, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Hi Tony, Thankyou for your recent review from your stay here over the christmas period. I am delighted that you found the rooms clean and the team were helpful during yur stay. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    137
    69
    25
    12
See reviews for
159
102
16
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I always choose to stay at a premier in. Due to the great value for money! This time again did not disappoint! After travelling for almost 3 hours and with a screaming baby for the last half an hour it was wonderful to turn up to a clean room where all the beds including the travel cot were made up and ready for us! Always polite service from the staff too! Well done premier inn! And I also only paid £29 for all this too!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachaelg83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
755lisas755, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thankyou for your recent review from your stay here at Birmingham North Premier Inn. I am delighted that you found a lovely warm welcome from the team after your long journey with a young baby and that your room was clean with your cot set up ready for your needs. At Premier Inn we are passionate about making your stay an enjoyable one. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

On the whole the hotel was adequate for our stay, but is in need of a refit.
But the cleanliness could not be faulted, very clean throughout.
I have stayed at many premier inns all over the country and yes compared to some this hotel is older and tired but I have to say the staff where exceptional, very friendly, informative, couldn't do enough for us, especially Emma on reception.
So all in all our stay was fine, but I would suggest it goes to the top of the list for your next refit, it definitely needs modernising and bringing up to date like a lot of your other hotels, the quality of the stay deserve a more modern hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RubyTuesday621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
755lisas755, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to write a review here at Birmingham North Premier Inn. It was lovely to hear that you found the team here so friendly and that Emma on reception was exceptional. Birmingham North will hopefully be undergoing a refurb in 2014 of which we are all very much looking forward to. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Generally the stay was good. Staff was very friendly. I had a very comfortable night. Food was very nice. Good parking facilities. However, there was no instruction available to control room temperature.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rooh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
755lisas755, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thankyou for your recent review of your stay. I am delighted to hear you found the staff friendly and that you had a comfortable night. Instructions for your heater controls can always be found in the welcome booklet on your desk. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I have stayed in many premier Inns and it didn't really compare to other Premier Inns i have stayed in before, i was slightly disappointed with the small dark rooms the general feeling of the place. However it was clean and tidy and ok for a stop over on a long journey or a local event.
The parking was ideal and definitely a bonus.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrianne635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
755lisas755, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thankyou for your recent feedback from your stay here at Birmingham North Premier Inn. I am sorry you found your room quite small, we are an old building that has a variety of different sized rooms. If you are stayng in the area again if you contact reception you can request a lower floor room which will ensure you have a larger room. I am delighted however, that you found your room clean and tidy throughout your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I was concerned when I read the reviews of this hotel before we went but I need not have worried . The outside of the hotel is old but the inside is fine . It was clean and comfortable , its not a new key card hotel but its everything you need ! The staff are very friendly and can not do enough for you , well done !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watsonsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
755lisas755, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thankyou for your recent review for Birmingham North Premier Inn. We are indeed one of the older Premier Inns but like you said we have friendly staff and clean and comfortable rooms as with all Premier inns. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We have just returned from this hotel. I booked it as it is a trusted brand and it was cheap and close to where I needed to go. I stayed with my partner in a double room. The check in was quick and easy although I was quite surprised to see that there were asking for our nationalities upon checking in. I didn't feel comfortable with this and I was surprised to be asked such question. The young lad on reception was very helpful and a really nice person to welcome you there. The room was quite dated and I found that it could have been improved by basic touches such as a toilet brush and more hangers. The most ridiculous thing was that there was no phone in the room to ring reception and if you wanted to do that you had to ring them from your mobile and be charged extra for it... The shower was probably the smallest shower I have ever seen and it was mounted to the wall so you couldn't use it properly. The heating was a little temperamental as well so I was cold all night however I did ask for an extra duvet which was given to me and I was fine after that. The bed was very comfortable and there were extra pillows should you wish to use them. I slept really well and woke up refreshed! I thought the kettle was a really nice touch although there was only enough tea to make a cup for each of us. The cleaners did a fantastic job every day although there were cobwebs on the walls which didn't bother us. We had the premier breakfast which was lovely, the service in the restaurant was second to none and all the staff that looked after us were fantastic and deserve a pat on the back! Overall, it does what it says on the tin. It's a cheap and clean hotel with great staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
755lisas755, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thankyou for your recent review from your stay here at Premier inn Birmingham North. I am sorry if you found being asked to put your nationality offensive but it is a legal requirement in all hotels. I am delighted to see you found the reception team member helpful and welcoming and your room and bed comfortable. Premier Breakfasts are a great start to the day and I am glad you enjoyed it. we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
2.4 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfie...
#9 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
0.8 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
1.4 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
#8 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Belfry
The Belfry
#1 of 1 in Wishaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
1.9 mi away
Moxhull Hall
Moxhull Hall
#1 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel
Address: Whitehouse Common Road, Sutton Coldfield B75 6HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#4 Business Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's so much on your doorstep at Sutton Coldfield. The bright lights, sights and shops of Birmingham are just a quick train ride away. While closer to home there are a number of renowned golf courses, as well as the beautiful Sutton Park National Nature Reserve. Conquer your fears on Stormforce 10 at Drayton Manor. Or indulge in retail therapy at big name stores in Birmingham. Watch some famous names tee off at the Belfry, then come back for tea and pampering yourself in our spacious rooms and extra comfy beds. Directions: Approx. 7 miles from M42(J9). Follow A446 towards Lichfield, then A453 to Sutton Coldfield. Turn left into Whitehouse Common Road, the hotel is on the left. 1/2 mile from Good Hope Hospital. Next to the White Horse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel Sutton Coldfield
Premier Inn Sutton Coldfield
Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing