We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good British Fare”

The George Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 118 Restaurants in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$66
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A magnificent oak-panelled space is the fine dining setting at The George Hotel of Stamford, one of England's greatest coaching inns. A mix of regular locals and hotel guests can always be found relaxing at bare oak tables beneath an eye-catching hand-painted ceiling. In summer, or on mild nights, they like to sit outside under the heated canopy in the ivy-clad courtyard. Open for grand lunches and dinner, the George Hotel Restaurant serves traditional yet imaginative English dishes, specialising in seafood. Lighter daytime dishes such as Dover sole are superceeded at night with heartier meals such as rack of lamb with fresh herbs and redcurrant jelly, and roast English beef carved at the table on a silver trolley. Accompanied by traditional trimmings, of course.
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Lunch at the George is always a reliably British affair, with their impressively enormous silver platter of roast beef doing the rounds of most tables, including ours. Service as excellent as you would expect. With uncertain weather, we dined in the paneled room, which is very traditional and whilst it is brightened currently with lovely white flower settings, the decor does feel a little tired. Some white tablecloths might help. But definitely some new chair covers would brighten things up a bit. We rather wished we braved the garden, as dining there is always so relaxing and enjoyable. To be honest, we also got a little tired of the 'firework cakes' going round the several birthday tables that day, but that feels a little churlish really.
However, we ate well, with plentiful servings, and enjoyed our meal very much and shall no doubt return for another treat at a later date.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank aboutandout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Lovely to read that you enjoyed your Roast Beef and that the service was excellent. Thank you for your kind words. I was sad to read though that you don't find the restaurant décor to your taste, it is a very traditional restaurant with its beautiful oak panelling and tables and we receive many wonderful comments. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (829)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

533 - 537 of 829 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

We haven’t visited The George for many years, but it was buzzing as we entered the Court Yard, on a very warm summers evening. We sat in the Restaurant tables at the back of the Court Yard and watched the great-and-good of Stamford pour in.

The menu was comprehensive, with a variety of tasty sounding, “fancy” foods. I chose Gruyere cheese fritters to start and lemon sole for main. After demolishing chef’s complimentary soup and canapés, the “bread lady” cut us off a couple of slices of fresh date and walnut bread, with balsamic dipping oil – delicious! The starters arrived in short order. The fritters were nice but bland; if they hadn’t been supported by Thai jelly, it would have been quite disappointing. The 3 pieces of sole were nicely presented on the inevitable bed of pea puree. The biggest disappointment of the evening was the vegetables/potatoes arrived 5 minutes after the main plates – that should not have happened and the young lady who served them was slow getting them on the plate too. My wife indulged in a strawberry cheesecake pudding which she reported as lovely.

This is undoubtedly a showcase restaurant. At the table next us, the maitre d made a show of calving a fore rib of beef at the table. There are plenty of servers running around, the food is tasty but the plate service needs speeding up. It’s not cheap, but you do get a quality dining experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank machinmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review. You are quite right, the vegetables and potatoes should have been served at exactly the same time as your main course; please accept my sincere apologies for this. We will increase the training in this area. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Late arrivals for a 9.30 dinner and probably not popular that we went all out for three courses, cheese& biscuits, coffee, brandy's etc when they had had a very busy night and all wanted to go home. The food was exceptional, great choice, amazing wine list, but the service was the outstanding feature although the later it got it dropped a bit and we felt in the way.

Thank CartwrightKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

It was lovely to see this review and thank you so much. The time you arrive for dinner doesn't matter to us at all as we serve in our garden room till quite late anyway. However I will speak to the restaurant team to ensure that service is kept high regardless of the time. Please accept my apologies for this, especially as you commented that it was exceptional at the beginning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Real Shame that instead of taking on board peoples dissatisfaction with The George the management team just carry on regardless relying on the good name! I've visited several times over the years and although the food is good the atmosphere is not. There's classic & there's outdated & I'm afraid that recently The George is outdated in every respect. Dined last Saturday evening after eventually being greeted by staff. The cheese fritters were nice but nothing special, the beef gorgeous but paying extra for a tiny portion of veg & potatoes which were just bland, was a bit much? Desserts as previous reviews were the 'same old' and left open to all the elements in the front foyer near the till, nice! Coffee & a measly biscuit at £5 left a bitter taste in the mouth. A beautiful building but dark & drear , needs to move with the times & look at similar beautiful hotels in London etc who constantly surprise & innovate, something the George & it's menu don't do!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fanula100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

I am very sad that you feel this way. I have run the George for over thirty years and I can assure you we don't just carry on regardless, relying on our name. We respond to every review on both of our TripAdvisor pages and take note of all comments which we discuss and react to if necessary. We work very hard at ensuring standards are exceeded and that our customers have a wonderful experience. So many people comment on the fantastic atmosphere which brings them back time after time. I am pleased that you enjoyed the Roast Beef but I have to say the portions of vegetables and potatoes are not small. The dessert trolley is not left in the front foyer, it was on the way out to the patio to serve a table but it was just being replenished. Coffee comes with free refills and so we think that is excellent value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

In my opinion ....Just a tad overpriced......but my food was good so no real complaints there. Our group enjoyed their lunch but I would have chosen a more lighthearted place. I have to admit I rather like the toilets ....the decor, the hand cream etc. Overall, just a bit boring, shan't eat there again.
Our Blue Badge guide made the day out very worthwhile. Will go to Stamford again but do more homework on restaurants

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Janethawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

The George is a beautiful building and has a wonderful atmosphere which is why we have so many customers returning again and again. I am shocked that you found it boring, because I have never, ever heard that before about The George.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The George Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Stamford, Lincolnshire
Stamford, Lincolnshire
 
Stamford, Lincolnshire
Stamford, Lincolnshire
 
Stamford, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The George Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing