We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rating”
Review of Gwynne House

Gwynne House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gwynne House
Ranked #10 of 17 Stamford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Very nice BnB in an excellent town called Stamford. The BnB is a bit outside the centre (around 10-15 walk) in a building, which does not look spectacular from the outside. Extremely friendly owners and a immaculate room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damiano01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2013

Stayed for a weekend city break with friends. We took all 3 rooms.

Galina was so welcoming, made sure we were all properly settled in. She showed me to their own private parking space in a lane at the back which was great. Friends parked in front which was unlimited.

We really liked our room; private door straight onto the delightful garden. Friends were very pleased with their 2 rooms, so all very happy.

Only a pleasant short walk into Stamford which his lovely shops, eateries, drinking dens and architecture with narrow (but safe) passages and river walks.

Both mornings Galina prepared lovely breakfasts exactly to suit our requirements.

So all in all a great place for a city break, Burghley House being a must - see experience on the way home, Sunday.

Room Tip: The rear lane parking is very quiet even though houses back onto it. From there the back gate allows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UK C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013 via mobile

As a tour operator who gets the opportunity to stay in some of the best hotels around the world, it is by surprise that when I entered Gwynne House I felt I was staying in a family home than a bed & breakfast. The lovely couple John &Galina made me feel extremely comfortable. The room was more than spacious with delightful touches of collectables, family photographs makes you think you home away from home. What can I say about the bed, I slept like a baby. So comfortable, crisp bed linen. Morning breakfast was a delight and delightful Galina served up a fantastic English breakfast - it felt like my mum cooking breakfast for me. Breakfast room overlooks a extremely attractive garden which Galina claims is her masterpiece. For anyone passing through Stamford please consider staying in this delightful property. Highly recommended and no doubt I will be coming back to Geynne House and to spend more time in lovely Stamford. Thank you John & Galina.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

Travelling by train to Stamford, it was a nice sunny walk to this B&B. We stayed in the en suite room, noting fancy but it was the extras that made a lovely touch (excellent wifi; plenty of hot drinks and the bits and bobs under the sink such as cotton wool and buds just in case!). The owners were kind and very helpful - and breakfast was delicious. A fantastic place to stay if all you need is a base camp!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saphyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We found Gwynne House very clean, comfortable and welcoming. Our host Gelina was very friendly and helped these tired travellers from Australia enjoy our last weekend in UK with information and guidance of the local area. A lasting memory of a beautiful part of the country.
Vivien Hill,
Melbourne, Australia

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed here for five nights, the accommodation is spotless. Standard of the breakfast was excellent. The host, Galina was very friendly,helpful and kind. We would certainly chose to stay there again. We came from Dublin,Ireland and she had a lot of local information on the town. We would certainly chose to stay here again as this accommodation is of a very high standard.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodwardle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We have just stayed the weekend in this clean and comfortable guest house in a quiet location on the edge of Stamford. We were given a very warm welcome by the lovely Galina for whom nothing was too much trouble to make our stay enjoyable. The full English breakfast was superb, with plenty of choice, and Galina cooked it exactly to our specific requirements. It was like going from home to home, and we shall certainly be staying there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stamford hotels
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel Stamford
0.8 mi away
The William Cecil at Stamford
0.6 mi away
The George Of Stamford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Bull & Swan
The Bull & Swan
#4 of 7 in Stamford
349 reviews
0.8 mi away
Borderville Farm Guest House
5.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#12 of 17 in Stamford
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwynne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwynne House

Address: 13 Kings Road, Stamford PE9 1HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stamford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Stamford
Price Range: £83 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gwynne House is a 4 bedroom Victorian town house. We are within 6 minutes walk of the beautiful town centre of Stamford. Staying at Gwynne House you will be assured of a very friendly and warm welcome. We will do our utmost to ensure that your stay with us is a memorable one. At Gwynne House the Guest always comes first! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Gwynne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwynne House Stamford, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing