We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not usually my type if food- but I'm a convert!”

Mama Liz's Soul Food Shack
Ranked #35 of 115 Restaurants in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$34
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Boston.England
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not usually my type if food- but I'm a convert!”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Usually the hype does not match the reality,but this time !
This is the second time we have dined here on a Sunday afternoon. The main reason for going was to listen to the blues band that was due to play there.
The music was superb and very professional . The atmosphere and ambience really made you feel relaxed and in the mood.
The food was going to be my main challenge as I do not like spicy food. Having tried the Island chicken curry I am a true convert. It was suburb ! Well cooked ,well presented matched by excellent service!
It really is refreshing to find somewhere a little different to this standard.

Well shall be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Turi-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    40
    20
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
finedon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Called in for lunch on a saturday. Sat in the sun in the garden,
really enjoyed the chicken, husband had a fab burger and
we shared a nice bowl of very nice chips.
Was also nice to have a nice well kept pint1

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 108catherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great soul food with friends”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

As a group of 9 friends we had a great night at mama liz's, great atmosphere we sat in bar area for cocktails and drinks first.Very attentive staff let us choose from menu there then taken to restaurant upstairs, all our meals were much enjoyed, catfish,jambalaya, chilly, ribs all really good, your waitresses are a credit to you barstaff very friendly delicious food made a great night out in Stamford, we'll be back !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“BEST SMALL RESTAURANT FOOD FOR A LONG TIME”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Having eaten all over the world, these must rate as the best small restaurant meals we have had in a long time.
Not one of the 6 meals was anything other than excellent.
The staff are great and the atmosphere very enjoyable.
We will definitely be going back and spreading the word.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ult1mate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Food, atmosphere, cocktails, music.....everything you want from a decent soul food restaurant. I enjoy it every time we visit. My boyfriend and I went for Valentine's Day this year and it was a great night...thanks guys!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mama Liz's Soul Food Shack also viewed

Stamford, Lincolnshire
 
Stamford, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Mama Liz's Soul Food Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing