We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and food,let down by lack of attention to detail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The George Of Stamford
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great location and food,let down by lack of attention to detail”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My room was clean and best described as cosy.Only two very soft pillows on an overly soft mattress.No duvet just a mass of blankets in the middle of June.Fan eventually provided for greenhouse-like room.
Bathroom newly and well re-done.
Food superb as ever and staff helpful.
On previous visits would have unhesitatingly given 5* but for above and location of my room
Avoid 50/51/52.There is a function room up flight of stairs just opposite and I could not sleep after a good day's sightseeing because of the din the guests upstairs made thumping along the old stairs and passage

Room Tip: Avoid street facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 125simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your review. I was very sad to read that you were disappointed with the location of your room and mattress. We have recently purchased brand new, medium firmness mattresses for all our bedrooms, but I appreciate that everyone has different preferences. I also apologise if the function kept you awake. Lovely to see however that you found the staff and food superb as ever and we do hope that we have the chance to look after you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    257
    114
    59
    25
See reviews for
235
521
17
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

just eaten here today lovely setting outside, food was good expensive though twenty pounds for a burger and chips even if it was tasty , we have stayed here before a couple of years ago which was nice a treat from our children, but today we felt rushed knowing others were waiting for tables and staff watching for you to finish so they could relay tables for them , i still like the george cause of its hotel and settings and will continue to visit it .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed our best selling burger outside in the courtyard. Please don’t ever feel rushed - the staff are watching to make sure you are happy and that you have everything you need, not because we want the table back, but my apologies if you felt that. Lovely to know that you will continue to visit us and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Spent one night at the George which is lovely and quintessential English.
Breakfast great. Bed fantastic and very high. My one gripe was being unable to make my own tea. You do get offered a tray of tea brought to your room in the morning but after a night out it would have been nice to make myself a lovely cup of tea before going to bed.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 827Janty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you loved our new beds. We don't provide tea trays in bedrooms, but we would have brought you a fresh pot of tea immediately to your room if ordered with reception. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again. Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

The George is special to us having got married here in 2003.
We recently returned for a celebratory meal.
The champagne bar is as wonderful as ever and the menu in the conservatory restaurant excellent.
The service remains friendly and attentive.
The George has continued its tradition of excellence.
A superb night thank you.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bonedoc40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review. I am so pleased that you had a superb time with us and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorton
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

You will not be disappointed with anything at this hotel. Guests are welcomed efficiently and promptly. There are two choices for dining within the hotel and I recommend either one for food quality and service, but far prefer the more formal dining room. This year our room was on the street side but there is never a noise problem because installing white noise in i phone is like a sound machine. The rooms are spotless and the beds and pillows are of excellent quality. You can sense the pride that The George staff has in working here. Don't miss Lincolnshire in your travels ! It is hugely under rated.

Stamford is a busy market town. It was inside the ancient Danelaw and there is so much history around it , you would never be bored. Burleighy House, the home of Lord William Cecil, is close by as are many other sites of interest.

Room Tip: Be aware that it is a busy little town and that traffic begins early on a workday. You can work arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanny1Lorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
This is a fantastic review and is greatly appreciated by myself and all the staff-thank you very much. We are indeed all very proud to work here and I am so pleased that you felt this. We look forward to your 4th visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I hope it is always the same but we visited this place on a sunny bank holiday Monday when it was buzzing. We had a lovely walk in the gorgeous gardens then sat looking over the lovely lawns with a glass of bubbly. Then we had afternoon tea in the courtyard. The hotel itself has lots of old character with many different rooms to choose from to eat, relax or just have a drink. Staff were very good too. We had a lovely afternoon tea and really enjoyed the atmosphere.

Room Tip: Did not stay at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yummies60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your afternoon tea in the courtyard. We do have a wonderful atmosphere at the George. Lovely to see that you also enjoyed our gardens with a glass of Champagne- perfect. Thank you very much for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Well what can I say but thank you, my family really had a fantastic day for my sisters wedding. It was magical. Service was excellent throughout the day from all who were involved In the event.food was fantastic. Our rooms had everything we needed for our stay. Dad just hope I get to have my wedding here also.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddiej80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review. I am of course thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your sister’s wedding with fantastic food and service. We look forward to your wedding now?? Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
0.2 mi away
The William Cecil at Stamford
8.0 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
569 reviews
5.6 mi away
Haycock Hotel
Haycock Hotel
#17 of 27 in Peterborough
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
876 reviews
7.7 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
11.7 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oundle
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Of Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Of Stamford

Property: The George Of Stamford
Address: High Street, Stamford PE9 2LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Of Stamford 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George of Stamford is one of England's greatest coaching inns. It retains the charm and atmosphere of its long history yet offers today's guests every modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The George Of Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Of Stamford Hotel Stamford
George Hotel Stamford
George Stamford
The George Stamford
The George Of Stamford Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing