We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meal in Garden restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The George Of Stamford
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Meal in Garden restaurant”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Did not stay here. Early evening meal in Garden Court Yard. Both of us had lovely main courses and shared a Summer Pudding to die for. We did have a slight wait for a side salad ordered later in the meal but quality of food and the nice setting will mean I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Lovely to read this review, but apologies for the slight delay in your side salad. We hope to see you both again soon in the courtyard, many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    252
    110
    55
    22
See reviews for
227
502
16
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just stayed for two nights on their two day break offer. Excellent stay as usual! Couldn't fault anything. Civilised meal on the first night in the Oak Panelled Restaurant , despite being full. Food and service was excellent, as usual! Unlike on the terrace outside where one table was very noisy and raucous. This was heard when taking our after meal coffee in the lounge.
Breakfast is excellent in their Garden Room. The orchids in all rooms and floral displays were lovely and out of this world!
Our stay was memorable and attention to detail excellent, as usual! Not like our previous stay last year at The William Cecil. We had some Red Letter Day Voucher to use so we stayed at the Cecil! Decor was nice but it was extremely hot - no fan in the room! As it is an old building they couldn't have air con but no fans, well what can I say. Attention to detail was poor especially by the supercilious girls on the reception! They were of no use and only smiled all the time! Food is OK.
So as I said earlier in the title of my review! Glad to be home at The George! See you next year!

Room Tip: Any room as the decor is tastefully done and comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful title and review! We shall look forward to next year so we can look after you again. Thank you so much for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Room No44 was lovely! It was overlooking the street but with the windows closed and the aircon on it was perfect!
I am huge stickler for cleanliness but even my eager eyes couldn't spot anything to be annoyed with! The room was very well appointed, as was the bathroom.
The food was fab and the outside seating area was incredible and made you think you were somewhere romantic in Europe!
The staff were excellent - very polite and welcoming and there was an excellent carpark - we have a cherished car which we parked quite happily and without concern.
But please don't everyone book 44 as we will want to come back and don't want to find it fully booked!!!! :-)

Room Tip: If you like to sleep cool, ask for a room with aircon as not all of them have them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheeandMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Well, thank you very much for giving us such a glowing review. It was superb to read all your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, in Room 44! Many thanks indeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LINCOLNSHIRE
Level Contributor
227 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Another good lunch at this most attractive old hotel. We don't come here very often but it is a treat when we do. Very attentive, friendly staff. Varied menu. Roast beef on the trolley. Dessert trolley. Knowlegable wine waiter. Lovely atmosphere in the Oak Room. Try it and spoil yourself!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GINNIELincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
What a superb review. Thank you for your kind words about the staff and of course the Roast Beef! We hope to see you soon on a Sunday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We recently stayed at the George on an August special as part of our UK trip.This included dinner in their dining room which is well known for the quality of their food, cheese and dessert trolleys.A wide range of wines are also available .The hotel was very busy but the service was unwaveringly calm and professional.If you want to stay in an historical hotel with wonderful atmosphere and quality food and service, this is worth spending the extra money on.

Room Tip: The George has grown over the years- if you have limited mobility request a room that you do not hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review during your visit to the UK. It is truly wonderful to know that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, particularly the food and service. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I am fortunate that business takes me once a year to The George. This is a special experience unlike any othe hotel I have stayed at. It is old so in addition to the atmosphere this creates it does lead to some maze-like journeys to get to your room. These can be small but are all comfortable, well-equipped and clean. The coutyard always seems to attract visitors for drinks and tea whilst the garden room seems to be full of local people enjoying lunch. Dinner is always a bit different with plenty of beef and fish on offer whilst the desert trolley (yes they still have one) is a delight. I am looking forward to my next business meeting

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 288Eurotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you very much for your fantastic review. I was very pleased to read that you always enjoy your stay and of course dinner in the restaurant. We look forward to seeing you on your next business meeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We, four adults one child, stopped for coffee/ cake in the garden seating area of the George late on a thursday afternoon.
There were plenty of spare tables and chairs but several had dirty plates and cups on them. We sat down for at least 10mins in which time no one acknowledged us despite walking past us several times.
We attempted to catch someone's eye but to no avail. We then decided to up and leave and still no one spoke to us.
I have been to the The George on several other occasions and been very happy but this was very disappointing especially when it was my suggestion to go there for coffee!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Smithfamily40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Firstly please accept my sincere apologies. There is no excuse for what appears to have happened when you came for afternoon tea. As you can see from many of the reviews this is not something that normally occurs - but it has and so something has gone very wrong. I have sent you a direct message if you would be so kind to check.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
0.2 mi away
The William Cecil at Stamford
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel Stamford
0.1 mi away
The Bull & Swan
The Bull & Swan
#4 of 7 in Stamford
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
551 reviews
7.7 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
5.6 mi away
Haycock Hotel
Haycock Hotel
#17 of 27 in Peterborough
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Of Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Of Stamford

Property: The George Of Stamford
Address: High Street, Stamford PE9 2LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Of Stamford 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George of Stamford is one of England's greatest coaching inns. It retains the charm and atmosphere of its long history yet offers today's guests every modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The George Of Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Of Stamford Hotel Stamford
George Hotel Stamford
George Stamford
The George Stamford
The George Of Stamford Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing