We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just a hotel ! An experience ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The George Of Stamford
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Pakistan
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not just a hotel ! An experience ”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

The minute you walk onto this property you feel instantly transported ! The fact that it's over a 1000 yrs old and was managed by the treasurer of queen Elizabeth the 1st may have a lot to do with this.
The public spaces are beautifully decorated with warm, wooded and deep colours and the memorabilia make you feel that you are living in a very upperclass elite establishment . The staff are very attentive and polite and with good etiquette . The rooms are very spacious and classic all decorated and equipped with all the modern amenities . The food in the 3 restaurants is outstanding !! There is a beautiful garden associated with the property as well with pockets of seating areas and is as charming as any other part of the property. Highly recommend this to anyone looking to be romanced by a space with history, beauty and hospitality.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Maroof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Such a great review, thank you very much. I am so pleased that you enjoy all areas of the George!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    257
    114
    59
    25
See reviews for
235
521
17
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I booked the George for an Anniversary night away with good food. The hotel has plenty of character and the orchids all over the place beautiful. It was nice that the hotel both in our room with a card and in the restaurant with a firework dessert remembered without any prompt that we were an anniversary couple - nice touch.
Our room, described as a Roadside room was spacious and ok, the bathroom excellent with separate bath and shower and very modern. We did not find it noisy as the double glazing works well, but it was very hot. The hotel had provided a fan - at this price point, air conditioning would have been better.
We had a pre-dinner drink in the main bar and it was nice to see that the restuarant spotted us going in and brought menus immediately. The price of two drinks was very expensive on my bill the next day. Order taken, a surprise amuse bouche arrive, nice touch again, but they were 'safe' rather than exciting the palette. The Oak Panelled room is for formal dining and a suitable standard of dress is mandatory. The staff were excellent, very attentive, polite and friendly - one word of advice though - probably best not to tell the customer that they have used the wrong knife, but just quietly replace it would have been more subtle. It was a shame that our table was so close to the kitchen which became apparent later in the meal as staff kept pushing past us. There was a good selection on the menu and the food was good. But that is were it stayed - good. It lacked a wow factor. At this level, good is expected, something special elevates the experience and this was lacking. Huge cheese and sweet trolleys are perhaps weapons of the past and there are more inventive ways of delivering these to diners.
All in all a pleasant experience, I would reccomemend a visit to others, but at nearly £350 for two, we would look elsewhere for a more memorable stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you for your comments. Obviously I am disappointed that you didn’t find us to be great. We do have many air conditioned rooms, but because we are such an old building it is difficult to install in all the rooms, hence the Dyson fans. Our cheese and pudding trolleys are part of the George experience and this is a wow factor for many.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2014

The George, there is not a lot more that can be said that has not already been written. This visit was our second one, the first being another special occasion, our Ruby Anniversary. Each of these occasions we found the overall setting, gardens, accommodation, food and most importantly the staff absolutely fantastic. I must single out the staff for special thanks, they were always there to assist be it in a domestic or restrauant requirement, but at the same time not invading our space - that in itself is an art. I was privy to observe the staff under pressure when a sudden exceptionally heavy cloud burst on the guests taking afternoon tea in the courtyard area, without hesitation a number of staff appeared from nowhere to assist the patrons to dry and sheltered parts of the hotel; in particular helping someone who was not able to move quickly without additional support, We would recommend the George to one and all.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I am very pleased to see that we always look after you so well, especially when you are celebrating such special occasions. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

A great hotel in many ways - lovely settings, comfy lounges, good car parking, excellent breakfasts. there are only four things that prevent me from giving it 5 stars...the room was very small for the price (the bathroom was nearly the same size as the room), staff were talking loudly and sweeping the yard and fire escape directly outside the room at 8 am a Sunday, no tea and coffee making facilities in the room and staff did not come to ask if you wanted anything in the lounges or courtyard - you had to try and get their attention which wasn't easy if they were busy or just not around However once you could get served, all staff were charming.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abba80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you for your review and for your kind comments. The staff should not have been talking loudly so early on Sunday and I was sad to read that you had to try and get their attention- we will work on this. We don’t like to have tea & coffee trays in the rooms as we prefer to freshly make it for you. I do hope that even though you found your room to be small that everything was perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Our staff at The George was a delight. A comfortable hotel with good rooms and outstanding service. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and cheerful. I got the feeling that they liked working at the hotel. Full marks to the cleaner who stopped her work to help my father with his suitcase!
The lounge was comfy to sit in or for a drink. The food was excellent. The gardens are well worth a visit.
Thank you for a lovely stay.

Ps The ladies toilet is well worth a visit! The decoration is wonderful.

Room Tip: Some room can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you so much for this review! We do have wonderful staff and I am pleased that they looked after you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Fantastic stay, the rooms were a delight. The gardens were absoloutely beautiful. The hotel restaurant was simply fabulous. I left something in my room - but it was safely kept by the housekeeper who very kindly posted it back to me - i cannot fault this lovely place

Room Tip: roooms are all fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for this fantastic review. It was a pleasure to read. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This is one of the grand old county hotels of England. Built in a monastery garden and run as a hotel since (at least) the time of Queen Elizabeth I, it has everything one could wish for. Glorious old rooms, spacious lounges, a perfect outdoor terrace, extraordinary breakfast room in a huge conservatory with a jungle of plants, orchids everywhere, huge numbers of helpful and professional staff. The whole place oozes olde English charm and history. And it's perfectly situated in the centre of town and within walking distance of Burleigh. Never mind the crumbling brickwork, smell and clatter from the kitchens, general lack of refrigeration, and the hint of food poisoning - the heritage value makes it all worthwhile.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms above the kitchens, which are noisy and full of the smell of breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colour-Professor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you so much for your review. You kind words are greatly appreciated by the whole team. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
0.2 mi away
The William Cecil at Stamford
8.0 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
569 reviews
5.6 mi away
Haycock Hotel
Haycock Hotel
#17 of 27 in Peterborough
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
876 reviews
7.7 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
11.7 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oundle
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Of Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Of Stamford

Property: The George Of Stamford
Address: High Street, Stamford PE9 2LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Of Stamford 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George of Stamford is one of England's greatest coaching inns. It retains the charm and atmosphere of its long history yet offers today's guests every modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The George Of Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Of Stamford Hotel Stamford
George Hotel Stamford
George Stamford
The George Stamford
The George Of Stamford Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing