We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special Birthday” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stamford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Garden House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Stamford
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Special Birthday”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

We stayed one night using a Groupon voucher.Found the hotel in need of refurbishment Do not stay in a downstairs room because of noise banging from 2 fire doors being closed night and morning .Work going on with workmen on the roof at 7.30. We were pleased we had only booked the one night stay. Reception and checking out made us feel very unwelcome. We felt sad as friends had recommended the hotel. Food was however excellent.

Room Tip: .not downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marleen937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    55
    37
    22
    11
See reviews for
23
71
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We too used a Groupon voucher for a 2 night stay. The meal we had included was of Michelin star standard. An amuse bouche and a sorbet course were complementary and the standard of the starter and main course was superb.
The rooms are comfortable but the restaurant and gardeb are really beautiful.
The staff found nothing too much trouble and were very friendly. When my husband had a whisky discussion with the restaurant manager he brought a bottle of his own for my husband to try.
This hotel may not be 'The George' in Stamford but if you do not want to pay 'The George' prices you will get food and service every bit as good.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

we stayed for one night using a groupon voucher, its a little gem,it has a very welcoming feel to it, we had a wonderful two course dinner, my husband says it was on par with a meal we had in a 5 star hotel some years ago, was beautifully presented as was the breakfast,bedroom was comfortable, had everything that we needed, bathroom was dated and tired looking,but everwhere was lovely and clean. All of the staff we came into contact with were polite and friendly. lovely gardens, and a short walk into the center of stamford.would definitley recommend this delightful hotel.

Room Tip: would request a first floor room next time did get some noise from guests in room above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harry1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

The hotel is not a modern hotel, but to fit in with the local area this is perfect. A very warm welcome from all the staff was received and they were extremely helpful, we only stayed one evening but we would recommend a long weekend stay if you had time. The rooms were exteemely comfortable and clean. We didnt have dinner because we wanted to explore the town. We took a family room, it was the last room and they were able to accomodate us, a very good sized room. We had some drinks in the room and the service was quick and efficient.

Breakfast - this was very good, hot and tasty. No complaints at all. Service again was welcoming and friendly. If you were lucky enough to get into this hotel, its periodic, warm and comforatable. Good value for money. Yes I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

My wife and I stayed for one night at the Garden House hotel for our wedding anniversary on May 2nd.We had a superior room on the ground floor which was both spacious and extremely comfortable.The two course evening menu was superb.As good if not better than anything we have had in other more expensive hotels.Equally the breakfast was beautifully presented with a huge choice and exceptional service.Overall our experience could not have been more pleasant and we will I hope return on numerous occasions in the future.Mick&Gail Spencer.

Room Tip: We had room 1 which has a lovely view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spenno82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We only, unfortunately, stayed one night in this really lovely old country hotel. The staff were absolutely charming and the food outstanding - both the wonderful dinner and the superb breakfast. Very close for visiting Burghley House (which we thoroughly enjoyed even on a very wet day) and walking into the centre of Stamford. We would not hesitate to return and have already been recommending it to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Groupon deal. Excellent food much better than we were expecting for the money. Olde world hotel. Lively outside eating / drinking area. However rain stopped play ! Standard room Comfortable beds very peaceful. Short walk to lovely town of Stamford. Nearby burghley house free parking and walks in grounds. Friendly deer. Worth a visit

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denisem186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
0.4 mi away
The William Cecil at Stamford
0.2 mi away
The George Of Stamford
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel Stamford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Bull & Swan
The Bull & Swan
#4 of 8 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
8.0 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Old Wisteria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden House Hotel

Property: Garden House Hotel
Address: 42 High Street, Stamford PE9 2LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Stamford
Garden House Hotel Stamford, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing