We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The William Cecil at Stamford
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Quirky luxury”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Just returned from two night stay here having stayed at nearly all of the Hillbrooke now (including the Bull & Swan a couple of minutes down the road- which is also brilliant) I knew we wouldn't be disappointed. Service was excellent, room lovely and lots of nice touches. House keeping came round on both afternoons to check if we needed any of our toiletries or tea items topping up, complimentary vodka liqueur after dinner offered by our waiter who was charming and lovely. Food during breakfast and dinner was delicious and great choice. The WC is a stunningly beautiful place set in the grounds of the Burghley Estate and we really enjoyed our stay but it's the service that stands out here. It's first rate. Really impeccable. Even with weddings taking place- the staff rushed off their feet did an amazing job in making sure we had everything we needed. A massive thanks to all the staff involved during our stay- we'll certainly be back .

Room Tip: We stayed in Plenty- which was a very comfortable room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mindydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Bish0p, General Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such a positive review. I will ensure that all of the staff are made aware of your lovely comments so they can see that their hard work is being recognised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    237
    75
    18
    6
See reviews for
110
375
12
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We spent a couple of nights here recently on their fantastic Beat The Olympics deal.The hotel itself is fascinating, with hundreds of years of history behind it. Our room was nicely quirky with a king sized bed and seemingly antique wooden fittings, spotlessly clean. The breakfasts we had were simply amazing, cooked to very high standards (the Eggs Benedict are particularly recommended). In the warm weather, the outside garden was lovely to sit out in, and nothing was too much trouble for the staff - all of whom were friendly and courteous. A real bonus is the large car park and the proximity to both Stamford town centre and Burleigh - both easy walking. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We went there for a special Olympic deal (£20.12 each for B&B) so it was bound to be excellent value for us. Even at £125 for two it would be worth it - this is a lovely friendly and atmospheric small hotel with really good food. The breakfasts were full, great choice and freshly cooked. Dinner was excellent too and wines good (if a touch costly - most over £20) and available by the glass. Best of all were the staff - mostly young, sharp, responsive and so very friendly they seemed to be really enjoying their work. Rooms are not air-conditioned but are all different, and I would recommend asking for a room at the rear as the hotel borders a busy road and faces south-west so the front rooms are going to be noisier and hotter in the summer. Overall - highly recommended (and you get to see Stamford too - a lovely Georgian town)

Room Tip: Rearward rooms quietest and coolest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris2010_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Bish0p, General Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay on our Olympic Deal and I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to The William Cecil Hotel in the near future. Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We found the staff excellent very friendly and helpful breakfast good only point we want to make is there were no chairs to sit in comfort in our room when you are older and have been out all day it would be nice to sit on a chair in room as you don't always want to go to the lounge or the bar for a four star hotel thought this was poor.
Be aware there are a lot of stairs to go up to the rooms

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs book some where els
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank YorkshireBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Bish0p, General Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
I was delighted to read that you found the staff friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed your breakfast. I am only sorry that you did not have any chairs in your room in which to relax and I will certainly look into this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Stayed here just one night (a Saturday), and very impressed. Staff very friendly and helpful. Ate in the restaurant Saturday night, and service was top notch, as was the food. After the meal we sat outside on the patio on a lovely warm evening with our friends and had a couple more drinks. Breakfast in the morning - lots of choice, but I went for the full English, which was delicious. Hotel grounds ajoin Burghley House, so really great to walk around. Bedroom was very comfortable. Only negative is that we were on the front of the hotel, and the traffic was quite noisy late into the night, and the following morning, but certainly didn't spoil our stay. First ever visit to Stamford, but will definitely be back. It's a lovely town & wouldn't hesitate to stay at the William Cecil again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trimley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Just got back from an all too short one night stay. Loved the place-both quirky and charming; out room was lovely. The staff were fantastic-friendly and so helpful, really can't fault them at all. Only complaint (and this is nit picking) is that the mattress was a bit too 'firm' for us.
can't wait to return but htat may be after we've been to the other hotels in the chain!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 851Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Our first choice was the sister Hotel the Bull and Swan but, were contacted to see if we would move to the William Cecil due to maintenance work in our room at the Bull - we would be upgraded and, a complimentary bottle of champagne. These things happen so we agreed to the move.

Arrived an hour earlier than the check in time - had a drink from the bar and, sat in the nice seating area outside on the patio. 20 minutes later our room was ready. Room 2, the Goody Rudkin.

Decor was lovely - the room was clean apart from a pillow with old stains on that I found when straightening the pillow case the next morning. The lovely comfortable bed had a wooden frame - square posts at the end - on four occassions I banged into them walking to the other side of the bed and, to the bathroom. A nice touch was the bloody Mary taster bottles and, I am annoyed that I did not buy some on checking out as that was my intention. We did not have a room with a view (see photos below) - being on the ground floor I was glad that I shared the room with my Husband as during the night I had to open the window to cool the room, even though this meant that we could hear the generator every time it kicked in. We would not recommend this room for future visits due to its locale. Just wonder if we would have preferred the Bull and Swan - we called for a drink there and, liked the ambiance. Think we were disapointed that we did not have a room with a better locale due, to our booking being altered due to no fault of our own.

Breakfast - a fair timescale for breakfast. We did not have the cooked breakfast so cannot comment. We had the fresh fruit salad and, brown toast - of which was done to perfection in our opinion. The marmalade was lovely, very sharp and, the jam in little jars. Like another reviewer we would have prefered fresh squeezed orange juice. We asked for water and, it came in a jug with ice, a nice touch. The coffee was a lovely blend.

We did notice that the foot beams on the dining tables and, the decorative chests' in the dining room were very dusty - a getting on your hands n knees job due to dark wood showing dust, it cant be ignored really.

A nice Hotel for our one night stay

Room Tip: Look out of the window to see if you are near the generator - especially in the summer as the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Bish0p, General Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Thank you for leaving a very thorough review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I can reassure you that we are in the process of introducing freshly squeezed orange juice at breakfast. I do hope we are able to welcome you back to The William Cecil again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
0.2 mi away
The George Of Stamford
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel Stamford
0.1 mi away
The Bull & Swan
The Bull & Swan
#4 of 7 in Stamford
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
5.4 mi away
Haycock Hotel
Haycock Hotel
#17 of 27 in Peterborough
765 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The William Cecil at Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The William Cecil at Stamford

Property: The William Cecil at Stamford
Address: St Martins, Stamford PE9 2LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The William Cecil at Stamford 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The William Cecil at Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The William Cecil At Stamford Hotel Stamford
The William Cecil At Stamford Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing