We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent except...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The William Cecil at Stamford
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Lovely hotel with excellent service. Couldn't fault the room, staff were friendly and helpful. A lovely breakfast. I was warned after I had booked a room that a party would be taking place in the garden but the music would be switched off at midnight. Unfortunately the party on a warm night was still going strong and loud at 12.30am and once that had stopped the kitchen extractor fan kept us awake. Some improvements such as basic portable air conditioning to avoid keeping windows open in the warm weather would certainly score this pretty hotel 5/5.

Room Tip: Room 18 next to the fire escape and a noisy extractor. Couldn't keep the window open while out a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We're sorry that you were disturbed by a party at the hotel. We always try and ensure all guests who book with us are warned in advance if we have an event at the hotel whilst they are staying. We're delighted that you enjoyed the remainder of your stay and very much hope to see you back here soon, perhaps on a quieter evening!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (750)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 750 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

After booking by phone , and asking for a room away from traffic noise, on arrival we were informed we had been given an upgrade to the Chinois Room. This room was fine, the bed very comfortable, tea and coffee products excellent, we had a bath and a separate shower cubicle, although there are 3 steps down into the bathroom. The room had every thing apart from 1 thing- A Bathroom Door. The steps down are covered by a curtain ! The extraction fan in the bathroom runs on for 15 mins after the light has been turned off, and is noisy, so if you pop to the loo during the night you have the option of turning on the bathroom light, and lying awake until the fan stops, or go in the dark and guess where the stairs are. The fan noise could be reduced by closing the bathroom door but that's not an option. The cheaper rooms have a door so why only a curtain here?
The large sash windows have only 2 positions fully open or closed, as they are out of balance, only closing them involves getting the Receptionist (who claims to be adept at this) to come to the room stand on a chair and then struggle to lift the heavy window. No traffic noise but kitchen ventilation system starts up at 6am.
The breakfast was excellent, superb bacon. Lovely grounds.

Room Tip: Chinois Room is Room 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that you didn't appreciate some of our more quirky touches. Whilst our decision to put a curtain instead of a door in Chinois was a deliberate choice to reflect the style of the room, we do understand that it may not be to everyone's taste. Thank you for bringing the maintenance issues to our attention which I'm pleased to say we have now addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

A lovely hotel in a good location ... walking into town only takes a few minutes. The rooms are lovely and the decor is stylish. I loved the extra touches from the organic tipple to the nice cosmetics. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. I have stayed in cheaper hotels in Stamford but this was worth the extra. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Try to avoid those overlooking the main road ... The traffic can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thompsoncroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your great review. We really hope you'll be staying with us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

- - - almost.
This is a wonderful hotel,and we very much look forward to returning.
The position is exceptional;maybe 10 mins stroll to the town centre,15/20 mins amble to Burghley House from the rear of the hotel.
The hotel itself is lovely;the building is really interesting,with extensive outdoor seating,and a comfortable welcoming bar,and pleasant conservatory.A lovely,faintly quirky,dining room.
Lots of parking.
Our bedroom (Botanical) was clean,well equipped and just so interesting;other comments re the standard of consumables in bedroom and bathroom are spot on;we have rarely come across such excellent provision in the UK.
The staff were,without exception,charming,personable,helpful and best of all,proficient;a really good team has developed.
The sign of a good hotel might be the service and food offered at breakfast;this has often seemed to me to be a weak spot.At this hotel both were (again) exceptional;good produce well cooked (and real kippers - not boil in the bag or fillets!),served with a smile and professionalism.
So,why "almost" and a rating of 4?Because of the evening meal.
The service was,of course,exemplary,but our food was poor.Certainly style over substance,and cooked badly.All four mains were cold on arrival at table;the fish was a tasteless soggy item,with very little of the promised sauce;the lamb was three thin cutlets (not a rack at all,and usually comprising 4/5 small chops - attached) French trimmed badly and with a small amount of acrid jus;sweets just poor.And none of this is cheap.
Really disappointing,and quite out of keeping with the rest of the experience.
So,stay here and have a super time;I would eat out (as we did the second night);maybe at the Bull and Swan?

Room Tip: Go one grade up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhallyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your review. I'm really sorry that your evening meal somewhat tarnished an otherwise very enjoyable stay. We are about to change our restaurant menu to reflect some of the fantastic new season produce now available and have taken on board your comments when making changes. We hope to see you back at the hotel very soon so that you can have opportunity to try it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Wow - what a fabulous hotel. We just returned to Stamford to visit family, and chose this cosy little place - it didn't disappoint.

The rooms were beautiful, with such homely, well thought out touches. The best in-room tea and coffee facilities I have seen in a long while (biscuits, a fine selection of teas etc proper milk, a cafetiere to name but a few) along with a complimentary tipple next to your bed!

Room was clean, well thought out, and the bed and cushions offered the best nights sleep we have had in a while.

The restaurant served spectacular food, and their breakfast in the mornings was small but perfectly formed - the choice was well balanced and the choices were great - you could not want for more (I thoroughly recommend the Eggs Benedict, whilst my husband's cooked breakfast was confirmed as being scrummy!).

The hotel itself had many areas to sit and have a drink, or simply read a book or paper whilst relaxing. The spaces and atmosphere are spot on.

Attentive staff who really were so professional, polite, and helpful - nothing was too much trouble.

They know what they're doing, and they're doing it well. Keep up the good work.

We will return, without a doubt.

Thank you for a fabulous Bank Holiday weekend!

Room Tip: If you like a shower, make sure your room has one. Our room was in the eves, and perhaps as a result...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review. We're really pleased you had such an enjoyable stay and can't wait to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Beautiful hotel, a lovely calm atmosphere in a beautiful building. It was our second stay at this hotel and it didn't disappoint, beautiful room (stayed in culpepper) with all the little extras that make a stay even more special....cafetiere in room, mini bottle of spirit by the bed...truffles and vodka after evening meal...)which was delicious!!!) Beautifully cooked breakfast...couldn't really ask for much more from a hotel! Will most definitely be back again!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

You can't get better than that! Thank you so much for such a lovely review. The whole team are chuffed to bits that you had such an enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed at The William Cecil for two nights to celebrate my wife's birthday with her brother and wife. We had directly booked a luxury room each inclusive of dinner, bed and breakfast. A good tone was set before arrival when the receptionist taking the booking agreed to waive corkage on a fine vintage champagne I wished to bring along. All the staff were welcoming and helpful though I had to tell the young barman what went into a Dry Martini cocktail!!! Breakfast was good. For the second night's dinner in the main restaurant our request to additionally choose items from the other restaurant was readily accepted; just as well as otherwise the same menu for two nights would have been limiting. Service was excellent and to say we had no complaints about the food would be mean spirited so I'll say that it was very acceptable. Our room was the grandly named and large Queen of Palmira which looked out on to the main road into Stamford. The mattress was not firm enough and I woke up with an aching back. After 7 o'clock it got increasingly noisy due to the early morning rush hour traffic and which the old secondary double glazing failed to attentuate. Not what you want for a slow start after a late celebratory evening in the bar. We would happily return to the Cecil but to a quieter room and a firmer mattress next time please.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the main road if you do not want to be woken up early by the traffic in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xandru52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for your review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and really pleased that all the staff made such an excellent lasting impression on you. We clearly need to invest some more time in making sure all our team are more au fait with some basic cocktail skills and to this end we will ensure we do this over the coming weeks.

The main road can be a bit noisy from time to time but we do have plenty of rooms which look out over the terrace and gardens as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
0.2 mi away
The George Of Stamford
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel Stamford
0.1 mi away
The Bull & Swan
The Bull & Swan
#4 of 7 in Stamford
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
596 reviews
8.2 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
924 reviews
7.9 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The William Cecil at Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The William Cecil at Stamford

Address: St Martins, Stamford PE9 2LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Stamford
Price Range: £99 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The William Cecil at Stamford 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The William Cecil at Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The William Cecil At Stamford Hotel Stamford
The William Cecil At Stamford Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing