We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exemplary Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The William Cecil at Stamford
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Exemplary Customer Service”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for an overnight stay in Stamford I cannot rate the William Cecil highly enough. In our extensive travel experience we have never received such attentive service as we did here. From checking in to having a drink in the bar to dinner and breakfast and finally to checking out we could not find a single thing to fault. Well done the William Cecil, we loved staying with you.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind words. The team work extremely hard to make sure every guest leaves happy so they'll be delighted to read your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    237
    75
    18
    6
See reviews for
110
375
12
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I've just returned from a one-night stay at The William Cecil hotel; it was my first time there and I was not disappointed. The staff could not have been more helpful and the grounds and hotel itself are splendid. The purpose for our stay was to attend the Burghley House Film Festival, which was also an excellent event (made even better by the great weather we enjoyed). We didn't have an evening meal in the hotel, so cant comment on that but the breakfast was lovely - a good selection of quality, locally sourced food and good service. You can walk into Stamford town centre from the hotel quite easily, where you can enjoy a great range of independent shop, cafes and restaurants. Stamford is a beautiful historic town and a pleasure to visit. We'd definitely stay at The William Cecil again (I hope to return with my Husband later in the year) and highly recommend the hotel to anyone seeking a relaxing break in beautiful surroundings. Back to work today but wishing I was back there!

Room Tip: The rooms are individually decorated and being an old building vary in size, shape etc so I'd su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for the great review. Make sure you don't wait until next year's film festival to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed two nights at The William Cecil. The service on all counts was excellent, unobtrusive but attentive and it is a beautiful place. I stayed in Tijou while my mother was in Sarah Hoggins. In respect of Tijou, the windows are high up and double glazed so it was hard to get a breath of air on what turned out to be the hottest weekend of the year so far! I was provided with a small desk fan but to be honest it was almost impossible to sleep, despite the very comfortable bed. Perhaps they should consider some portable air conditioning units for the rooms with less ventilation. Another downside was the lack of a shower. Due to the positioning within the bathroom and the sloping ceilings it was not possible to take a shower without soaking the bathroom floor! There is a hand shower at least, so you can wash your hair but anything more than this requires one to run a bath. Also, I could only find one accessible double socket in which to plug the hairdryer and straighteners in front of a mirror (this meant unplugging the fan so it was even hotter with the hairdryer on!) and there was no suitcase stand so unpacking was either off the floor or putting the case on the bed - no mean feat when the bed is so high and the suitcase is heavy! There are also a lot of stairs to go up so if I return I will ask for a more disabled - friendly room as there are no lifts.

The food is very good. On arrival we had a club sandwich each which was very tasty and served in the bar (see photo) - a very prettily decorated room in duck-egg blue. Again my critiscism would be the lack of air - I realise that opening the windows may be tricky and can sometimes let in more heat but the whole place could benefit from some Dyson fans if air cooling is not possible. This was particularly noticeable at breakfast in the dining room which was almost unbearably hot. The cooked breakfast was very tasty and well cooked/presented. To be blunt, I think that dinner was a little chichi - I am not a fan of food piled on top of each other - I don't want my steak "bleeding" into my mash and there was a distinct lack of sauce. I have quite a sophisticated palate, having eaten at most of the best restaurants in France and London so perhaps I am judging a bit harshly. I feel that with quality, simple fare it is far easier to achieve excellence than by being overly fussy (e.g. when my dish says "selection of baby vegetables" I expect more than 1 trimmed carrot, 1 mini turnip and a baby stick of fennel all arranged on my plate. I'd call that a garnish!!). I believe most people would prefer Steak, Sauce and a choice of potatoes or other veg. It's just my opinion but I was daunted by the menu a bit as there was something I'm not keen on in every dish.

I realise I have made a lot of criticisms but in fact it was a very pleasant stay. I found the staff very pleasant and happy, which is always nice. There was plenty of parking and the terraces are very pleasant for drinks before and after dinner.

Room Tip: There are a lot of stairs, so if that is an issue, book a ground floor room. VERY hot in the summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tora858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for your very constructive and helpful review. Whilst it was unseasonably hot when you stayed, I do accept that maybe we should have done more to try and cool our bedrooms. Your suggestion of portable aircon units is a very good one and we will certainly look into it next time we have a similar spell of weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night recently for a friends wedding. On arrival we parked in the large and easily accessible car park and made our way to reception where we were met by extremely helpful staff who quickly booked us in and directed us to out room, I can't remember the name of the room but it's on the first floor at the front of the building.

The room was a reasonable size, clean and comfortable, especially the bed, with a compact but perfectly acceptable en-suite. I note that some other guests have commented about traffic noise from the busy main road outside, whilst it's fair to say it is busy during the day the traffic levels drop dramatically after about 6pm and we had no problems at all sleeping with the windows open throughout the night.

The owners make a feature of the quirky nature of the rooms and the decor throughout and we found this quite refreshing, certainly more interesting than your run of the mill chain hotels with their bland decor and anonymous layouts, well done to the William Cecil for daring to be different.

Now, I am very much a steak and chips type of fella so the following should not be seen as a criticism of the chef but I think it only fair to warn prospective visitors that the evening meal was something of a revelation to me, and could catch out the uninitiated. I enjoy my food but I'm not used to it being presented as an art form, therefore I was more than a little surpised when my steak meal arrived and I was confronted with three very small pieces of meat neatly topped off with approximately four French beans, and the whole artistic arrangement was framed with a thick liquid which I am reliably informed was a jus.

On checking the menu I confirmed my intial suspcion that I had been presenteded with 'Chef's interpretation' of an evening meal. Having overcome my surprise I ate and thoroughly enjoyed the food but I could easily have accomodated a hearty round of fish and chips afterwards ........you have been warned! In fairness to Chef, breakfast was marvellous with all the usual fare, if you visit, make sure you try the locally sourced honeycomb provided at breakfast as even a fella with as uneducated a Palate as mine found it absolutely delicious.

A couple of other points worth noting, the building is old and has obviously undergone many alterations over the years which has lead to the need for a number of changes in floor level, and the instlation of numerous staircases, in view of this, those that are less mobile may be best advised to request a room on the ground floor. For those looking for a traditional pub with a fine slection of real ales, the hotel owns a pub situated a few minutes walk away which provided a very warm welcome and a wide selection of well kept and in the main locally sourced ales.

Would we visit again, yes definitely but I'll need to study up on nouvelle cuisine beforehand.

Room Tip: Wedding receptions are sometimes held in a marquee to the rear of the hotel, on these occasions I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you had a such an enjoyable stay albeit a tad disappointed to hear that your meal in the restaurant wasn't exactly how you like it. We do offer 'simpler' fare on our bar menu including a truly scrumptious sirloin steak with onion rings, chips & a lovely peppercorn or béarnaise sauce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This was our second visit to the William Cecil and we chose to stay in a Chic room this time as we found the Classic rather small. Our room Bacchus, number 18 was at the rear of the hotel overlooking a flat roof. The very large bed was extremely comfortable and this was a definite plus about the room, together with a reasonably sized bathroom. The downside was the noise of a fan on the roof. We like to play cards and there was a long table which was useful. There was only one chair and we asked for another one. I think the first request must have been forgotten but when we asked again, a chair arrived within 10 minutes. On our second day we asked a member of staff who was cleaning the rooms if we could have a replacement bottle of water. She advised us that a delivery was due and she would put one in our room later. She did! Although this may seem a very small incident, it displays a concern for guest's needs. We decided to eat in the conservatory and were impressed with the quality of the food and the service we received. What was particularly impressive was the way our waitress dealt with another guest who had become unwell and who was sitting outside. She and another member of staff were genuinely concerned for the guest's welfare and provided practical help. She then very professionally resumed her waitressing duties.
As last time, the breakfast was delicious and we were delighted to see the vanilla pineapple and honeycomb on the table again! As the design of the building is quite unique and the bedrooms all have their own individual layout, it would be helpful to have this visual information, linking the names of the bedrooms with their room numbers. Although the staff are very helpful and able to advise about rooms, we feel this information could be helpful to guests. That being said, our request for this information was dealt with efficiently. We certainly hope to visit for a third time.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank krhBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for your very kind and helpful review. We are hoping to add further chairs to many of our bedrooms later this year so you should no longer need to request this during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
123 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

At all costs avoid 'stretch the upholsterer' room 23. It is disgraceful that the hotel dares to let this room. Undoubtedly the worst room in the hotel no doubt for servants of old and unfortunates of new I had the worst night sleep ever!!

Whilst I appreciate I was informed room had limited head height at 5' 8" I felt like Gulliver! The room is tiny and badly maintained and laid out but the worst factor of the room is the stifling heat. The room is so small, in the attic and with minimal ventilation it is impossible to sleep - no fan available and if you open the tiny window you can't sleep with the noise.

Reception here was a joke, painfully slow and inefficient. When I complained about my room and the heat all I had in response was 'oh we must get around to putting a fan in there', yet they continue to charge over £100

This would have been 1 star if it weren't for the reasonable breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKlondon09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for your review. Despite us informing you prior to arrival that you were in a small room with a low ceiling, I'm sorry to hear that your stay did not live up to expectations. At the time of your visit we were experiencing unseasonably hot weather but I do accept that we should have provided a fan in your room. We are currently looking into various air conditioning options for the room so that other guests don't have a similar experience in our smaller rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We held our wedding at The William Cecil in June. After plenty of venue visiting and researching we came across a true gem in The William Cecil. We were looking for somewhere that could host our very personal, intimate and relaxed wedding. Full of ideas we made an appointment with Vicki and after looking around and going through how our ideas could work we were instantly won over. It was perfect!
The venue is so versatile; being blessed with a gorgeous summer day we held our welcome drinks on the sun-trap terrace, followed by the marquee to host our wedding breakfast - which Juliet worked hard at turning our ideas into reality in terms of layout and decoration! We then made good use of the beautifully maintained gardens for outdoor drinks & games and then into the Burghley room for our evening reception which has ample room for lots of dancing and mingling! We have attached a couple of photos to the review. We cannot rate the venue, its staff, the food, and all over service highly enough. We would recommend this not only as a wedding venue, but a great place to stay if you are looking for a hotel set in gorgeous grounds, peaceful ambience, individual character, excellent staff and great food. It is a great location for exploring the local area, but in all honesty the place is so lovely, you might not want to leave!
Our guests described the venue as having the ‘wow’ factor and some even said they were going to come back themselves to celebrate their special dates here. The rooms are fabulous and individually designed so would recommend researching on the website to see what you need from your room to make sure it has everything you need, but rest assured you will not be disappointed with any. The included breakfast is amazing! The venue is well maintained and beautifully decorated, we love the character of the property, but without the excellent staff the venue would not be what it is. The attention to detail here is fantastic and nothing is too much trouble, the personalised experience here is rare and something which sets it apart from the competition.
We would like to give a massive THANK YOU to all of the staff, Vicki, Juliet, the bar staff, the waiters & waitresses, Phil & the kitchen staff, the cleaning staff – EVERYONE you made our wedding the best day of our lives and we will treasure the memories we made here with you all.
We will definitely return! Laura & Ed xxx

Room Tip: The 9th Earl!! Fabulous room with a private garden!! Well worth money :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSH777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
What a cracking review! Thank you so much for your kind words. The whole team we're delighted to look after you and your guests and are so pleased to see that their hard work was very much appreciated. Congratulations and best wishes to both of you from everyone at the William Cecil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
0.2 mi away
The George Of Stamford
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel Stamford
0.1 mi away
The Bull & Swan
The Bull & Swan
#4 of 7 in Stamford
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
5.4 mi away
Haycock Hotel
Haycock Hotel
#17 of 27 in Peterborough
765 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The William Cecil at Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The William Cecil at Stamford

Property: The William Cecil at Stamford
Address: St Martins, Stamford PE9 2LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The William Cecil at Stamford 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The William Cecil at Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The William Cecil At Stamford Hotel Stamford
The William Cecil At Stamford Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing