We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raj of India

Raj of India
Ranked #63 of 111 Restaurants in Stamford
Cuisines: Indian, Balti
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Peterborough
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Very nice meal on a Saturday night. Popped over on Saturday evening to watch a friends band play . Fancied a curry first . Never been here before . Liked the different dishes on the menu . Typical decor inside to building . Cosy restaurant . Just had main course . South Indian garlic chicken was superb. Lemon rice was great with it . kurkuri bhindi was an excellent side dish. The Pershwari Naan bread was quality . Plenty of veggie dishes . A very nice meal . Worth a look if your in Stamford or travelling to if u love a nice Indian meal .

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JamesBond0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    21
    8
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing !!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have just returned from The Raj ..... Our daughter took us for my husband' s birthday. We were greeted by two moody waiters who took our order. The popodums and pickles were the best part of the meal!! My husband's starter came with a horrendous piece of plastic in it which he very nearly swallowed!! The waiter gave some mumbled excuse! We ordered a varied selection of main courses and side dishes which came quite rapidly. We all tried each others dishes only to find they all tasted very similar ...... Very bland!! Even my husband's jalfrezi wasn't very spicy! When the bill came we told them our thoughts which they replied the owner isn't here tonight! They gave us 10% off the bill and a 10 pound voucher off for our next visit. We were recommended this restaurant as we are Indian food lovers. We will not be returning in a hurry!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 443Sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

As an American in England I've come to expect slow service. The service here was prompt, the staff was helpful, the portions were big, and the food was excellent. If you are undecided about where to eat in Stamford, go here.

Helpful?
Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Many Indian restaurants have the same old menu choices in indifferent surroundings. The Raj of India was quite the opposite, attentive staff, some unexpected options on the menu (Duck and Salmon) and pleasant surroundings.

The only thing we found was the sauces seemed a little more sweet than we are used to. As we live in a country where Indian cuisine is prevalent this may actually be a view based on our experiences abroad and should not necessarily detract from the overall experience in this restaurant.

Good value for money and we will certainly dine there again when we return to the town.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank charleyboy1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

When visiting family in Stamford we always have an Indian takeaway from the Raj. The food is excellent and always very tasty. The portion size is extremely generous and the meat used is high quality. Cannot fault any meal that we have had and never had a mix up with the order, unlike other takeaway establishments. Looking forward to eating in the restaurant sometime this year, family permitting!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sue1955_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Raj of India also viewed

Stamford, Lincolnshire
Stamford, Lincolnshire
 
Stamford, Lincolnshire
Stamford, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Raj of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing