We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old School Great Bangla Deshi Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Raj of India

Raj of India
Ranked #64 of 114 Restaurants in Stamford
Cuisines: Indian, Balti
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Old School Great Bangla Deshi Food”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I have been eating so called Indian food since 1967 and this restaurant takes me back to the early days. Simple, well cooked, generous and delicious! The guys are friendly and swift but still have time to explain Bangla Deshi politics to me.
On Tues and Weds a special deal of starter, main course, rice or bread and a side dish for £10 takes some beating.
I look forward to my next visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    21
    8
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Indian we've had in a long time (and birthday cake)”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We went in the fair week of Stamford. We booked in advance and enjoyed a lovely 3 course dinner. The service was prompt and friendly, the atmosphere is so typically like you'd want to see in an Indian restaurant and we had a very enjoyable meal. All 5 of us chose something different and everyone said theirs was good.

THIS IS THE BEST BIT...WHEN THEY FOUND OUT IT WAS MY SON'S BIRTHDAY THEY PRODUCED A WHOLE CHOCOLATE SPONGE CAKE WITH CANDLES AT THE END OF THE MEAL! and, no, we hadn't told them in advance so it was a very nice 'personal' gesture.

On leaving we were given a 10% off next visit voucher so we will be using it very soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank georgina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Very nice meal on a Saturday night. Popped over on Saturday evening to watch a friends band play . Fancied a curry first . Never been here before . Liked the different dishes on the menu . Typical decor inside to building . Cosy restaurant . Just had main course . South Indian garlic chicken was superb. Lemon rice was great with it . kurkuri bhindi was an excellent side dish. The Pershwari Naan bread was quality . Plenty of veggie dishes . A very nice meal . Worth a look if your in Stamford or travelling to if u love a nice Indian meal .

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JamesBond0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing !!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have just returned from The Raj ..... Our daughter took us for my husband' s birthday. We were greeted by two moody waiters who took our order. The popodums and pickles were the best part of the meal!! My husband's starter came with a horrendous piece of plastic in it which he very nearly swallowed!! The waiter gave some mumbled excuse! We ordered a varied selection of main courses and side dishes which came quite rapidly. We all tried each others dishes only to find they all tasted very similar ...... Very bland!! Even my husband's jalfrezi wasn't very spicy! When the bill came we told them our thoughts which they replied the owner isn't here tonight! They gave us 10% off the bill and a 10 pound voucher off for our next visit. We were recommended this restaurant as we are Indian food lovers. We will not be returning in a hurry!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 443Sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, Great service”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

As an American in England I've come to expect slow service. The service here was prompt, the staff was helpful, the portions were big, and the food was excellent. If you are undecided about where to eat in Stamford, go here.

Helpful?
Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Raj of India also viewed

Stamford, Lincolnshire
Stamford, Lincolnshire
 
Stamford, Lincolnshire
Stamford, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Raj of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing