We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect place!”

Review of Piper House

50 foot reception room, with large screen TV and two separate seating areas
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
50 foot reception room, with large screen TV and two separate seating areas
View of reception room 50 foot reception, light and space in Piper House, Aunby
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
50 foot reception room, with large screen TV and two separate seating areas
View of reception room
50 foot reception, light and space in Piper House, Aunby
Kitchen/diner, table seats 16-18 people
View from the outside showing Piper House
Small terrace garden overlooking the meadow
Walk out into open countryside onto a bridleway accessible from right outside Piper House
View from the lake in the wildflower meadow, not yet in flower here.
Tennis court built in 2016 - you are welcome to use this for tennis only please!
Bedroom 1, made up as double. This bedroom has full sized single permanently in room (behind camera)
Bedroom 2, made up as twins - shares bathroom with bedroom 1 and is on first floor
Bedroom 2, made up as a double- shares bathroom with bedroom 1 and is on first floor
Bedroom 3 - shown as a twin - can be a double. Has ensuite shower room
Bedroom 3 - shown as a double, with ensuite shower room
Bedroom 4 - shown here as a triple
Bedroom 4 as a double - the single bed is behind the photographer. Can be configured as 3 singles
Bedroom 5 as a twin room - has ensuite shower room and can be a double
Bedroom 5 as a double room - can also be a twin
Bedroom 6, which can be configured as twins (here) or a superkingsized double
Bedroom 6 shown as a double bedded room
Bedroom 7, shown here as a triple room
Ensuite shower room for bedroom 2
sink detail, bathroom for bedroom 2
The TV snug, in the cottage, beneath beds 6&7
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 17
Stamford, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laura D
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect place!”
Reviewed 21 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

I stayed here for a girly weekend and it was perfect! The cottage is huge and has everything you could need. It is very comfortable and Kate was brilliant at helping us organise our stay and made us feel very welcome! We got taxis in to Stamford which was about a 10 minute drive costing £15 each way. I would highly recommend this cottage and will hopefully coming back one day!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2016
Hi Laura - thank you so much for taking the time to review us. I am really pleased to hear that you had such a good weekend. Hope to see you again sometime. Best wishes for NYE!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridge322
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a great place to stay”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a great place to stay for our family get together. Accommodation and facilities accurately described on website, very comfortable rooms and loads of space. We made full use of the garden and the amazing tennis court. Local friendly pubs met the catering needs of our large group efficiently (having pre booked). A nearby garden centre has an excellent tea room serving delicious cakes, light lunches, breakfast baps – and Sunday brunch.

The owner Katie was very helpful from booking enquiries and advising on rooms to the prompt return of deposit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amount of space
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandadar...
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Location, Property and Hospitality!”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for two nights recently and couldn't fault anything. We were made very welcome on our arrival and were given a thorough tour of the extremely spacious and tastefully furnished house. It was very well equipped and spotlessly clean. The house is in a stunning and peaceful location with picturesque countryside views. There is a beautiful wild flower meadow which we thoroughly enjoyed pottering in. It was a fantastic surprise to us to discover a brand new tennis court which was ideal for us and our two children, so we played every day with the loan of their tennis equipment. It was brilliant having the market town of Stamford so close by.
We would definitely have no hesitation in recommending it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j9471
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Not family friendly”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We visited this property as a 4 families of 4.

Firstly I'd like to say that Katie was exceptionally helpful with all the organisations and I couldn't fault this.
However it all deteriorated after our arrival.

The property details include a large meadow which we thought would be perfect for the children to run around in. However, on arrival we were asked that the children stick to the mown paths as otherwise they would destroy the wild flowers. I understand this but it is unrealistic to expect young kids to not want to run around in a lovely meadow.
In addition we were shown the tennis court which we were told we could use. So we did. Our children ran and used their scooters on the court. The owners children used the court as well which felt very uncomfortable for us as guests.

So it was a shock to be accused of gouging out a hole in the tarmac of the court. This was obviously disputed by ourselves and we eventually successfully received our deposit back. However this whole incident was very upsetting and ruined our stay.

I question if this property is suitable for families with small children. Additionally we did not enjoy the owners and their family being on site as we were made to feel guilty for using the facilities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
We have been operating for 12 years and there are very few weekends in the year that we are not occupied, with many repeat guests. About 50% of our guests are family gatherings, most with young children as can be seen within our multitude of reviews. This is the first time such comments have been made, either in our reviews or to us verbally. We feel the house is well suited for family gatherings and try our best to make families and children welcome. We are parents of 4 children ourselves!
The wild flower meadow is eleven years old now, and is over 3 acres with paths cut each year so that people can walk around through the waist high flowers and trees and enjoy the small lake. Other guests have reported that running around in the maze-like paths has been a definite highlight for their children. I hope many future children will also enjoy this game! The paths also have a serious purpose – they protect some quite rare plants we have managed to attract, and ground nesting birds at some times of the year. Having people running through the flowers would be quite destructive and would be a shame. Other groups with children have not had any problems with this.
The tennis court was installed earlier this year. It is so new that when this group booked it was not mentioned in the particulars as we were not sure when it would be finished, so it was in effect an added bonus for them. When they arrived, the surface was finished and immaculate but it had not yet been spray painted. It just had white lines spray painted roughly, to allow play while we waited for the weather to allow the final spray. The multiple holes (caused by rocks and a metal rod) in the surface were kindly repaired free of charge by the manufacturers when they painted and finished the court. Had the damage been made post the green spray painting, the cost of repair would have been extremely high and way above the deposit. The guests were very fortunate in their timing - and so were we!
The meadow, and now the tennis court are facilities we have installed and both are not for the exclusive use of people renting Piper House and we have happily shared them with all other guests, and we hope we will continue to enjoy them with many future guests.
We live next to Piper House, as mentioned in the details on the house, and I am disappointed to hear that this group felt that we encroached on them. We have never before had a complaint about it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigletdub
1 review
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at Piper House to celebrate my father in laws 80th birthday and was the perfect place for our large family gathering. Katie was especially helpful every step of the way

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2016
I am so pleased the weekend went well! Thank you for taking the time to review us - it is much appreciated
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vs0uthern
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic House for a large group”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I organised a Hen Party for 16 ladies staying in Piper House at the start of April. When looking for properties to accommodate a hen party of 16 people I struggled to find places that would accept large groups, in particular Hen Parties at both a price and certain standard that would be acceptable to all involved.

I have to say that Piper House did not disappoint, the accommodation is superb, the décor is beautifully done with all the ladies mentioning how fantastic the property was (the pictures don’t really do it justice). The properties layout enabled our large group to have their own space with bedrooms of 2’s and 3’s, ample bathrooms and ensuites (vital for a large group of women) and dining and living spaces which enabled our large group to dine together, play games and have drinks in the evenings.

Whilst booking the property I dealt directly with the owner Kate through Trip Advisor which made the whole experience stress free and easy. Kate was able to provide me with details of local activities, places to eat (we went to the Olive Branch for dinner which was delicious and able to accommodate large groups in their private dining room), local cooks etc. She was even happy to meet our Tesco delivery van should we have chosen to have food delivered on the day of arrival. When we arrived she met us and showed us around, explained everything we needed to know and was available should we need her as she lives in an adjoining property.

The house is located in the middle of nowhere so some of the ladies did get a bit lost as their sat nav’s sent them on a scenic detour (Kate provided detailed directions which some people failed to read). For this reason we based a lot of activities in the house, on the Saturday we had the owner of Celebrations of Peterborough come and do a cake decorating session with us which was enjoyed by all, especially since you can eat cake whilst taking part! And then on the Sunday we traveled the short 20 min journey to Bourne where we had lunch at the Bourne Eau Terrace and did pottery painting at Paint a Pot which was a great finish to the weekend.

On a final note the wi-fi is intermittent due to the age/construction of the property and the location in the country so we struggled to stream spotify/apple music. If you are going to need music then its probably best to download it before you arrive.

To summarise I would highly recommend booking Piper House, it was everything and more we could ask for, I know all of the ladies would also echo my comments and recommend the property as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2016
Thank you for such a detailed and kind review. I am so pleased you had a good weekend
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel_Zu...
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Cottage - highly recommended”
Reviewed 16 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I stayed at Piper House on a hen do with 15 other girls. The booking process was very smooth and Katie, the owner, could not have been more helpful in the run up to our stay - recommending caterers, places to eat and things to do.

The house was set up just as we requested upon arrival (most of the rooms could be turned into twins instead of doubles). We were blown away with how big it was, perfect for holding 16 people (it could probably hold more). The house was clean and has everything that you need, the range of kitchenware was impressive. We didn't have enough champagne glasses when we first arrived, called Katie, and they were with us within 30 minutes - you cannot ask for more than that.

The house is in rural Leicestershire, a 10 minute drive from Stamford and a couple of other beautiful little villages.

Could not recommend the house, or Katie, highly enough. Everyone who attended commented on how perfect it was.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing