We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very friendly, our dogs were welcome”
other travellers have booked this property
Candlelight Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Candlelight Cottage
The cottage Living & kitchen areas
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Candlelight Cottage
The cottage
Living & kitchen areas
Living area
Our stained glass window
Upstairs king-size bedroom
Upstairs king-size bedroom
Burghley House, Stamford (10 mins)
Nearby River Nene (1/2 mile)
Rutland Water (15 mins)
Stamford (10 mins)
Peterborough Cathedral (15 mins)
Lincoln
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stamford, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Armin S
1 review
“Very friendly, our dogs were welcome”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

It was a bit difficult to come to the Cottage because we had to walk throug the garden from the owner.
The Cottage was very clean except the pans.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralew
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable, quiet and cosy retreat in a beautiful village with walks from the door!”
Reviewed 25 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had a really comfortable stay at Candlelight Cottage. We stayed on a couple of the coldest nights in autumn but the cottage was beautifully warm. It is located adjacent to the owners property down a little garden path but is self contained and private with it's own private outdoor area. The cottage is well equipped and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay especially the peace and quiet. There are various walks straight from the door which is brilliant for those people with dogs. Many sightseeing attractions are within easy driving distance. The owners are kind and welcoming but unobtrusive. They left some welcome goodies for us on our arrival, even a ball for Vinnie, our Weimaraner. We would definitely stay again and would recommend this cottage to others. Thank you to Paul and Judy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quirkiness of the building and the peace and quiet
Liked least: The position of the sofas - the owner was happy for us to move these during our stay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph...
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable well equipped accommodation well located for local attractions.”
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My son and I spent a weeks fishing holiday in the area and Candlelight Cottage was ideally located and equipped for our purpose. The cottage had everything we needed for our break and was well located for those wishing to visit local attractions. Oundle is only 6 miles away and has a good selection of restaurants, takeaways and pubs - ideal for the evening's entertainment. I recommend this cottage.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet and comfortable, perfect retreat”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely, quirky, clean and comfortable cottage with everything you need for your stay. The cottage is quietly situated beyond the owners home down a pretty garden path. Situated in a very good location for walks and sightseeing in the area and easy access to the A1 motorway. Highly recommended!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouthd...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay in pleasant village with great walking opportunities”
Reviewed 5 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Cottage was very comfortable and quiet, apart from people working on the house next door. Owners live in adjacent house and were very helpful. Garden furniture could do with a bit of sprucing up.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john r
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent experience and friendly owners”
Reviewed 17 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Very much enjoyed our stay at Candlelight Cottage situated in a nice village, very convenient for exploring Lincolnshire. Minor enquiries to the owner were sorted out immediately. Very quiet location

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet and convenient location.Easy parking
Liked least: Maybe the TV should be repositioned in the room
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthSpite...
Qormi, Malta
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A home away from home ...”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Tucked away from the hustle and bustle of city/town life ... A true retreat ... Within reach of tourists/nature lovers' attractions ... Incredibly beautiful and safe for our morning runs and walks... Cottage was equipped with everything one could possibly need ... Oops forgot to mention the champagne and chocolates awaiting our arrival!!!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;